We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moderate standard as long as not on ground floor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Vieste

Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel Vieste to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Hotel Vieste
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria di Merino 4, 71019 Vieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 76 hotels in Vieste
uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“moderate standard as long as not on ground floor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was given a ground floor room next to the lift and lobby which I would definitely not recommend (despite having asked not to be on the ground floor - the fate of single travellers). They were unable to change it the first night because full but put me in a top floor room for the following two nights. Otherwise staff v helpful. Hotel is well placed for seeing old town but food not brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask not to be on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    72
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
46
84
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here with friends and found it to be a good comfortable hotel. The rooms were clean and quiet and the price we paid included breakfast and free access to a good lido and private beach about 600m away. Car parking is in a public car park by the beach and is paid for by the hotel. A free shuttle bus runs to and from the car park and beach several times a day, but it's quite walkable.
The staff were universally helpful and friendly.
The only disappointment was the coffee at the otherwise excellent breakfast which came from a Nescafe dispenser and was very poor - most un-Italian!

The gelateria across the street sells the best ice cream and the salumeria next door makes excellent rolls for lunch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxburghshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Palace Hotel Vieste in June 2013, travelling as part of a group. Some of the reviews I had read prior to going were less than complimentary, one comparing it to Fawlty Towers. However, our experience was much better and so either previous reviewers have had bad luck or the hotel has upped its game.

We had a front room which overlooked the harbour and one of the main streets, with a small balcony. The hotel is well located for the town, near the main street and port area. The room was meticulously clean, well furnished and with a king sized bed. There was ample wardrobe space, and a fridge and safe. The bathroom was fine.

The staff are very attentive although getting a drink from the largely unmanned bar calls for patience. The drinks are not exorbitantly priced.

We had 3 evening meals at the hotel and I have to say the quality was above average and indeed on one night was excellent. Dinner is served in the floor below ground level and there does not seem to be any air conditioning, but that apart was fine. Breakfast was adequate, although I was unable to master the toaster.

As with most Italian hotels, there are no tea / coffee making facilities in the room, which is a shame.

As for Vieste, a charming place with plenty to see.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, though can't comment on price as it was part of a tour / package.

Room Tip: Rooms facing front with balcony seem the best. They are not particularly noisy (except when the fish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Palace Hotel front rooms over look both the town square and the harbour. The room we had was very spacious and well equipped, and although furnished in a traditional style was in tip top condition. It also had a small balcony from which views of the town square and harbour could be had. the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: rooms on the front over looking the street are rthe best ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We liked the hotel. Very nice and helpful staff, good location, nice sized rooms, and very clean. The breakfast was nothing special, I'd say about average. Given the price the Palace was better than we had expected. Would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very nice hotel. Easy to find and to access, offers parking on location. Welcoming management and staff - family owned. Large and clean rooms. Quiet. Access by foot to the historical city, shops and restaurants.

It was a very good surprise and we have enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I recently stayed here on a half-board basis. Having read previous reviews,I expected to have to eat out in the evening, as the food had been severely criticised. We were part of a tour with Riviera, so were given an either/or choice for each course (four courses in all!). I can find nothing bad to say about anything I was served. There was plenty of choice at breakfast too, so I can't understand what other reviewers are moaning about. I'd like to add that I like my food, so wouldn't take kindly to being fobbed off with rubbish.
As far as the rest of the hotel is concerned, it was very nice. The tour had previously stopped in the Hilton in Lecce and Matera, both having luxurious rooms and tea and coffee facilities in the rooms (which us Brits love) so I guess some people make unfair comparisons.
I would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palace Hotel Vieste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Vieste

Address: Via Santa Maria di Merino 4, 71019 Vieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Vieste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 76 hotels in Vieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Vieste 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Hotel Vieste is in the town centre of Vieste, an administrative centre in the Gargano. Historians identify the town with the ancient Apeneste where the ruins of Merinum, another renown centre of the Dauni, are visible along the road to the Sanctuary of Saint Mary of Merino. The hotel stands out for its Liberty style testifying to its history. Indeed, the building dates back to the 15th c. and used to be the home of local noble families. It has recently been refurbished and turned into an exclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Palace Hotel Vieste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Vieste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.