We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Vieste!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Dragone

Al Dragone
Via Duomo, 3-8, 71019 Vieste, Italy
+39 0884 701212
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 143 Restaurants in Vieste
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best in Vieste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I live in Vicenza, Italy and are from London so we have some experience of many fantastic restaurants. We came here with our two daughters (8 and 5 years old) after trying most of the trip advisor top restaurants for Vieste. Al Dragone is a beautiful restaurant, stylishly built into a cave. Don't be intimidated by it's very classy appearance, granted this is a special restaurant with excellent food but the prices are more than reasonable for the quality of evening you will enjoy here and are on par with many lesser restaurants in Vieste. We must strongly comment on the service which was fantastic. Rosa was welcoming, friendly and always keen to explain a dish. All of the staff were warm, friendly and accomodating and made excellent recommendations for both food and wine. we felt that Al Dragone was a great choice for a family evening. In our opinion this is undoubtedly the best restaurant in Vieste bar none. We will be back very shortly and this time we will pre-order the zuppa de pesca (must be ordered 24 hours before).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    114
    33
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, but be careful about the bill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I enjoyed my starter in this pleasant restaurant, my wife less so (she chose the wrong dish). The food was excellent quality, and very well presented, particularly the fresh seafood. There is a genial if somewhat pushy front of house gentleman, who adds to the atmosphere. However, beware of ordering fresh fish by weight (something we have done successfully before in Italy). We ordered sea bass baked in salt, and it was delicious, but was 200g more than the quoted weight of 800g, apparently totalling 1kg of fish. This was difficult to believe, however even if true, it came with no accompanying vegetables at all, so we ordered a side of chicory for 5 euro. This was very small in size. The total bill for the main course alone totalled 55 euros, not particularly great value. Overall, despite the quality of the food, we felt value for money was lacking, and had the uneasy feeling we had been billed for more food than we received. Unfortunately, there are much better value restaurants in very close proximity.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, very nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

The stone walls and location in the middle of the centro storico were excellent. Food was great. Wine was good. If you're looking for fine dining in a quiet and relaxed location with great food you can't go wrong.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Food was OK, atmosphere is good, services was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We liked the restaurant and the service, found it a bit pricey and the food was OK.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Delicious food, excellent service and intriguing local inside a cave all combine to make this a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Dragone also viewed

Vieste, Province of Foggia
Vieste, Province of Foggia
 
Vieste, Province of Foggia
Vieste, Province of Foggia
 

Been to Al Dragone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Dragone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.