We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Dragone

Al Dragone
Via Duomo, 3-8, 71019 Vieste, Italy
+39 0884 701212
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 144 restaurants in Vieste
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is something special, located in a natural cave in old town. We had dinner in the lower cave room, with just 4-5 tables, decorated with wine bottles on the walls. This restaurant has what I call "innovative menu" - new creations with local ingredients. Food was excellent as well as the wine. Menu in English and wonderful staff. Recommended this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    151
    68
    18
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Riviera tour of Puglia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had walked past this restaurant earlier in the day and thought it looked nice but expensive. Our guide Luigi arranged for us to eat here on our last night, which was a nice surprise. Very unusual interior. Service was excellent as was the food. Wonderful lemon ice cream for dessert. Starters were a choice of pasta, they came round with seconds of that. Mains were veal or fish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“excellent food, but service very inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

all the dishes were very good, the atmosphere of the place excellent. price was also reasonable , but we started with one waiter, continued with another and then struglled to get the bill .the chef came to talk but only to some regulars . with a bit more attention it would be remarkable

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eat like an elegant troglodyte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The place is gorgeous, it's built inside a natural cave and Michele, who was born in Vieste, waited on me. I asked a bit about the history of the place and he gave me a precise timeline of events regarding the locale and what was hapening in Vieste at large in those periods. It turns out he has a private FB page with photos of Vieste that he has been taking since he was a child. He studied architecture in Naples and right when he was about to graduate his father passed away and he had to quite his "official" studies, but has not stopped studying since. He told me about the recent archaeological discoveries they have made on the isoletta with the lighthouse next to the port, they aren't sure if it's Etruscan of Phoenician, but they found a mound of mollusk shells under the municipio (Phoenicians were famous for using them to dye fabrics purple BTW). There's also a Roman temple on the island dedicated to vesta, from which vieste derives its name. Michele went on like a professor to tell me the history of Vieste from an insiders point of view, that when it was inadvertently attacked by the corsaro "Draguth Rais" in 1554 and almost all the population was murdered, the queen of Naples decided to repopulate it with what excess population they had in Naples at the time: thieves and prostitutes. Anyway, the cave it located directly under the duomo and it's completly natural with no supports or concrete. It was done over about ten years ago with a bit of masonry to modernize the place. They have space for about 80 people inside. Before being a restaurant it was a stalla, frantoio, cantina, among other things. The remains of the frantoio are there below a glass floor by the kitchen. Apart from the wow factor, the food I had was OK, not exceptional. For a first course I had orecchiette with cima di rape and bottarga (they used to produce bottarga in Vieste but not anymore and therefore this ingredient is bought). This is a very typical dish and it was very good, but not perfect (the proper way to make it is to boil the rape in the water for about 12 minutes and then add the pasta so it absorbs the flavour and colour of the veg, however it was visible that the pasta was thrown in at the same time or was boiled separately). For the second course I had a tagliatta of yellowfin tuna, breaded with sesame seed and a touch of balsamic.. It tasted as if it might have been frozen, but maybe it was fresh; anyway it was good. The dessert was exceptional: torta di ricotta with marmalade filling. delish!

Compared to hotel food, this place is top-notch, I think the guests would be very impressed. The entrance of the place is covered with michelin stickers and gambero rosso, although I didn't see any gambero rozzo stickers which (only for me) was curious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delightful Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

From the moment you step into this delightful restaurant you are made to feel special. The staff are very friendly, the host can speak English and they have an English menu. They bring up a bread basket and take your order for water and wine quite quickly, giving good advice on the tasty wine. Unfortunately I ordered a starter of Buffalo Mozzarella and Tomatoes which was quite tasteless but my husbands seafood dish, from the oven was very good. Our main coarse of Lobster Linguini was absolutely delicious, we followed this with two desserts, I chose Peach with mascarpone and my husbands ordered a light pastry with yoghurt cream and nuts both were amazingly good. The cave was comfortably cool, it was full of happy couples and families enjoying their food and the chef came around checking everyone was happy with their meals. It is a joy to see the older waiter, who doesn't speak English but is so happy he brings joy to the hearts of the customers, he's lovely. If it wasn't for the nasty Mozzarella I would have given this place a 5 star rating. Good value for money. Recommended .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Dragone also viewed

Vieste, Province of Foggia
Vieste, Province of Foggia
 
Vieste, Province of Foggia
Vieste, Province of Foggia
 

Been to Al Dragone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Dragone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.