We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Moon Valley to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very nice hotel!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

After reading a few reviews about this hotel we were a little dubious but we were pleasantly surprised it was a very nice hotel, lovely views, basic rooms but very nice & clean, the pool was gorgeous, the pool bar & seating area was very nice & cosy they had the same entertainment each night but she was a very good singer. As far as the food goes we were not at all disappointed you got the choice of three starters & three main courses & if you didn't like any of these they were very accommodating especially one of the waiters Carmine who spoke very good English & was very helpful in sorting something out for you & the desserts were to die for especially the lemon cake & the portions don't disappoint either. Breakfast was just as good it was a self service breakfast with various choices croissants, sausage, egg, bacon, toast ,bread rolls, continental, yoghurts etc. eating as much or as little as you want. If you had a day trip out you got a packed lunch which consists of a bottle of water, a carton of juice, some cake then you can put in whatever you like from the breakfast buffet. It is a little isolated but if you are happy with trips out or just lazy days relaxing by the pool then it is ideal. The hotel also run a courtesy shuttle bus daily to Sorrento. It is near a road but we didn't find this a problem at all. If you are looking for a nice meal out try the il ritrovo degli amici which is only about five minutes walk from the hotel just down the street which ahs a tobacconist & a mini supermarket it has a pizza to die for!!!! just watch the road which you have to cross as it is very busy!1 The only thing thing I would agree with other reviews when they comment about is that Italian weddings it does make things a little awkward & we had three in the week we were staying. It was the same entertainment each evening but she was a good singer which created a good atmosphere. It also has some stunning scenic views which include ones of Vesuvius.

Room Tip: You can pay an upgrade for a sea or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hello!!

We are so pleased when we hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay in our hotel.

It is true, even in busy times as the recent one, our staff tries to do their best to please our guests.

the busy road it is in some way part of the atmosphere of southern Italy and we are very happy to hear you did appreciate this.

It has been indeed a peak time with weddings and we'll try and do our best to sort this out.

Hoping to see you again at Grand Hotel Moon Valley
Kind Regards
Luigi Dell'Amura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    146
    76
    22
    7
See reviews for
55
172
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

From the outside, the hotel looks deceptively simple and small. Once you step into the reception area, you'll realise that this is a very big hotel. Once side of the hotel faces the Mediterranean and you'll get nearly uninterrupted views of the sea. Unfortunately we got that that faced the main road !

The room itself was just average, but was sufficiently fitted and equipped, with all basics included. Thankfully the aicronditioning worked well, as this was one issue we had with most of the European hotels we stayed at.

One feature that was unusual was the electric shutters rather than hand drawn drapes/blinds.

What is notably worth mentioning is their beautiful pool at the back of the hotel, something that is not at all obvious from inside the hotel. It was such a sight to behold, with the Mediterranean on one side and the backdrop of the Sorrento hills on the other. Absolutely stunning at night!

This is a very inviting hotel, and one worth stopping at if you're in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hello!
Thank you very much for your reviews, your comments will help us improve our service.

As a four stars hotel as we are we try to offer our standards at our best.

It is not the first time that customers are a bit surprised about the electric shutters: they are standard
modern blinds very common in Italy.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated it.

Hoping you had a safe journey back home.

Kind Regards
Luigi Dell"Amura
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July 2014, we booked the holiday very last minute through Thomas Cook, we booked a sea view room with a terrace. The Hotel is family owned and they are very hands on in their approach. Our room was amazing, on the top floor with a breathtaking views of the bay and Vesuvius, the restaurant staff even brought breakfast to our room on several occasions. The room was huge with very comfortable bed, it was spotlessly clean with a large bathroom and the view from there was amazing too. The room was cleaned and the towels changed every day including fresh toiletries. We had the roof top terrace to ourselves, it was a lovely place with sun loungers, table, chairs and a shower and views to die for. The pool area is something to be seen especially in the evenings with the lighting. It has a good pool bar which serves food at lunch time. There are plenty of good sun loungers with huge parasols, there are two pools, the smaller shallow one ideal for sitting around and the larger one great to cool off in. No wonder it's very popular for weddings and other celebrations it's a perfect setting, the sunsets were unbelievable and we had some pretty amazing firework displays too. The staff were all exceptional, nothing was to much trouble, everything was done with a smile and very very professional. The only niggle was the poor WIFI but that was a minor issue and the reception staff did all they could. We will certainly return.
Try the local trains only 10 mins walk, they go to Sorrento one way and Napoli the other with Pompeii and Herculaneum in-between. Try to go to Amalfi, the coastal road goes through Positano take the tourist coastal bus from outside the train station in Sorrento they run hourly, you pay as you get on, you get headphones to listen to recorded guide much more comfortable than the local bus. Take a camera it is an absolute must.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
we would like to thank you very much for your review.
We are always happy to hear our guests' feedback but are even happier to know that you really had a good time at our hotel.

It sounds like you appreciated our effort to give you the best and there is no better reward!!!

We are sorry about the problems with the wifi which have caused troubles to the all area recently.

Hoping to see you again at Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Kind Regards
Mr Luigi Dell'Amura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were so disappointed by this hotel; it looks lovely, it is very clean but the food quality, customer service and dowdy rooms make it feel more like a hostel than a hotel. lt is set back from a very busy main road which surrounds it on three sides and is like a race track, so rooms are noisy except for approx 03.00-05.00 am and the metal shutters give the impression of being in a prison.The rooms are small with extra beds crammed in for full paying adults and one thin cotton towel is provided per week, this is more like a tea towel in UK, and there is 5 euro charge for an extra towel! Thomas Cook guests are treated as though they are an inconvenience to hotel management,freeloaders greeted with shrugs and patronising smiles if something is asked. The food is mediocre, plain, basic and cooked for bulk and cheapness, with Thomas Cook All Inclusive guests 'treated' to a separate menu, and unable to order anything remotely similar to guests paying for meals separately. Thomas Cook guests are expected to sit together is a designated area of the restaurant on tables together, even though the people have usually never even met. Also, guests are expected to tick menu choice, from a very limited choice, for the next day and this cannot be altered; it makes you think of being in hospital and certainly not on holiday. The wine on tables looks as though it is cheapest available and poured into bottles with reusable corks to make it look like it is a fresh bottle; it is utterly undrinkable and the proseco resembled pale sherry without a hint of a bubble! Spirits are locally produced, but again, l have never tasted anything so disgusting in 30 years travelling to Italy. Tea and coffee is available in the lounge in the afternnoon; this is a flask of hot water with a jar of instant coffee and a few tea bags, it is really cheap and nasty.Internet is free per hotel website, but Thomas Cook AI guests have to pay 5 euros a day. There is just one minibus per day into and from Sorrento, which must be pre-booked, nothing here is fun or spontaneous! A taxi costs 50 euros one way. Guests cannot walk anywhere safely as there are no paths, so even though there is a bus and a train the problem is that you have to get to the train station (impossibly dangerous) and the last train back from Sorrento is at 9.30 pm, so nights are spent at the hotel with the same singer every single evening! There is no sports or other entertainment at all; table tennis consists of a rusty table with no net, bats or balls.The Thomas Cook rep admitted that there 'are issues' with this hotel, so to be honest and blunt, don't even consider booking it unless you are happy with the bare minimum of food and drink quality, are happy to pay for extra towels and are prepared to stay captive in this hotel for the duration of your holiday. The only nice thing about it is the pool area; every word l have said here is absolutely truthful so you have been warned!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel have sea views so it depends on whether guests feel inclined to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your time, we always appreciate our guests' feedback.

We feel so sorry to hear so poorly about our hotel as we do strive to do our best which is very much appreciated by most part of our customers.

The location of our hotel, very close to the major attractions of the coast, is peculiar of our area: it represents the characteristic of this part of Italy even with the busy road which is the only one that links Naples to Sorrento.

The electric shutters don't seem to be such a big issue for our customers: again they are the standard modern blinds in use in our country.

Our guests are entitled to have a change of the room towels on a daily basis and two changes of pool towels per week.

We always receive compliments for our staff and we do feel very surprised you had such a bad impression; we never ever treat our customers in different ways, as if you are happy we are happy.

The only differences are according to the arrangements made at the time of booking: sometimes with 107 rooms we can't give to our guests the table they would like to, so we tend to sit close those who have travelled together as for instance Thomas Cook guests.

We offer authentic italian freshly made food and try to adjust to the different tastes of our international guests; our staff from the restaurant always tries to please any request when possible. Menus are the same for everybody with a choice of three among starters, main course and desserts except for those who have arranged differently at the time of booking. When asking in advance is not to make our guests feeling at the hospital but we just try to be as organised as possible.

It is the very first time that one of our guests complains about our prosecco...we offer the best of the fresh local products available; wine bottles are opened a very little while before the meals just to make the service smoother.

In order to give more freedom to our customers we have arranged self service stations for tea and coffee; we are sorry you didn't find them at your taste. In Italy tea is made with single tea bags and the american coffee we find available is the one we use: it's a necessity not a choice when looking for non italian products.


Internet is free of charge for those who have booked their stay online with us.

Our location is honestly advertised on our site and many choose our hotel just because is not right in town and close to the train station in order to reach Sorrento in 10 minutes, Pompeii in 20 minutes and Naples in 45/50 mins. We are not in charge of the taxi costs unfortunately.

I'm sorry to say that you were not right about our table tennis which is made of concrete and cannot be rusty!! When guests wish to play they just need to ask reception for the net,bats and balls.

We honestly find your complain quite disappointing as we do strive to make our best. You also seem to complain about things all guests are informed with a form we hand in when checking in.

Hoping you had a safe journey back home
Kind Regards
Mr L. Dell'Amura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Moon Valley for seven nights, with Travel Department group. Food was not the worst I've had but not the best either, room was nice but shower could do with an upgrade, I had a room to the front with a lovely view of the mountains, yes the sea view would have been nice too but wasn't paying €120 for the privilege. If you're planning on staying here but not on an all-inclusive basis I would suggest paying for the drinks package as spirits and wine can be on the expensive side, Ciro at the bar expects exact change or charge it to your room but he pours a very generous G&T! The WiFi is hit and miss but at €5 for 24 hours of usage it's worth a go. The location is quite remote, apart from a Tobacconist and Pizza place there really is nothing else to do in the area, not the hotels fault and on a positive note it is only a couple of train stops from Sorrento and Pompei from the local station - tickets can be purchased at hotel reception.

Room Tip: Single rooms only have a "Juliet" balcony are a bit on the small side but doubles/twin are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Owner at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello!

We were very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay at Grand Hotel Moon Valley.
We do our best to improve our service and to adjust to different needs of our international guests.

Thank you very much for your time!
Kind Regards
Mr Luigi Dell'Amura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just returned from a fortnight all inclusive in July/Aug 2014 at this Hotel via Thomas Cook. First year as all inclusive and a couple of really minor things to improve on - the 'snacks' and 'ice cream' by the pool, though these did improve a bit as soon as the rep was made aware of the situation, plus the coffee in the lounge is very disappointing given you are in Italy - powdered instant - Yuk!! If you want a proper coffee you have to pay which did grate a bit. So, what were the downsides? 1. Rubbish wifi, though seems to be quite common from other establishments where we experienced similar issues during our holiday, and to be fair a full refund of the €5 charge is offered if you ask at reception. Also, to clear the issue of the wifi charge up, it is €5 per 24 hours of usage though these 24 hours are cumulative usage of wifi and not €5 per 24 hours you are there. There is a desk top computer round the corner from reception that you can use if the wifi is down. 2. Location is not really near much so you will need to either walk to the station and get the train (about 5 mins down to the station and approx double that back up the hill in the heat) though this in itself is quite entertaining as the platform is on a high bridge over an intersection so you can look down at the ensuing traffic chaos as cars ignore the 'no left turn' sign - good fun!, or get the free daily hotel shuttle into Sorrento. It is under 10 mins by train to Sorrento, about 20 mins to Pompeii and 45 mins to Naples. Trains run generally twice and hour each way, so not a bad compromise, and rail travel is ridiculously cheap - about £1 each way to Sorrento and £3 each way to Naples! 3. Snacks and ice cream could be better organised and more freely available. So the plus points: 1. Whilst not what we were expecting, actually found the food to be really good authentic Italian - you wont like it if you want pie and chips for tea or everything presented just so, but dishes were varied, tasty and there was plenty of it, my Italian wife also agreed!. If you do not like what is on the menu just ask for something that you would like instead and they will oblige if at all possible. It would perhaps have been nice to have a salad bar/fruit bar but there were always bowls of fresh fruit available. 2. the staff are all friendly, understanding and willing to help and the restaurant and bar staff (especially Carmine, Luigi and Ciro) went out of their way to make our stay more pleasant. 3. The pool area is great, with a large main pool and good sized 'baby' pool. Plenty of sun beds and plenty of shade when it got too hot. There is a pool bar serving drinks pretty much all day and never found the choice of drinks restricting on the all inclusive package. 4. Our rooms were spotless and the beds extremely comfortable. 5. In spite of location point above, the Hotel is actually generally well placed to visit many attractions 6. Views are incredible, with Vesuveus in the distance, the sea, Naples, the bay and amazing sunsets. There are actually 2 roof terraces if you take the lift to the 4th floor and you have an amazing view of the sunset from here. 7. There was entertainment probably 5 out of 7 nights, plus the advantage of having a front row seat to at least 5 wedding celebrations in the time we were there. 8. The Hotel provide towels for around the pool, a real bonus. Don't expect fluffly towels in the ensuites though, as you will not get them, you will get Italian thin cotton towels instead, totally adequate for the job in hand and not sure why some reviewers have made this an issue as you are after all in a foreign country. 9. Entire hotel building air conditioned and double glazed balcony doors kept virtually all road noise out, though the few rooms above the pool and bar probably heard a bit more. So, on balance, if you go here expecting an Italian experience in a wonderful location with great staff you will have an amazing time. If you want to experience home abroad then you may not enjoy it as much. We will most certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the pool - 121,122,221,222,321 and 322. The best rooms are those facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Owner at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello!
We appreciate a lot your time spent for your review.
Your comments are precious to us in order to know how to improve at the best. We hope the downsides you found didn't spoil your stay that much as our staff works very hard to make our guests' time as enjoyable as possible.
We are sorry about the internet connection: we did have some problems in the area that we couldn't help.
Our staff from reception always tries to sort things out when possible.

Hoping to see you again at grand Hotel Moon Valley
Kind Regards
Mr L. Dell'Amura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed in this hotel June 2014 with the group of Trafalgar tour. Room was small but clean. Beds are comfy. Our room just above the lobby balcony which we only got to see the flags (not good). Tried to ask the receptionist to move us t different room but failed due to high occupancy .

Huge swimming pool with great panoramic of the mountain and bay of naples. Hangout at the bar by the pool in the evening with great wines and friends. Beautiful view again in the evening.

Breakfast was great. Love the local fresh fruits. They are so fresh, crunchy and sweet. Especially the apricots.

There are some local pizzeria restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Owner at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review!
Our guests's opinion matters to us in order to give you the best service possible.

We are sorry to hear about the impossibility to move you into a different room, we were full at the time but we are very happy to hear you had a lovely stay though.

Hoping to see you again
Best Regards
Mr Luigi Dell'Amura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Moon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Address: Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moon Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Moon Valley is the perfect place to celebrate an important event, to spend a relaxing holiday immersed in the Sorrento Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Moon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Hotel Moon Valley Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Moon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.