We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torre Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Torre Barbara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 75, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great hotel! Let me start by saying that we travelled in a party of 6 including a 7 year old and 1 year old twins… The staff – Rafaella, Angela, Luisa, Valentina, made us feel very welcome from the start and really could not do enough for us - which included taking the twins a number of times at dinner time allowing us to eat in peace! The hotel is situated about 10 mins from Vico Equense and a short drive to the train station with a 6 minute train ride to Sorrento. The hotel has a courtesy bus which drops you to the train station and will collect you on return – a simple phone call 30 minutes in advance is typically enough time to arrange the collection. The rooms are modern, clean and are serviced daily. The hotel has stunning views of Vesuvio across the bay of Naples. The terrace is elevated from the road and there are plenty of seats on the terrace, which was relaxing after a day spent by the pool. Lena organised breakfast which was great – Lena also took a baby when she had a moment!! GianLuca served dinner, which again was great (I’d recommend the seafood salad). Pizza is recent addition to the menu, again the pizza was great.
Full marks to all at the Torre Barbara, they could not have made us feel more welcome. If you want to stay in the Sorrento area but not quite in the centre you should not look further that the Torre Barbara.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    86
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
53
163
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Fantastic view over Vesuvius and Naples on the other side of the Sorrentiono (or is it the Naples) bay. With a rented car the entire Sorrentino peninsula lies within reach.

Very friendly staff. Tidy rooms and neat garden. Food was great too.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great staff,fab view. Even though we had a hire car we took advantage of the excellent shuttle service. It was like staying in a private club, would love to return. The access turning needs getting used to but is soon mastered. The restaurant was excellent and the maître d very helpful. Sitting on the terrace in the evening after a day amongst the ruins was utterly relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londerzeel, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Torre Barbara was a fantastic discovery for us; centrally located, a beautiful view over the ocean and a wonderful restaurant. The rooms are clean and spacious enough. A plus for us was also the double shower.
We will definitely be back!
Only negative point: the small access road is rather tricky with a big (mono-volume) car, but we managed without damage :-)
A big thank you to the whole team for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The rooms have 'double' windows, locking the noise out, which is rather necessary as the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is perfect for relaxing and enjoying a fabulous view. It's off a busy road, but we had a sea view and the road noise NEVER distracted us form that. We also stayed in Room 203, so we had a terrace to sit on while enjoying our coffee or wine while watching the bay.
This hotel is not for the traveler that is looking for several things to do within walking distance. We did walk down to the beach for an afternoon, but we are a very fit couple and several miles of walking (on a road with no sidewalk) was not intimidating. The shuttle only runs at limited times, so we did take it to Viceo Equense for dinner, but had to take a taxi back. There is a train station very close by and we easily took that to Pompeii for a day trip. But the shuttle was not in service when we returned, so we walked back. Again, this is not an issue for anyone that is not bothered by walking. Just beware of cars. They are aware of you, so I felt safe.
The hotel staff is very, very friendly. I loved that dinner was prepared using vegetables from their garden. We had dinner there on one night of our stay and it was delicious. I would highly recommend Hotel Torre Barbara to anyone that wanted a restful, peaceful place to stay.

Room Tip: Request Room 203 or 205 for a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Torre Barbara for the second time and we can't wait to go back! We stayed at this hotel during our honeymoon and came back with our 2 years old son.
Let me start by saying that we found the hotel even better than what we remembered. The rooms are renovated with a great view and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The eating area is outside on the patio and the view is spectacular, really like a postcard!
It's a must stay! Great place for couples and families!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

With my cousin and a group of 31 other travellers we spent a week here and what an experience it turned out to be and not one I would wish to repeat. Whilst the hotel is small and intimate, incredibly clean and well maintained, the rooms adequate comfortable (we were at the rear of the hotel so no sea views, but those at the front were amazing, with balconies or terraces) and extremely clean, the views from the terrace, where we ate every meal, are fabulous and although the pool is quite small, it's sited in a 'garden' with sunbeds and parasols, looks out over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvious so was perfect. So what spoiled it? The food!! It was, at best, dire! Breakfast whilst being adequately 'continental' consisted of the same every day, the usual cereals, plain yogurt and dried fruit, fruit juices etc as one would expect, however served alongside was wafer thin slices of processed ham of the cheapest poor quality, the salami was ok, the cheese wafer thin tasteless slices and cold hard boiled eggs, served with and badly sliced and presented tomatoes plus petit pains, baguette slices or croissants, also the occasional dish of cold tinned cocktail sausages, yeuk . The meats and cheese were displayed together on the same platter with one set of tongs, so not good for any non meat eaters. Oh and there was cake, very dry madeira and a tart of some sort. ome fresh fruit would have been most welcome. All in all very,very boring and poor quality.
Dinner had to be pre-ordered the day before and that's where the real disappointment lay. The Salad was the same unappetising selection every night, chopped up lettuce, sliced tomatoes, green beans, radichio lettuce, sometimes some sliced peppers and defrosted sliced frozen carrots, also a huge platter of broken up stale bread! Apart from the bread, everything ran out every night without fail after the first 10 or so people had served themselve, after which all that would be offered was more lettuce and perhaps tomatoes. The rest of the dinner was almost unidentifiable, inedible and the portions minute, it was so bad that one couple elected to travel and eat out every night as she was pregnant and they didn't want to risk it. There was no condiments on the table and a jug of water would have been appreciated. Without doubt we all agreed it was the worst food any of us had experienced. The terrace is a lovely and dare I say romantic setting, but all the food is transported plate by plate from the bowels of the hotel, so is quite cold on arrival and presented in a most unappetising way, it also took them hours to serve us. Some background music would help too as there is no form of entertainment at all. The staff varied from the superb young lady who looked after us at breakfast, plus a couple of other staff, to some who were he absolute opposite, however the cleaning staff were treasures and unsung heroes. Forget the shuttle service....it's rubbish, only operates at certain times and sadly you cannot go anywhere from the hotel without access to transport so there's nothing to do. There was no information packs in the rooms or anywhere else either, although one appeared on our last day.
Whilst we all loved the hotel, it has serious issues regarding what is on offer and we all agreed we had received a very poor service in return for our money and nobody would recommend it our return there. You have been warned!

Room Tip: don't even go there.... hotel is sited right on the roadside of the only, extremely busy, main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Resort Le Axidie
Resort Le Axidie
#17 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capo La Gala Hotel
Capo La Gala Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
#14 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Barbara

Address: Corso Caulino 75, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#8 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torre Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Torre Barbara is 4 stars Hotel, the ideal place for those who wish to spend an unforgettable vacation overlooking the Gulf of Naples, just a few kilometers from the centre of Sorrento and places of major interest in the Campania region: Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Caserta, Positano, Amalfi and the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Torre Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Barbara Hotel
Torre Barbara Vico Equense
Hotel Torre Barbara Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.