We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Moon Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I would like to leave a brief review to praise both the Travel Department and the hotel; I think some of the comments paint a picture that certainly put me off before I went but we were pleasantly surprised. My party just had a fantastic break at the hotel 2nd week of October.
We are a couple in the 35-45 age bracket. We flew from Scotland to join family who travelled from Ireland. We then joined their group. The trips included were fantastic, (particularly the full day Amalfi coast tour, when we had glorious weather and a delicious lunch in a lovely restaurant opposite Ravello). Our guide on all the excursions was Diago and I think everyone would have agreed he was a brilliant personality.

The Amalfi coast is expensive; I feel for the money paid, to get your flights, transfers, 3 full day trips, 2 complimentary coaches to take you into Sorrento by day and one night after dinner; and then 7 nights half board is actually incredible value. The hotel was very enjoyable with nice bar areas and a 5* pool area. Sitting outside, even for a drink in the evening, the view is spectacular and you could pay £100’s for it alone .All rooms have spacious balcony’s so if you don’t mind not having the sea view it’s still very pleasant.

Much of the food was genuinely Italian (particularly the pasta, risotto and the huge platters of additional vegetables that were provided each night with dinner). If you had a pasta starter, then a fish/meat main and took the extra vegetable (several types changing daily and including squash, artichoke heart, courgette, ratatouille, carrot) you got a satisfying meal. There was a different type of pasta each night (including a lovey mushroom risotto and very good gnocchi) and also different fish/meat/dessert each night. were also bread rolls, olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

At breakfast I’d say the tinned fruit plates look poor, but there were delicious roast tomatoes; eggs, bread rolls and some fresh fruit as well as some meats, (hot and cold), cheese, cereal. Better bread, fresh fruit salad, thinner cheese would be nice but again, for the money it has enough. I’m not even going to bother with any negatives as although at the time there might have been small things I’d comment on, overall it was great and you forget these little things.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback. Thank you for the specific comments on the food. We are pleased that you were able to say that the experience exceeded the expectations that some of the ratings had created. We take the comments seriously and seek to make improvements wherever possible. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Arriverderci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    115
    62
    15
    5
See reviews for
38
132
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday at the Hotel Moon Valley. We were absolutely delighted
with this hotel and would strongly recommend it. My husband and I were travelling independently
and really wanted a hotel, outside Sorrento, which was peaceful and relaxing, but still accessible
to visit places of interest. If this is what you want, this hotel is perfect. It is 5 mins walk from Seano station which has a frequent service into Sorrento,, Pompei, Herculaneum, Naples etc. The hotel also has a minibus,( with an extremely helpful driver, Franco, ) which takes guests to the station and places of interest.
Our room was superb;extremely clean, with a balcony with the most amazing view over the
Bay of Naples towards Vesuvius. We loved to see the sparkling lights of the fishing boats at night and the churches lit up, chiming the hour.The location is perfect is you want to explore the
local area. There is a lovely beach ten minutes down the hill, with several restaurants and bars.We spent last Sunday watching the fishermen mend their nets and then went for a lovely walk along the beach. It was so peaceful and beautiful.
We stayed B&B at the Moon Valley. There is a family run restaurant across the road from the hotel which is worth a visit. Another wonderful point, is the swimming pool. There are very few places with a pool with such gorgeous views and so tranquil.
The town Seiano, near Vico Equense, is a very quiet place and possibly not for those who want to be at the centre of everything. However, if you do not want to be in the middle of Sorrento, which is hectic, commercial and far too touristy, then give this hotel a go .You can still access everything without being trapped in the tourist system.
We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: A sea view with a balcony is a must. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond and rate our hotel. We are extremely pleased to have reached our goal of giving you a positive experience. We are happy that our staff was attentive to your needs and are so glad that you are planning to come again. We'll do our best to give you another experience to remember.

Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, Berwickshire
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our Hotel - Grand Hotel Moon Valley was excellent,- staff (restaurant and otherwise) were friendly, helpful and efficient. Hotel was very clean, comfortable and welcoming, food was good and varied to all tastes. We travelled with "Tavel Department", good value for money and several "extra" little additions to our various inclusive trips. Many thanks to all who made our holiday so enjoyable. Marianne Morrison

Room Tip: We did not have a room overlooking the sea but our rn-suite room was excellent and of reasonable siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks, Marianne for your warm remarks. We are very pleased when we know that we have reached our goal of giving our guests a positive experience. We hope to see you again!

Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I don't know what the grumbles are about. Part way through a fortnight here with Saga.
Very nice hotel with kind and helpful staff- cant fault them. Food ok, Saga rep hard- working and helpful.
Even the weather has taken a turn for the better!
Nesta

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and were able to leave with some happy memories.

Many thanks for offering to recommend us to others and we hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is not ideally situated unless you are prepared to wait for trains that are rarely on time and subject to lightening strikes (no, not strikes of lightening rather the train company personnel calling a strike at the drop of a hat !). Apart from the military run hotel restaurant the nearest restaurants include the local Pizzeria a short walk away, another nearby hotel with odd admission policies and even more odd opening times or the treacherous downhill walk to the beach and the Marina where there are one or two seemingly nice places to eat and drink. Be warned though, however excited you might be to test your fitness by taking this walk "on the right hand side of the tobacconists", you will most definitely regret it if you decide to walk back the way you came down - only murderous !!!! The beach (if you could call it that) itself is always overcrowded, I mean OVER crowded and the only place to rest was on a concrete pathway - yet, this was the closest point to the rocky and dangerous entrance to the water. The hotel itself has seen better days but its jewel in the crown has to be the pool area which was a joy to experience. We found the bar staff very friendly - apart from one individual who would rather produce an indignant stare than to try to understand what it was you wanted. We found the staff in reception rude and tricky down to fruitless attempts to have us upgrade our rooms at incredulous rates just to get a sea view - the same views, if you go Travel Department, are available at much more reasonable rates organised directly with your holiday rep. We ordered two mixed salad sandwitches in the hotel restaurant at lunchtime - they would not accept cash payment and insisted that our bill be charged to be settled on departure (this appears to be a common trait for all purchases in the hotel) - again be warned ! - they looked for €12.50 for the two sandwitches which I refused to pay. We did enjoy the planned excursions though and the fabulous tour guides who saved the holiday - afterall, you go to Sorrento for the sites and the experience - dont miss Pompeii or Capri - these are our lasting memories which were indeed GRAND.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms over the canopy to the hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I must admit that after reading the title, I expected a harsher rating. Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our hotel staff, and the pool, and we were able to get away with some happy memories from that sites that you visited.

Regarding the prices of the food, we make menus available for our guests convenience. We are sorry if you were surprised by your experience as we open to helping our guests to choose the foods they prefer. We would prefer to have high ratings in all categories, but appreciate you opinion as it will help us to improve our service. We hope that you will give us another chance at a future time.

Arriverderci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a beautiful hotel with stunning views. The staff were lovely and were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was average in size, really comfy bed with nice quality sheets.Our shower was not great but did the job and there was plenty of clean towels and sheets during our week stay. Did notice however that plug points and remote control were really dusty, and whoever painted the room must have been in a hurry as bits had been missed and room paint had not been wiped off the door frame. Shame. Only ate in hotel once at night and also had a lunch but it was not verygood. Had some lovely meals at Mustapha's,great fish, pizza and pastas-the kind of good food you would hope to try in Italy. This restaurant was down at the marina and was a good 20 minute walk downhill from our hotel but well worth it. Also the Pizzeria
3 minutes from the hotel was very reasonable and the food is good and surprisingly cheap.
Probably the biggest problem with our hotel was the isolation, the train station 5min away but we waited over an hour a few times to travel the 15minutes into Sorrento. Vico Equense was a 30 minute walk along a busy road that did not have apavement all the way and was unlit at night.
Our hotel seemed to be geared for coach parties as breakfast was finished at 9.15 and dinner was at 7.30 and you needed to place you order for the following nights dinner.WHY?
We thought booking with The Travel Department was a good way of seeing Sorrento and without any hassle of having to book our own trips as they were included in the deal. It was only when we arrived in Italy we were told earliest trip meant breakfast at 6.45am with a departure at7.30, if we had known this we would not have gone. This was not a holiday but a lesson on doing your research first because like us, you might feel you are left in the back of beyond and everyone has gone to bed.

Room Tip: ask for sea view although road can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our hotel, in particular the views and the staff. You might imagine that we are very pleased to give our guests a close-up view of the sea and Vesuvius, though we understand that required you to make longer trips to get to the sites you visited. We hope that you will give us another chance at a future time.

Arriverderci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just back from a wonderful holiday spent on the Sorrento coast .As my partner is half Italian we decided to do it indepentely and I dont regret it.
The hotel we chose, the Grand Hotel Moonvalley, had many different reviews but we decided to go with the good ones and I'm glad we did! The position is excellent, five mins walk to the local train station leading you into Sorrento or Pompei/Naples. The hotel also runs a courtesy bus back and from the station, just need to ask at reception. Franco Arpino one of the receptionists was always very helpful and Luigi, the manager & owner,well, nothing was too much for him! The Rooms are basic but very well maintained. The linens used are very Italian, Made of beautiful pure linen and the sizes are extremely big The pool area is the most stunning part of the hotel. Two beautiful pools overlooking one of the most spectacular views Of the bay of Naples. There's an on pool restaurant/bar where on several occasions we had drinks and food, I really reccomend the Spaghetti alle vongole (clams)..delicious! I can't comment on the evening meals as we nevere had dinner there but on reccomendation of Franco we went to The Pizza a Metro down in town in Vico Equense, owned by the same family and we had the most supreme pizza ever!...you order your pizza by the meter. I woud really reccomend this hotel to anybody and as a tip when travelling to Italy, when you either can't find or see something ....just ask!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We wish that all of our reviews were this positive, and are very pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! We try to give our customers a good experience, as much as is possible for us to serve them so your remarks are encouraging and motivate us to continue to do our best for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Arriverderci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Moon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Address: Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moon Valley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Moon Valley is the perfect place to celebrate an important event, to spend a relaxing holiday immersed in the Sorrento Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hotel Moon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Hotel Moon Valley Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Moon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.