We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, helpful & friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena

Save Saved
You added Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
Corso Caulino 80, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service, helpful & friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at Baia Serena for 5 nights. Our stay was great. Excellent value for money. Giuseppe & his wife were extremely friendly & helpful, whenever we had questions about transportation, printing off train tickets etc. We could not fault the service at all. Please take into consideration the location however, it is very remote. As we did not have a car & were travelling by public transport it was extremely hard to get around as the bus only ran once per hour, the times it arrived changed consistently over the 5 days we were there & sometimes did not show up at all, as strikes were apparently going on. If you have a hire car, this would not be a problem. Due to the transportation issue, we ate at their restaurant which was extremely good value for money & was high quality. The accommodation is very old & basic, but clean & all you can expect for the price. Overall our stay was very pleasant, Giuseppe & his wife were lovely, & if you have a car to get around or hire a scooter your holiday will be great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
33
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

we booked from a web site,which described the villaggio as an hotel with restaurant and swimming pool.accommodation in bungalows in the grounds.we arrived in our own car and found the drive difficult to navigate, parking some way from the bungalow down a steep incline with a large number of steep steps.the bungalows were very basic with minimal amount of furniture and no towels provided. we were informed that the restaurant was closed as was the pool.this meant had we stayed we would have to self cater no washing up liquid or teatowels were provided view was magnificent and staff helpful

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked online judging by photo's and description of fellow travellers, we new accomodation was towards the lower end of the market, but wanted a holiday with a base as we had a hire car to get around and eat out. HOWEVER.... NIGHTMARE !! When we arrived the small hatchback which could hardly manage the hairpins leading to the accomodation, The accomodation was small, the door lock was broken as it had the metal door closure missing, and just relied on a worn door surround to lock, a simple push on the door would do it. The accomodation was tiny, there was TV but had nowhere to sit down to view it (assuming it worked) kitchen utensils supplied were basic & bits missing. the bathroom window was so dirty you could'nt hardly see daylight, When the owner left us we toured the area well !! The pool was growing it's own algae who knows what you would have caught in it ? chlorine ? the changing area to the pool mirrored not being inhabited for months let alone clearing up the debris, the bin area was disgusting, the terrace was scruffy and dirty, basically it looked like a refugee camp ! Time to get out of here... When we attempted to complain to the owner with the problems we encountered, he turned into a viscous carnivore and told us to leave, surely as a paying guest at his business and in his country we are allowed to complain if not happy and any business owner would attempt to at least try to put things right ? Anyway we left finding alternative accomodation in Sorrento where we finished our holiday and had a wonderful time. The only good thing about Baiia Serena is the Panoramic views.,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The accommandation is the cheapest I could find with two bedrooms. Was quite disappointed when we arrived on the hairbend driveway from the busy main road. It certainly needs lots of skill to maneuver around the driveway. The rooms are small but clean. Funny that they gave us lots of reason why they had no towels for us and insisted that we should have brought our own towels. Anyway, we got three towels next day after pestering them for a few times. The kitchen is equipped for cooking but without washing liquid and sponge. The first evening we could only order pizza as the kitchen is not open until 7.30pm. But the price is very reasonable. Beer and carton of Juice each only cost 2 euro. We did not try their evening meal but believe it is good.

There are lots of ants everywhere and we need to use the spray to stop them coming to the room. The ants did provide some entertainment to our two kids tho. They were very interested to trace the ant motorway outside the house.

If you hire a car to go around, get the smallest automatic car you could. the driveway was unbelievably steep and bendy. Driving out of the entrance everyday was a big challenge. We've been to Tuscany and the Lakes and found driving was not that bad. So we thought it would not be that bad to hire a car and drive around Sorrento and Amalfi coast. But this time we found the driving very stressful thabks to those dare devil motorbike riders.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Fyn, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent our entire holiday this summer in Villaggio Baia Serena and we had a wonderful holiday!

When we arrived one late afternoon in the beginning of July we were welcomed by Giuseppe and his wife in the little office. After a warm welcome we were shown our little bungalow which was our home for the next nearly three weeks. The bungalow had aircon in both rooms, a bathroom with shower, toilet and bidet and a nice little kitchen with gas stove, fridge and hot water and a little TV. But we stayed most of our time on the little terrace with a beautiful view of the ocean and the pool.

One of the things we enjoyed most was the wonderful peace that characterized the Villaggio Baia Serena. Even though the road that led to the area was heavily trafficked no traffic noise was heard and there were no music played or other noise on the site. The people working on Villaggio Baia Serena were are very kind and smiling and Giuseppe's father always enjoyed a little chat.

The area around the pool was cleaned every day and there were no lack of sun beds and even though there were many bungalows around the area it never felt crowded and you always had your privacy around the bungalow.

Giuseppe and his wife had a little restaurant - Giuseppe was the waiter and his wife the cook. The food in the restaurant was absolutely well cooked and priced very reasonable. If you want to bring delicious pizzas to your bungalow we can recommend a pizzeria in the little town 5 minutes walk uphill from Villaggio Baia Serena.

We highly recommend Villaggio Baia Serena if you want a nice, quiet holiday with beautiful views over the bay at a very reasonable price.

Regards from Odense, Denmark
Yvonne and Michael

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We just spend our second summer holidays at Baia Serena, and we can fully recommend the place. Great value, wonderful views, quiet setting, and the family running the place are the nicest hosts you could imagine. Talkative, helpful, very reasonable and easy to find if you need them.

The owners man kitchen and restaurant too in the evening, and they do make good food! There are other restaurants nearby, but going there requires a car or a bit of walking.

The pool was a treat in the summer heat and the pool area was cleaned every morning. It may not be open spot on 9.00, but on the other hand it closes later than advertised. There is a small bar there as well.

The cabins are low key, no doubt about that - spartan - but the site is priced likewise. Anytime we experienced a problem, we told the owner and he fixed it right away. We did not chose Baia for the price, but for the location and the possbility of free arrival and departure days.

The site location is good for both exploring Naples and the Sorrento/Amalfi coast. As there is just one road, you don't want to be too far out on the peninsula. The distance to the Autostrada is not big, and visiting Pompei, Herculaneum etc. is easy.

You will need a car to get the most out of the site, and don't bring a big car! The path on the site is small and the hairpins require some clutch work - and outside the site, the local interpretation of traffic rules is entertaining, at least afterwards.

I can only recommend Baia Serena and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

The web site looked nice, with the pool and everything... but we were quite dissapointed when we came there. The bungalows are really small, the bathroom has a tiny shower, we got just 3 towels for 3 people for our stay, the beds were really uncomfortable (and we are not picky, when it comes to sleeping...). It is true that the view is spectacular, but that is about it. The worst dissapointment was most probably the pool: quite dirty, with leaves swimming in the pool and even a seagull that came to poop inside :( Besides, it was not yet open at 9:15, even though it should be! (Major sadness for our daughter, who was really upset!)
There were a number of things wrong in our bungalow, including electrical outlet in the bathroom (no shaving for 3 days :( ), and the TV didn't work. When we notified the owner, he said that he "didn't care about it - non mi interessa".
So, not happy at all!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena

Also Known As:
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples
Address: Corso Caulino 80, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Baia Serena is a paradise's corner. It extends over a grassy ground of 25.000 mq. Formed by natural terraces directly above the sea. With its wonderful view of Naple's Golf and Capri's Island, it is a oasi of peace and offers to its international guests all modern comforts so as to have a wonderful holiday at liberty and complete relax. The Village offers to its guests an efficient service including Bar, Restaurant, Pizzeria. Besides a wonderful swimming-pool cut in the rocks is available as well as ping-pong and a volley-ball field. Visit us and you'll enjoy it!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.