We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice villa at the Naples bay along a crazy highway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torre Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Torre Barbara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 75, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Werchter, Belgium
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice villa at the Naples bay along a crazy highway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Torre Barbara to explore the Naples area and the Amalfi coast. We had a mixed experience as we stayed during the busy Summer holiday period and we felt that all of Italy was visiting the Amalfi region. We tried to visit the small villages such as Positano only to find no parking spaces available. There is only one coastal road and driving there is ridiculously dangerous (we saw two crashes happening right before our eyes, twice due to overzealous Vespa-drivers). We would love to visit again some time during Spring or Autumn.

The hotel is also situated along this highway linking Sorrento with Napoli. Having a car here (which we did) is a must. And it takes quite some nerves to enter and exit the hotel's ramp as the road is always busy (day and night) with Fiat-drivers pretending to be in a Ferrari ;-).

That being said, we liked the hotel. The building is nicely renovated and while we booked a standard room, we found it to be large and spacious (yet situated in the basement). There is a small swimming pool in the garden which can be refreshing after strolling through Pompeii a whole day.

Breakfast is basic but the friendly staff and the beautiful views over the Naples bay make up for it. Ranting about the location again, we only visited the town of Vico Equense once for dinner as there are traffic jams every morning and again every evening when all the sunbathers return to either Naples or Sorrento, making a 5km drive last for over an hour. Instead, we had dinner twice at the hotel which was absolutely fantastic. While the choice of fares was limited, we found the quality of the food very good and the views unparallelled.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and we would love to visit again, but during a quieter period...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    74
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
145
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at the hotel twice during the last 4 years because we liked the distance from all places of interest around (Pompei,Sorrento,Capri,Napoli,Salerno,Costiera Amalfiera etc) and we really enjoyed.We were offered maybe the best rooms at the top front and the top corner at reasonable prices with breathtaking view of Golf of Napoli,we did not like to leave the room ! Though there is no lobby at all, we enjoyed our breakfast at the garden and the hospitality of the owner a young and clever businessman.Personnel was very helfull and polite,they guided us to nice places and restaurants around we were really pleased and we will go there again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berchtesgaden, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed at Torre Barbara as a base from which to explore Sorrento, Capri, Naples and the Amalfi Coast by car. Upon arrival, I couldn't imagine where to stop the car as the villa is perched directly above the busy road. A sharp bend led up a steep driveway and into the hotel's spacious car park. Our plan was to drive on into Sorrento after check-in but the extremely helpful receptionist suggested taking the train into downtown Sorrento for only one euro each way! The hotel offered us a free shuttle service to the nearby station and within about 15 minutes we found ourselves in the attractive bustling town center. Our room was absolutely stunning: spacious, newly refurbished and it led out onto a small terrace with fabulous views of the bay towards Naples. Though the road below threatened to be noisy, the hotel seems to have excellent double-glazing on the windows: there was no traffic to be heard at night. As it was late October we had breakfast and dinner indoors in a windowless basement but we were told that in summer food is served outside. The spacious garden looked inviting but it is probably noisy in the summertime due to the sound of traffic below.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We booked after reading TA reviews and were very disappointed. The hotel photo of the pool is very misleading. it is in fact a smallish plunge pool above ground and as we like to swim it was totally unsuitable. Also the pool area is very untidy with some broken loungers and torn cushions. It had an air of neglect about it. We also found the charge of 2 euros for a pool towel unacceptable
It is impossible to walk from the hotel as it is on the main coast road which is narrow with no pavements.The traffic noise is constant day & night. You either need a car or use the bus.
On the plus side the terrace is pretty and the view exceptional. Rooms are clean and staff helpful.
We were offered another room away from the road noise but the pool facility was not acceptable to us for the period booked and so we took the decision to move to a hotel with facilities more to our needs
The hotel staff were understanding and extremely courteous.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed here in September 2010 and had a lovely time. Yes the location is a bit isolated and once you're back at the hotel you're more or less there for the night, but location wise it's not bad at all.

The hotel runs a daily mini-bus service to the train station down the road and the staff were more than accomodating to us. We didn't exactly rise early and most of the time we missed the mini-bus in the morning due to this, however, the staff would happily arrange an extra run for us and we would then book the mini-bus home for the evening. Alternatively there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which will take you to the station.

As for the train line it can take you to Sorrento, Naples, Pompeii, Vesuvious, Herculaneum etc all on one line so getting to the main attractions couldn't be any easier.

Breakfast was simple but more than enough for us, and the rooms were fine too. Nice spacious rooms and despite the main road being right outside it wasn't at all noisy. The view from the room couldn't be any better, especially on a lovely sunny day.

I would recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We booked a family quad room here for our summer holiday and were not disappointed. Lovely hotel and with very warm and friendly staff, I would definitely return.

We stayed in Room 302 which has a view across to Vesuvius and had a mezzanine level with the (HUGE) double bed up some stairs above the bathroom. The kids beds (or presumably sofas if you were traveling as a couple) are down in the main area along with the free internet access TV. The only negative thing I have to say about the room is that I was a little nervous that the balustrades on the stairs and the mezzanine balcony which were quite open for our three year old. (We simply kept him downstairs unless one of us was upstairs with him and blocked offending areas with our empty suitcases).

Having stayed in Sorrento some 7 years previous and having some knowledge of the area the reviews here about the main road were not off putting. Yes, there was some traffic noise but nothing that interrupted your conversation or stopped you from sleeping, the terrace and pool are quite high above the road.

A few people commented the pool was small, we thought it was a great pool! The hotel only has about 18 rooms and again most pools in this area are smaller due to the mountainous terrain! Plus the view is simply amazing. The garden is well kept could do with a few more sunloungers but even in August at peak season we had no worry setting up camp for the day in the garden.

Gian Luca on reception is very knowledgeable about the local area and was very helpful in suggesting some places to visit away from the main hot spots. Try Pizza a Metro in Vico Equense where all pizzas are priced by the metre! We had a metre long pizza wheeled to the table with 4 different toppings. Also try the cable car up to Mount Faito (from Castellamare di Stabia station) for some amazing views.

We use public transport mainly the train from Sieano or Vico Equence and from that one line you can access Naples, Pompeii and Sorrento easily. Dominique was always available for drop offs and pick ups (his usual hours are 10am - 1pm and again 5pm-10pm, we normally rang the hotel when we were close to the station and he was there to collect us!) you can buy train and bus tickets from reception (remember to stamp them before you get on the train).

Since we had our two young sons with us (6 and 3) being out in the evening wasn't something we did, but there isn't really anywhere to walk to unless you want to navigate the winding main road which doesn't have paths in places, There is a bus stop outside and I heard Rafaella at the reception organising taxis for someone too. All you need do is ask. However we didn't feel tied to the hotel despite not having a car though.

Meals were all served on the terrace overlooking Vesuvius the waiters attentive, prompt and learned our preferences for coffee/drinks very quickly. Breakfast is ample and runs 7:30-10:30 (a few people said there was nothing left in previous reviews - all I can say is ASK if something runs out) Bernardo was a particular hit with our sons, teaching them some Italian and interacting with them. There was no specific lunch menu but a couple of days when we were by the pool they rustled up some panninis for us.

The Dinner menu was great, simple typical Italian food done very well. Again we asked for some extras (eg Pizza wasn't on the menu but the chef rustled one up when we asked) also half portions weren't a problem The gnocci was my favourite and the lemon risotto, ooh and the erupting Vesuvius chocolate pudding....mmm.

All in all we have had a spectacular holiday and the Torre Barbara played a big part in helping us.

Room Tip: 301, 302 and 303 are all mezzanine rooms with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. We found the hotel to be very clean and with one of the best views we have ever seen over the Bay of Naples. Sat on the terrace each night watching the sunset whilst waiting for dinner to be served in the restaurant, where we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. All of the staff at this hotel were very helpful and informative and I note other reviews re transport etc we had no difficulty as we booked the hotel shuttle for our trips to and from train station etc. There was a some noise from the road below however it did not interrupt us in our rooms and had no difficulty hearing or talking on the terrace. Would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torre Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Barbara

Address: Corso Caulino 75, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#6 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torre Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Torre Barbara is the ideal place for those who wish to spend an unforgettable vacation overlooking the Gulf of Naples, just a few kilometers from the centre of Sorrento and places of major interest in the Campania region: Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Caserta, Positano, Amalfi and the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Torre Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Barbara Hotel
Torre Barbara Vico Equense
Hotel Torre Barbara Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.