We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok resort despite poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tanka Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tanka Village to your Saves list
Tanka Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale degli Oleandri, 7, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Villasimius
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok resort despite poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I returned to Tanka Village after first visiting two years ago. The staff and service was a bit hit-or-miss though you can't really beat the 50m pool and the beautiful beach. Rooms are pretty basic but nice enough to rest your head at night. Breakfast selection is pretty basic and consists mainly of over-processed croissants which is a bit disappointing. Dinner has lots of nice choice but not many healthy options. We splurged on lunch in the Mirto restaurant every day which was well worth it. Delicious meal every time! We have only visited the resort during peak season, which is packed with young families, so we may give Tanka Village one more go once our little one is born!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bungalow and casbah and hardly noticed any difference aside from the price! I would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    331
    151
    119
    64
See reviews for
408
207
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having wanted to travel to Sardinia for a number of years, I believed based on the feedback and general information available in guide books that la tanka was one of the best resorts on the island.

On the plus side
- my son went to the arsenal soccer camp every day which he absolutely loved..
- we arrived in the small hours and they were ready to receive us
- the beds were big and the daily room service was good
- staff were generally helpful
- fridge in room
- industrial air con
- loved aqua aerobics
- free trial scuba for kids was good

On the not so good side:
- room was very dated in decor
- food was very average and didn't really vary by day so you were a bit bored by day 3!!!
- wine might be free, but it wasn't good, beer however was great
- lack of evening entertainment on the beach/ bar
- unable to get a lounger as people get up very early to reserve loungers which they never use all day, then you have nowhere to sit by the pool.

Sardinia was. My top list of places to go, however, based upon our experience of Tanka, we are unlikely to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect from Tanka Village, but loaded up the kids (11, 7 and 4) and took a chance. So glad I did! The star of the holiday was definitely the kids club. With activities from archery, canoeing, tennis, swimming (pool and sea), horse riding, mini-golf and more with trained staff, not to mention putting on a play in front of an audience one of the evenings! My kids don't speak a word of Italian, and I don't have more then a few words, but it wasn't a problem for the vacation. My four year old was turning five in a few weeks, so they allowed him into the kids club to be with his siblings, and just took him on a baby club activity when they felt an activity wasn't appropriate for his age. Many other kids in the club spoke English, and all of the staff knew how to speak it.

My favourite was dropping the kids off for a show, games and bouncy castles in the evening while my partner and I enjoyed a glass of wine in the Piazza. The staff were fantastic; in the kids club they translated songs and stories for the kids, and I had no trouble using English for all the other facilities.

The beach was spotless, and we tended to force the kids to leave the club for a few hours each afternoon to swim with them in the sea (they were having a great time, the staff will take them to lunch if you like). We rented an umbrella a few rows back from the shore for the whole week. Tanka uses a card system, you load cash on to it (there is an ATM in reception) which you can use to pay for everything (except for a snorkelling trip we took the kids on, it may be a separate company?). It also doubles as your room key, and gives you entrance to the buffet. They give you back any left over cash when you leave, it's easier then carrying a wallet with you everywhere.

The buffet meals were amazing, very high quality food, which is always my concern with the style. Certainly lunch and dinner had a huge assortment available. If you feel like something else there are several bars and restaurants dotted about, as well as theatres, a disco and so on.

I liked the layout, a large bar with plenty of tables in the middle of the Piazza, surrounded by shops; clothing stores, pharmacy, boutiques, ice cream parlours, a general store etc. I let my daughter wander around with some of her friends she made in the club in the evening and was able to keep an eye on her without difficulty. There were further bars (also serving food) right on the beach front.

The only criticism was the room being a bit bland, we did choose the cheapest available. Next year we will definitely get an upgrade when we return.

We have been back for a while, and the kids are still singing the songs they learned in the Kids Club, it was thumbs up all round!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here as a family earlier this month and its fair to say that this place COULD be one of the best resorts of its type in the world, but is let down by some of the most glaringly incompetent management and staff you could find anywhere, accompanied by some of the most ludicrous and annoying systems (or lack of) imaginable.

On the plus side, for the size of the resort the food is very good both in the main restaurant and the Pizzeria - lobster, oysters, scallops and a variety of shellfish on the cold buffet and some of the best pastas I have eaten. The resort is reasonably well maintained, plenty of activities for kids and there are nice boutiques, shops (very nice Cermics) and entertainment and the weather - whilst hot, is tempered by a lovely sea breeze most of the time and the beach is stunning.

On the downside.....
-The reception makes Fawlty Towers look like the Japanese Railway system.... 50 minutes to check in, with mainly ignorant staff, loads of untrained trainees who are just warm bodies - and you cant pay in cash.
-Internet 6e per hour and often doesn't work and only at reception
-Pizzeria service is almost as bad as reception
-You have to pay up front for a Tanka card and pay with that everywhere - except where they dont take it
-You need a passport to hire 5 euro ping pong bats (Im not joking sadly), but not to hire a 400 euro bike
-10 minute argument to get our 30euro beach towel deposit back - you need your initial receipt you see, from when you took the towels out 10 days ago!!!!!!
- No lifeguards at the pool 1-3pm
- 4.5 hour siesta everywhere
- Broken lock on patio door unfixed for our stay as was broken bidet and partly blocked sink
- Too little choice at breakfast - v samey
- We chose the resort on the basis of its facilities, but there are different booking rules for everything and a different system for each activity

For what it is, what it costs and what it could be, they're just not trying hard enough and it's simply down to poor management who just don't care - which is a great pity as the place has stellar potential.

It's the type of place that focuses on the ease of the operation, not the customer - in fact I would say its the least customer focused business I have ever come across in the hospitality business - which is an interesting juxtaposition to ATAHotels website strapline "The Art of Italian Hospitality".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have spent a week there with 4 kids - 2 teenagers and 2 young... It is a big resort with good facilities - good beach area, great swimming pools, some nice boutiques... it is already quite old but the outsides are well maintained, the rooms are more in line with 3 star than 4 star comfort... But the real issue is the reception where the staff is ineffective and unfriendly... Check in took more than 45 minutes and they charged a higher price than what was confirmed...2 weeks later I am still waiting for the refund... Wifi is very limited and again it took 20 minute at reception to get an access code... If you are not Italian or not Russian supported by an external agency, you do not feel welcome... So, the weather is nice, the kids can have fun... but overall it felt too expensive... I would have expected better service and more modern infrastructure for the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I hate being negative, but...!
I'd start by saying I probably just chose the wrong place to stay. My wife and I visited Tanka for a 3 day stay to see some friends who were holidaying with their kid. Tanka clearly focuses almost entirely on Italian tourists - most of the staff speak no/little English. Fair enough I guess. But it does make it difficult to communicate or understand what's going on. It's a nice natural setting with good sports facilities, but very tired (the rooms look like they haven't been refurbed since the 1980s) and significantly over-priced for what it is. There are lots of hidden extra charges - all the sports facilities cost quite a lot, including simple things like crazy putting and table tennis. And the equipment you hire for those sports is pretty awful - we were given a plastic golf ball to play table tennis with and bats that looked like a dog had chewed them. There are lots of stupid rules and systems that Tanka employs, including having to use a pre-paid charge card for most purchases around the site (you have to take out Euros from a cash machine and then feed them into a different machine to charge up your card). Check-in is unnecessarily complicated and took over 15 mins (there are loads of staff but only one seems to be willing to actually interact with the guests). Despite the fact that the hotel compound covers several acres and the rooms are a long way from reception, wi-fi is only available in the reception and costs €6 per hour, which I think is a rip-off. All the shops and restaurants (apart from the bar) within the compound closed for a 4 hour siesta. Even the place where you hire the sports facilities always seemed to be closed when we tried. It seems strange that the staff don't work shifts to ensure these places remain open throughout the day. The beach is close-by, which is nice, but sunbeds are very expensive. Trying to find some positives - the food is quite good. I think our friends' kid enjoyed it. It was sunny! Overall, very disappointed and would never go back, even if we had kids.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a wonderful time here. We had a Monte Superior room with a view of the bay which was cleaned every day by the friendly maids. The room was clean and large with plenty of room for storage, good size fridge, well equipped bathroom and shady patio. Plenty of water, the hot water does run out for 3 people, as individual tanks for each room, but okay if you are enconomical with it. The Oasys restaurant was well run by the staff and lots of options everyday - 4 pasta dishes, 4 hot (two meat and fish), gorgeous deserts, and cold starters,salads,breads,fruits and Italian Beer and wine included. Breakfast had everything we needed included hot choices.. Bungalows are set in beautifull tropical gardens. We had lovely Italian ice-cream at the Gelateria everyday. There is entertainment and bars but we didn't use it. Beach is stunning, very beautifull and clean. Sunbeds are an extra expensive cost - we preferred to sit on the beach near the clear sea and spend the money on going out on the small boat to the Islands to snorkel. We hired a car which is cheaper than using a taxi to the airport.
After reading some of the reviews, the hotel was much better than we expected and We would definitely go again, but not in peak season.

Room Tip: Monte superior do have steps but a good view. Some rooms at the bottom of the resort looked dark, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanka Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanka Village

Address: Viale degli Oleandri, 7, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Villasimius
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanka Village 4*
Number of rooms: 903
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south-eastern tip of sardinia, only 50 km from Cagliari and 1 km from Villasimius, famous tourist destination, the Tanka Village is a resort set in an exceptional natural environment. Directly overlooking the beach of Simius, famous for its white sand and its crystal sea, it is located within the marine protected area of Capo Carbonara. The Tanka Village is extended on a surface of 43 hectares, distributed in the vast majority on a flat land, sloping towards the sea, surrounded and immersed in the depths of the maquis shrubland, in which are harmoniously located 903 accommodations between bungalows and apartments. The rooms and the common areas are connected by many alleys, pedestrian and cycle paths, in which is forbidden the transit of cars, that could be left in the spacious free car park situated inside the Resort. You can choose the room type that best suits your needs, get involved in lots of games and sporting activities, try your best swing in the 18-hole Tanka Golf & Country Club, find psycho-physical harmony in the wellness center, enjoy delicious dishes in various restaurants and drink cocktails prepared especially for you by our talented bar-tenders. Even your children can spend their holiday in large open spaces with professionals and lots of new friends. Honeymoon, relaxation, family holidays, special events, meetings. Whatever the purpose of your stay in Tanka Village will bring you unforgettable emotions. Discover a world where pleasure, comfort and enjoyment are the only basis of your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tanka Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanka Village Villasimius, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanka Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.