We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful spots in the Gulf of Naples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena to your Saves list
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 80, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Murrhardt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful spots in the Gulf of Naples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

For our Family, Baia Serena village has been an excellent stay at the Gulf of Naples. Cabins with well-equipped kitchen, two bedrooms and enough space for everybody, very friendly and helpful staff and above all, one of the best views of the gulf of Naples. All houses are built along a steep cliff and each has a small panoramic terrace from which you can see Sorrento, Capri, Naples, Vesuv and the see right below you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    23
    7
    4
    12
See reviews for
41
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The site is located on the main road between points north and Sorrento, the closest village being Seiano and the closest large towns, to the north Vico Equense and the south Meta. The upside of this is that you are within 10 minutes drive of several large towns, the downside is that there is literally only one road and at the weekend it becomes congested with day trippers returning from Sorrento to Naples. The road is not safe for pedestrians and so you will be driving whenever you leave the site. The site has many places to park but it is not possible to make every bend in any car large than a Fiat 100 so there is a lot of reversing back and around as you work your way down the road.

The site is set in garden like surroundings with fruit trees and incredible views over the bay towards Sorrento and Naples. The downside is being set in a garden like environment there are a lot of mosquitoes, ants, etc., you will need to keep you kitchen area clean, and spray yourselves with anti-insect spray when sitting on your veranda.

The chalet's are basic. There is sufficient cooking equipment to make basic pasta dishes and the veranda is a lovely place to eat in the evening. There are no consumables left in the chalet so either arrive with olive oil, matches, washing up liquid, etc., or that will be your first expedition. The best supermarket we found was Sisa (in Piano) which had it's own parking behind. The chalets arrangement is a little odd and difficult to make homely, in that there is nowhere to eat inside, so if it rains (rare) you will need to carry the veranda furniture into the kitchen. The only rooms with natural light are the bedrooms which have only single beds and the windows have nothing to stop mosquitoes getting in. There was only one working electricity point in our chalet and that was in the kitchen. Towels were not supplied although we were able to borrow two. Our bed linen was not changed during our 10 day stay. There is apparently air conditioning available for a surcharge but when we asked about it we were told we didn't need it in September.

The pool is small but nice, with a lovely view of the bay, but the bar is not manned consistently so although it says not to bring your own drink you will need to. It's size makes it less useful if it is full of German school children as it was occasionally during our stay.

The staff were nice and helpful, if sometimes difficult to find, easiest first thing in the day or last in the evening. Overall the site has a run down feel, in need of some repair and was probably at it's best a few years ago. If you arrive not expecting much, have a car and don't mind driving, want to self cater and have a chalet with a good view it is probably good value for money.

Room Tip: If you don't get a view of the bay don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This past summer we traveled to Italy to Participate in the World Master Games in Turin, Italy. After the games we wanted to experience the Italian Coast, we reviewed the site and chose a “Vila” for 4 people at Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena. Upon our arrival the owner -manager was not to friendly, when asked if we received a Vila with a deck, I was told that I would need to book in advance? I had booked back in January with my Travel Agent, which I was also required to pay for my stay in full at that time. We then made our way down the hill all 4 of us with luggage in tow, we arrived to our Vila in the Bush! Small patio with 2 broken chairs, bamboo screen to provide some sort of privacy, which would have been nice to see the sea!! Walking in we where told of the supper hour, one bedroom 2 cots, second bedroom 2 cots. Advised us of the Bathroom with a shower. We were given 2 hand towels to use? That is all that is provided! When asked about Air Conditioning, Nope not in this VILA. The Kitchen lacked many of the required items - no dish soap, tea towel, and coffee pot?
We had supper at the restaurant; we had tasted much better food in Italy, not good at all. We were told that we could only consume wine on the main deck and nowhere else, as we need to purchase from the resort bar. The night we spent in the heat with the windows open, bugs ate us. In the morning after a night of no sleep tried a shower, no hot water. Packed walked up the hill to advise owner of our disappointment. His remarks were that he had a hot shower and was very surprise to hear of our departure. No Refund, and would not call us a Cab.
If you are a traveling from another country this location is not for you!

We have experienced nicer ice fishing hut in Canada!

The rest of our stay on the coast at another much nicer and friendlier location in proved our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is hard to find. If you arrive driving, you must have lots of driving skills to be able to maneuver around the driveway. The driveway was unbelievably steep and bendy. Be prepared to walk a long walk without help hauling your luggage to the cottage. Driving out of the entrance everyday was a big challenge.

We were given a room with many ants and no view. When we complained, we were told that we did not specify ocean front when the reservation (6 months in advance) was made. It took a lot of complaining and a reminder to the owner that we would be rating the hotel on Trip Advisor to have the room changed to a partial ocean view room. If you want air conditioner in any of the rooms, there is a 7 Euro fee per day!

The 2 room cottages are equipped with a kitchen, a small refrigerator and basic kitchen tools.

Dinner at the restaurant will give you an exceptional sunset view if you dine around 8:00 p.m. in the summer time. The owner's wife is the chef is her food is great. The dinner prices were reasonable.

The hotel has a swimming pool, but the water is not very clean. Free wi-fi in the restaurant, but not available in the cottages.

Room Tip: When making a reservation make sure that you request ocean front and that you have in writing their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at Baia Serena for 5 nights. Our stay was great. Excellent value for money. Giuseppe & his wife were extremely friendly & helpful, whenever we had questions about transportation, printing off train tickets etc. We could not fault the service at all. Please take into consideration the location however, it is very remote. As we did not have a car & were travelling by public transport it was extremely hard to get around as the bus only ran once per hour, the times it arrived changed consistently over the 5 days we were there & sometimes did not show up at all, as strikes were apparently going on. If you have a hire car, this would not be a problem. Due to the transportation issue, we ate at their restaurant which was extremely good value for money & was high quality. The accommodation is very old & basic, but clean & all you can expect for the price. Overall our stay was very pleasant, Giuseppe & his wife were lovely, & if you have a car to get around or hire a scooter your holiday will be great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

we booked from a web site,which described the villaggio as an hotel with restaurant and swimming pool.accommodation in bungalows in the grounds.we arrived in our own car and found the drive difficult to navigate, parking some way from the bungalow down a steep incline with a large number of steep steps.the bungalows were very basic with minimal amount of furniture and no towels provided. we were informed that the restaurant was closed as was the pool.this meant had we stayed we would have to self cater no washing up liquid or teatowels were provided view was magnificent and staff helpful

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked online judging by photo's and description of fellow travellers, we new accomodation was towards the lower end of the market, but wanted a holiday with a base as we had a hire car to get around and eat out. HOWEVER.... NIGHTMARE !! When we arrived the small hatchback which could hardly manage the hairpins leading to the accomodation, The accomodation was small, the door lock was broken as it had the metal door closure missing, and just relied on a worn door surround to lock, a simple push on the door would do it. The accomodation was tiny, there was TV but had nowhere to sit down to view it (assuming it worked) kitchen utensils supplied were basic & bits missing. the bathroom window was so dirty you could'nt hardly see daylight, When the owner left us we toured the area well !! The pool was growing it's own algae who knows what you would have caught in it ? chlorine ? the changing area to the pool mirrored not being inhabited for months let alone clearing up the debris, the bin area was disgusting, the terrace was scruffy and dirty, basically it looked like a refugee camp ! Time to get out of here... When we attempted to complain to the owner with the problems we encountered, he turned into a viscous carnivore and told us to leave, surely as a paying guest at his business and in his country we are allowed to complain if not happy and any business owner would attempt to at least try to put things right ? Anyway we left finding alternative accomodation in Sorrento where we finished our holiday and had a wonderful time. The only good thing about Baiia Serena is the Panoramic views.,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena

Address: Corso Caulino 80, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Baia Serena is a paradise's corner. It extends over a grassy ground of 25.000 mq. Formed by natural terraces directly above the sea. With its wonderful view of Naple's Golf and Capri's Island, it is a oasi of peace and offers to its international guests all modern comforts so as to have a wonderful holiday at liberty and complete relax. The Village offers to its guests an efficient service including Bar, Restaurant, Pizzeria. Besides a wonderful swimming-pool cut in the rocks is available as well as ping-pong and a volley-ball field. Visit us and you'll enjoy it!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.