We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torre Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Torre Barbara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 75, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family of 4 have just returned from spending 3 nights at the Torre Barbara and what a treat this hotel is. The staff could not do enough for us, from giving lots of advice on the local area, selling the local train tickets (best and easiest way to get around) and recommending a great restaurant.The rooms were a good size, spotlessly clean and with a view that was to die for. Breakfast is served on the lovely terrace as was dinner and sitting under the stars with the amazing view eating a very pleasant dinner is a memory that will always stay with us. The hotel supply a free shuttle bus which we made good use of although this bus doesn't run during the afternoon so we were then dependent on the local buses which appeared to run when the drivers decided that they were ready! The location was great for visiting pompeii, sorrento and all the attractions in the area. As other reviews have pointed out the hotel is on a busy road but our room had excellent double glazing, good air con and we all agreed that it was worth the road position just to get the view of the bay of Naples, our only regret was that we could have a longer stay at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front so that you can enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    74
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
142
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night before moving into a holiday apartment. The staff were helpful and communicative throughout, patient with the little Italian I knew. We were given a warm welcome and the room was very comfortable with a well filled fridge and views of the terrace and bay. The food was some of the best we had whilst in Italy! Dining on the terrace was very special with romantic panoramic sunset views of the bay. We felt it was a great deal.

We booked through Travel Republic and should have looked on the website in more detail to see the free shuttle bus service. It would have been great if the staff could've told me in one of the emails we exchanged but unfortunately we ended up walking the 30 minute uphill walk from Seiano station as Google Maps has it incorrectly placed. This is the only negative aspect of our stay! It is a bit out of the way from central Vico and Seiano but the free bus will give you a lift to the beaches too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family of 4 spent two nights here in July. I chose this hotel after deciding not to risk driving on the Amalfi coast and wanted someplace easier to drive to, kid-friendly and near Sorrento. My highlights in a nutshell:

The Good/Great:
1. The staff - Rafaella, Daniella and Marco were wonderful, basically answering every question with an answer of 'yes'.
2. The family room was terrific - although I would not be comfortable if my kids were under age 3 or 4 (ours was a two-level room with stairs), my 10 & 12 year old thought it was the best room ever. One of their beds was very very soft - too soft - but our daughter had no problem with it. Am sure we could have asked for a different mattress and gotten it if we wanted.
3. The dinner on the terrace was amazing. They serve drinks/beverages themselves from the terrace/lobby. The food/menu is a bit limited but price was average - even god for a hotel.
4. The shuttle service to the train station and to Vico Equense was great - Marco was great, on time and so helpful.
5. The location - outside of Sorrento - was easy to drive to and parking is free.
6. The pool was perfect - small (an above ground pool) but no one else was ever in it so the size wasn't an issue
7. The gardens/landscape was gorgeous
8. The hotel itself is kind of a funky building with high ceilings, an interesting lobby and stairwells. Really unique.

The Not So Great
Only one: The traffic outside - while very few hotels seem to be close enough for one to hear water or waves from their rooms (due to the very high cliffs everywhere), this hotel is on the main road and the cars driving by - required us to keep the doors to the terrace closed and the air conditioning on, so we wouldn't hear the cars. Its worth it to have the view of the water but would have liked one night with fresh sea air. If the doors/windows were closed, we barely heard any traffic, fyi.

Overall, a great stay - thx folks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I can't say anything negative! There's a beautiful view over the sea and to the volcano. The staff is very friendly, the room was clean and we had everything we needed. The deco is very modern, and there's a parking area. You see lemon trees and a lot of other fruits or veg. The hotel is near the street but it's not noisy. When you walk about 5 to 10 minutes you reach a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel Torre Barbara is a beautiful small hotel 17 rooms in Vico Equinse near Sorrento.The hotel has been recently renovated and is extremely clean. There are beautiful views of the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvious from the hotel .Breakfast is-- served on the terrace overlooking the bay--a fantastic start to our day. Lunch and dinner are also available here if you wish to eat at the hotel.The food here is very nice and vegetables are picked freshly from the garden.There is a small but adequate swimming pool .We sunbathed near the pool next to a lemon grove looking out at the beautiful scenery. Raefella(Manager) and her staff were totally focused and very attentive to our needs at all times.The hotel is on top of a hill a good distance . from the beach and the train station but the hotel provides a shuttle service to both and Marco the shuttle bus driver was very efficient..Sorrento is four stops from station..We loved our holiday here and hope to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Torre Barbara. The description is very accurate – the hotel overlooks the water, the breakfast and/or dinner is on a beautiful terrace facing the water, the rooms are new and exceptionally clean. We had 3 women staying in a room and it worked fine. Rooms are big. The customer service is exceptional – Big thanks to Rosa and Raefella – the staff go OUT OF THERE WAY to make sure you enjoy your time. They helped us book dinner reservations, sold us train tickets, advised on tours etc.

Marco, the shuttle driver, is very accommodating. If you’re looking to stay somewhere outside the hustle and bustle of Sorrento – I highly recommend this hotel. We laid by the hotel pool for 2 days (nice pool, good lounge chairs), spent 2 days on the beach in Vico Equense and a few day trips in Sorrento/Capri. The hotel is 2 stops via train (5 mins) from Sorrento.

Breakfast is the typical Italian breakfast – lots of bread, cheese, meat, pasteries etc. They had hard boiled eggs which was nice. If you travel in May it’s great – you beat the big tourist crowds. Ask for a room facing the Bay for the best views.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the water with a french balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My partner and I had a very enjoyable stay at this very pleasant hotel in Vico Equense on the Sorrento coast in mid - May 2013. We were made very welcome by the very friendly and extremely helpful staff - they could not do more for us.
I had contacted the hotel before we arrived as it was my partner's birthday on our day of arrival. Sure enough, Rosa (who was ever helpful throughout our stay) had arranged for a card and some "goodies" when we entered our room - much to Justina's delight! That earned me a few "Brownie points!" Thank you again Rosa! The room (although only a standard) was spotlessly clean, very well - appointed and with a comfortable bed and all the required facilities - it looked as if it had been upgraded fairly recently.
It was this level of service that we experienced throughout our stay of 5 nights. The staff including Rafaella, Rosa and Valentina were always very friendly and helpful - particularly in giving us details of places such as Pompeii, Herculaneum, Capri and Sorrento which we had not visited before. One example was returning from a day out to find a note from Rosa with printed out details of Pompeii in our room - it is this little attention to service that makes all the difference.
The hotel has really attractive artwork throughout and it can be seen that the owners have invested significantly to ensure it is competitive. I particularly like the round glass door leading onto the terrace - that is a very attractive feature.
The only difficulty with the beautiful location - with uninterrupted views across to Mount Vesuvius - is that it is someway from the main transport centres. However, fear not because the hotel runs its own super efficient minibus service - just ring up and the ever efficient Marco will pick you up from the local train station, restaurant,etc so this is hardly a problem. A quick phone call ahead is all that is required. He was nearly always waiting for us when we reached Seiano station.
In this regard, getting about is extremely easy - and it was fantastic for me not to have to drive. Seiano station on the Circumvesuviana railway is not far away and there are regular and very cheap trains to Pompeii, Napoli, Herculaneum, and Sorrento - Capri is just a short boat ride away from Sorrento. You must go - Capri is a lovely romantic spot and we enjoyed a fantastic day out there.
You can also eat at the hotel - they do a wide selection of meals and they are of very good quality - but it is important that these are ordered on the day in advance. Alternatively, there are so many other places to eat in the centres mentioned that the traveller is spoiled for choice. Nothing, however, beats the fantastic view from the terrace of the hotel - and to eat outside in May having travelled from and returned to a very cold, wet and grey London was a particular joy!
Travel to and from the hotel upon arrival and departure is not a problem - there is an easy bus service (10 Euros) from outside Napoli airport which passes and stops directly outside the hotel.
In short, we had a really great time. We would like to thank all the staff for making a lovely romantic stay really enjoyable. It was a really nice break for us and we will have no hesitation in returning (hopefully) in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torre Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Barbara

Address: Corso Caulino 75, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#6 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torre Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Torre Barbara is the ideal place for those who wish to spend an unforgettable vacation overlooking the Gulf of Naples, just a few kilometers from the centre of Sorrento and places of major interest in the Campania region: Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Caserta, Positano, Amalfi and the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Torre Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Barbara Hotel
Torre Barbara Vico Equense
Hotel Torre Barbara Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.