We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view and great location in historic center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seggio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Seggio to your Saves list
Hotel Seggio
Via Veste 7 | Piazza del Seggio, 71019 Vieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Vieste
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view and great location in historic center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Drove into Vieste and got stuck in a traffic jam. Just a few feet from the arch leading to the historic old center, I left my husband in the car and trotted up to see what was there. I was instantly enchanted with the old town, and I asked a local if there were a hotel in the center. He recommended Seggio. We were offered a choice--room with an ocean view or slightly less expensive for no view. We opted for view and were thrilled to be shown a room overlooking the cliffside and a gorgeous blue ocean. The room was large and airy with a balcony, the bathroom also large, although with a very small shower. It is true, as a previous reviewer wrote, that the coffee from the machine at breakfast is awful, but the nice waiters will make fresh and delicious coffee in the bar on request. It's also true that the phone didn't work. These small things don't detract from an otherwise great stay. Front desk people were all exceptionally nice, very receptive to my chit chat, helpful when I needed assistance. We loved our stay here, and the central location, beach view and access were all perfect for us!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    52
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
29
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our room was nice, but had no view and was a bit small. The staff was OK, but the owner was a bit dour and seems to be paranoid about guests bringing in food. Loved the village, though. Would make a great vacation place, but we had poor weather!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Telephones not working, food is poor, served omelet as main dinner course, you have to pay extra for an egg for breakfast, coffee is horrible from a pretentious machine that actually serve instant Nescafe! No help with dragging your luggage several hunted meters up a steep alleyway from the road.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel when on a Rick Steves tour. An attractive location on a busy street 5 mins from the main street. My room over looked a small piazza where there was a bar and a gelato shop with a glimpse of the sea. The room was large and comfortable with a queen bed. The bathroom was relatively new and had a decent-sized shower - unusual in Italy! I also had a small balcony which was useful for drying my laundry. Other rooms had sea views and larger balconies - as usual the single gets the short end of the stick! But I am not complaining in this case!

I saw the infamous notice about not eating in rooms and in fact our tour leader had warned us about the fact that the owner had this thing about people eating in rooms.

We ate 2 breakfasts, 1 dinner and 1 lunch at the hotel. The lunch was interesting because we had our pasta making lesson first and then ate the results - delicious. The dinner was also good. Breakfasts were typical Italian - pastries, rolls, cheese,yogurt, juice. Coffee was a disappointment - machine made cappachino with no taste of coffee - in Italy yet!

The hotel has a pool, reached by an elevator and a flight of stairs, and a small beach well-protected from waves by a breakwater.

The owners sons/daughters were much in evidence and their friendliness and help did a lot to offset the owner's somewhat abrupt manner.

All in all a pleasant hotel with much to recommend it if you are prepared to overlook the owner's quirks.

Viestre is a pleasant town in a non-touristy part of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

5 night stay end of June/beginning of July. Sea view room on 1st floor, well furnished & comfortable. We enjoyed the food, typical Italian and with half board you can take lunch or dinner. Pool & beach area comfortable & convenient. All staff pleasant & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

we stayed at the Seggio hotel in a quieter season which was great. Our room was amazing and the views were fantastic, we had panoramic views in the top of the hotel! the afternoon reception girl which I think was called debra was great and very helpful, the rest of the staff were ok. Breakfast was standard but ok and the private beach and pool was a very nice. I would definately come back,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We found this hotel from the tourist agency in town who only spoke Italian. The car parking is quite far away and they had a small cart to help us with luggage.

Being out of season the guests were mostly Italian and one older lady was overseeing a small group of poorly behaved disabled teenagers who would come into our dining area to talk loudly on their mobile phones and in the mornings ran straight to 'their" beach loungers.

We also got tired of eating there very quickly and a restaurant they recommended was a waste of time too so we weren't impressed with the family run Seggio.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seggio

Address: Via Veste 7 | Piazza del Seggio, 71019 Vieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Vieste
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vieste
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Vieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seggio Hotel Vieste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.