We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastishe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Torre Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Torre Barbara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 75, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Croton on Hudson, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastishe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are looking for the perfect getaway we want to let all travelers know that there is a little boutique hotel in Vico Equense on the Isla Sorrentina that is a must for all interested in a romantic getaway.
From the moment we arrived we were embraced by the wonderful staff and the beautiful designer accommodations.

First we met Valentina, who we contacted via e-mail. She registered us and got us settled into a wonderful room with a balcony/porch with lounge chairs overlooking the bay of Naples! We also had a view from our bathroom of the beautiful outdoor grotto where the bar is located and where breakfast and dinner is served as well as the pool!


Kudos goes out to Rosa, who upon our arrival showed us the most wonderful warm welcome that was beyond our expectations. She immediately plugged into our stay and our needs, and promptly presented us with a day by day excursion itinerary, based upon our discussions! Needless to say that she was wonderful.

Each morning we went down to the grotto where Elena had meticulously prepared
the bouffet breakfast. Breakfast included a delightful combintion of juices, teas and espresso, cappucino, cafe americano, hot chocolate, croissants and assorted home made cakes, breads, cheeses, salamis and ham, jams, yogurt, and cereals.

When we wanted to drive the Amalfi Coast, Rafaela gave us driving directions to Positano, Priano, Amalfi, Ravello and which were the best/popular sites to see.

Torre Barbara is a little off the beaten path but has all the amenities to overcome not being "in town"
One of the ways they do this is with the help of Marco.
Marco will take you to nearby Seano to catch an earlyhydrofoil to Capri
Or he will take you to the train station for a day trip to Pompei.
Whatever you need, Marco is there to help. he is the best!

Many times we had been out all day and wanted to have our dinner at the Hotel.
Bruno was our charming bartender who made cocktails at happy hour and also
was our waiter at dinner.

We recommend this wonderful hotel for a swept away experience!

T & D - NY

Room Tip: Ask for room 404
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    74
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
140
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great amenities comprising of pool and sunbed grassed area, patio for meals & drinks overlooking an exceptional raised view of the sea.

Food. Breakfasts comprise of a cold buffet including croissants, jams, cakes, fresh juices and standard hot drinks. Lunch here only offers a panini (use a pitta out here) cheese and/or ham. Dinner available with a great selection but needs to be ordered in advance.

Location. The hotel is not in Sorrento but Seiano. The hotel is near the top of a hill, not near local amenities. You cant walk anywhere from the hotel as its on a busy road with limited paths. The hotel offers a shuttle service, free of charge to collect/drop off from certain locations throughout the day. They only need 30 mins notice from you. To get into Sorrento go by the train from Seiano. It costs €1.30 pp one way. Tickets can be bought from the hotel.

Rooms. Very Good clean and contemporary. There are sea view rooms available but no balcony. The patio offers the view anyway.

Staff - very helpful and multilingual. They have good knowledge of the area.

Overall - Definitely recommend this hotel. The inconvenience of the freedom of travel opportunities easily offset by the complimentary shuttle service provided.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family of 4 have just returned from spending 3 nights at the Torre Barbara and what a treat this hotel is. The staff could not do enough for us, from giving lots of advice on the local area, selling the local train tickets (best and easiest way to get around) and recommending a great restaurant.The rooms were a good size, spotlessly clean and with a view that was to die for. Breakfast is served on the lovely terrace as was dinner and sitting under the stars with the amazing view eating a very pleasant dinner is a memory that will always stay with us. The hotel supply a free shuttle bus which we made good use of although this bus doesn't run during the afternoon so we were then dependent on the local buses which appeared to run when the drivers decided that they were ready! The location was great for visiting pompeii, sorrento and all the attractions in the area. As other reviews have pointed out the hotel is on a busy road but our room had excellent double glazing, good air con and we all agreed that it was worth the road position just to get the view of the bay of Naples, our only regret was that we could have a longer stay at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front so that you can enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night before moving into a holiday apartment. The staff were helpful and communicative throughout, patient with the little Italian I knew. We were given a warm welcome and the room was very comfortable with a well filled fridge and views of the terrace and bay. The food was some of the best we had whilst in Italy! Dining on the terrace was very special with romantic panoramic sunset views of the bay. We felt it was a great deal.

We booked through Travel Republic and should have looked on the website in more detail to see the free shuttle bus service. It would have been great if the staff could've told me in one of the emails we exchanged but unfortunately we ended up walking the 30 minute uphill walk from Seiano station as Google Maps has it incorrectly placed. This is the only negative aspect of our stay! It is a bit out of the way from central Vico and Seiano but the free bus will give you a lift to the beaches too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family of 4 spent two nights here in July. I chose this hotel after deciding not to risk driving on the Amalfi coast and wanted someplace easier to drive to, kid-friendly and near Sorrento. My highlights in a nutshell:

The Good/Great:
1. The staff - Rafaella, Daniella and Marco were wonderful, basically answering every question with an answer of 'yes'.
2. The family room was terrific - although I would not be comfortable if my kids were under age 3 or 4 (ours was a two-level room with stairs), my 10 & 12 year old thought it was the best room ever. One of their beds was very very soft - too soft - but our daughter had no problem with it. Am sure we could have asked for a different mattress and gotten it if we wanted.
3. The dinner on the terrace was amazing. They serve drinks/beverages themselves from the terrace/lobby. The food/menu is a bit limited but price was average - even god for a hotel.
4. The shuttle service to the train station and to Vico Equense was great - Marco was great, on time and so helpful.
5. The location - outside of Sorrento - was easy to drive to and parking is free.
6. The pool was perfect - small (an above ground pool) but no one else was ever in it so the size wasn't an issue
7. The gardens/landscape was gorgeous
8. The hotel itself is kind of a funky building with high ceilings, an interesting lobby and stairwells. Really unique.

The Not So Great
Only one: The traffic outside - while very few hotels seem to be close enough for one to hear water or waves from their rooms (due to the very high cliffs everywhere), this hotel is on the main road and the cars driving by - required us to keep the doors to the terrace closed and the air conditioning on, so we wouldn't hear the cars. Its worth it to have the view of the water but would have liked one night with fresh sea air. If the doors/windows were closed, we barely heard any traffic, fyi.

Overall, a great stay - thx folks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I can't say anything negative! There's a beautiful view over the sea and to the volcano. The staff is very friendly, the room was clean and we had everything we needed. The deco is very modern, and there's a parking area. You see lemon trees and a lot of other fruits or veg. The hotel is near the street but it's not noisy. When you walk about 5 to 10 minutes you reach a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel Torre Barbara is a beautiful small hotel 17 rooms in Vico Equinse near Sorrento.The hotel has been recently renovated and is extremely clean. There are beautiful views of the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvious from the hotel .Breakfast is-- served on the terrace overlooking the bay--a fantastic start to our day. Lunch and dinner are also available here if you wish to eat at the hotel.The food here is very nice and vegetables are picked freshly from the garden.There is a small but adequate swimming pool .We sunbathed near the pool next to a lemon grove looking out at the beautiful scenery. Raefella(Manager) and her staff were totally focused and very attentive to our needs at all times.The hotel is on top of a hill a good distance . from the beach and the train station but the hotel provides a shuttle service to both and Marco the shuttle bus driver was very efficient..Sorrento is four stops from station..We loved our holiday here and hope to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torre Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Barbara

Address: Corso Caulino 75, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#6 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torre Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Torre Barbara is the ideal place for those who wish to spend an unforgettable vacation overlooking the Gulf of Naples, just a few kilometers from the centre of Sorrento and places of major interest in the Campania region: Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Caserta, Positano, Amalfi and the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Torre Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Barbara Hotel
Torre Barbara Vico Equense
Hotel Torre Barbara Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.