We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel with great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Moon Valley to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Modern Hotel with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights with a tour party. Nice hotel with fabulous outdoor swimming pool. Agree with previous comments about the location on a steep hill. There is no night life nearby which did not bothered us as we were out all day sightseeing and happy to have a quiet drink by the outdoor pool area which was lovely (nice views). The hotel staff were polite and helpful however the hotel does caters for weddings.During our 3 night stay our tour group did encounter two weddings (Our tour manager did give us prior warning about this earlier in the day) The wedding guests seemed to take over the hotel and bar area outside and the attention of all the staff however the music and wedding guests did not appear to party on until the early hours so presume the hotel must have a noise or guest disturbution policy either that or i was too tired to notice what time the music stopped and slept through it all. We were lucky and had a great room (321) with balcony overlooking the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. we did not request this room so assume it must be luck of the draw as some of our party were on the other side of the hotel. All rooms have balconies and good en suite facilities. The food, we found to be a bit bland, well the evening meal anyway could do with more seasoning but maybe that is my personal opinion. The breakfast was self service buffet style - English and continential style choice of breakfast and fine. Overall good hotel, high standard of cleaniness and we have no major issues with the facilities or staff.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    130
    68
    19
    5
See reviews for
53
152
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Stayed for 5 nights on an escorted tour. It is located on a steep hill, on a heavy traffic local road with limited (or no) sidewalks. The view is nice but there is hardly anything within walking distance. The train station is located a short walk away, but the road is steep especially with luggage. This hotel caters primarily (or exclusively) to groups and wedding receptions. The latter may get quite loud at night.
Rooms are clean and adequate size but fairly basic. The staff is mostly friendly, but seems to be insufficient and poorly trained: from the housekeeper barging into our room at 8 am without knocking on the door ("do not disturb" signs are not available), to the receptionist screaming "I only have two hands!!" when tens of people were waiting to pick up their keys at the reception. Service at dinner was also extremely slow if the staff was busy with a wedding reception.
Breakfast and dinner were nothing special. Breakfast did not even serve real coffee, but only a caffeine-free barley coffee substitute.
WiFi is expensive (4.50 euros for 30 minutes).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
Dear Lady,
I think is very strange that, while welcoming our individual services good, you don’t want to suggest your friend to stay in our hotel. The hotel is located just over 100 meters above sea level, in a position that many envy us, in front of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. Do you consider it steep hill. The railway station is only 400 meters far from the hotel and we offer guests a free shuttle service to the station. The hotel have 107 rooms, several gardens, three restaurants and a pool terrace. All this place allows us to offer hospitality to organized groups and to host wedding parties. I don’t understand why for you this is a negative element. I apologise if the maid has entered in your room without knocking, but I assure you that the signs “not disturb” are in all rooms, may be yours was without the sign. Our room maid very well to knock before entering room, and, may be, you just didn’t hear it. The hotel staff is selected to keep high quality standards services. The receptionist exclamation, was in Italian, it is sure that you did understand?
Our breakfast follows standard of international hotels. If you wanted the “ espresso” just ask for it. Espresso means to be done quickly and at moment.
The internet connections, for those who offer it properly, it requires the fullfillment of some legal formalities, so the cost of 4,50 € per 30 minute, for long connections we offer very convenient packages for our guests. I’d like to ask you your perspective in terms of quality and price.
I hope I will have the pleasure to see again in this hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

stayed one night. Hotel was nice and staff were friendly. Clean hotel. Nice pool which is hard to find in most hotels in Italy. Food was good. Rooms small but nice.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed at the Moon Valley Hotel for 3 days from 19th June 2010 on an escorted tour holiday. Like most people on this site we did read the reviews and were not worried there was no evening entertainment. Also there is really nothing to do in the small town / village where the hotel is located.
The main road that the hotel is located on is very busy and can be dangerous steep hill road for those not quick on there feet in crossing.
The hotel was clean our room was comfortable, staff helpful and friendly but the food was poor standard.
The main course was served by a team of waiters with less than minimal vegetables on the dish. Then later just after the main course was serve one waiter would do the rounds with huge platter of extra vegetables. So buy the time the waiter had got to our table we had finished the main course !

The best thing we did for drinks with our dinner was to purchase drinks from the out side bar, and take them into the dinning hall. As the waiter with a small trolley did the rounds in a very large dinning hall with wine and not too chilled beer bottles !
Though the barman seem to charge different prices for the same round, and we noticed that some barman are skimming €0.50 on our round for to drinks.
Some did charge the correct price and others were skimming !
One evening there was a wedding reception in a function room which turn out to be below our room, so that night we did get to sleep till gone midnight !¬
It seems the hotel is a popular place for wedding receptions !

There is train station about 5 min walk from the hotel, once you have spent 10 mins negotiating the traffic !

Pool area was amazing, the best part of the hotel which over looked a bay and the surrounding hill sides. The pool is a infinity type and there is a second swallower pool as well.
The internet was chargeable, though I never used so can comment on its price. Though there is no WiFi for those people with iPhones.

Not bad hotel if you are travelling into Naples or Sorrento as the train station is not far away and the train fare to Sorrento is €1.20 each way.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Hotel is in a wonderful setting. Fantastic sea views across the bay of Naples to Vesuvious. Rooms are clean and basic. Television - forget it unless you are into BBC World News on a loop. Food is good but not overly exciting. Terrace and pool areas are fabulous with stunning views. Plenty of loungers and umbrellas. Terrace bar area is beautiful at night. Great trips to the island of Capri, along the beautiful Amalfi coast and to Pompeii and Sorrento, but very little around the hotel, although a pleasant walk takes you to the little harbour and beach. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, but don't expect too much of the rooms and food.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

The hotel was clean and the pool area was a delight, but oh dear the quality of the food lets the hotel down. It was overcooked and repetitive, much from frozen ingredients which was ironic as we were continually told that the region grew so much marvellous produce. What a pity they do not use it. I did send one meal back as it was cold but really nobody could be bothered and even our tour manager agreed with me that the quality of the food was poor.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We have just come back from a week in the Grand Moon Valley Hotel on an escorted tour. Did read reviews about hotel before we went, thought it wouldn’t bother us having no entertainment at night or that the Hotel was on a steep hill. The hotel was clean our room comfortable, staff helpful and friendly but the food was really bad, except for the soup at dinner. Some nights we actually had tinned peas and instant mash. The breakfast was served at 8.30am every day except if we had an early start for a day trip. Therefore even if we wanted a lie in on our free days we couldn’t. It was always scrambled egg, rasher and sausage and was always cold, also the usual things cereal, yogurt, rolls etc. The dinner was at 7.30pm every night and most nights it took 2 hours as it was a waiter service. My husband after the first night would get up and leave after the main course.
We normally enjoy a quiet hotel and would normally spend our evenings just relaxing on our balcony but with no entertainment the whole place seemed deserted.
We thought as there were 4 day trips included in our tour we would be glad of the 2 free days we would have? The day trips were nothing like the escorted tours we had been on before as our tour guide gave us hardly any information. We had no commentary on the coach about the areas we were going to visit. On the trips we were just given a map and left there and told where to meet and what time to get the coach back. If we hadn’t been in a hotel on such a steep hill we would have got the train and spent more time in the places we had gone on this trip to see, especially Pompeii. Unfortunately my husband has bronchiectasis therefore no way would he have been able to walk back from the train station.
As I wanted to use my Net book to find out more about the places we visited because our guide was useless, the hotel wanted €12.50 for 30 minutes to log on to their network.
I would advise anyone with a physical or breathing difficulty not to stay at this hotel. Although on our last day another guest did say that there was a courtesy taxi from the hotel to the train station. I don’t know if this is a fact, as our tour guide was absolutely useless.
The only good thing about our trip was the view of the Bay of Naples, from our balcony, which was spectacular and the pool was fantastic. Also the people on our tour were so friendly and we all had a good laugh about how disastrous this trip had turned out.
John & Chris from Clon if you read this don’t forget to do what you said you would do.
Diane & Tom from Cork.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Dear Mr. Tome and Mrs. Diane,
The breakfast start from 7,00 am to 9,30 and the time is always fixed from the tour leader.
In the breakfast are included sweet cakes, salad and fruit .

About the dinner is still the tour director to fix the time and when you travel with a tour you must follow the rules of the group.

The hotel is 400 hundred mt. from the train station (circumvesuviana where is very easy to go to Pompei, Sorrento, Napoli etc. ) , the courtesy bus is available in your free days, and, I believe that if we known that your husband was not well would always have the shuttle free.

Internet connection coasts € 4,50 for 30 minutes, everything is written near the internet point and is incredible that someone of the staff can ask € 12,50, I think there was an misunderstanding.

We are sorry that your holiday has been not very comfortable.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Moon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Address: Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#9 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moon Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Moon Valley is the perfect place to celebrate an important event, to spend a relaxing holiday immersed in the Sorrento Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Moon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Hotel Moon Valley Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Moon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.