We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Sorrento, Italy, October 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Moon Valley to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Duns, Berwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit to Sorrento, Italy, October 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our Hotel - Grand Hotel Moon Valley was excellent,- staff (restaurant and otherwise) were friendly, helpful and efficient. Hotel was very clean, comfortable and welcoming, food was good and varied to all tastes. We travelled with "Tavel Department", good value for money and several "extra" little additions to our various inclusive trips. Many thanks to all who made our holiday so enjoyable. Marianne Morrison

Room Tip: We did not have a room overlooking the sea but our rn-suite room was excellent and of reasonable siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks, Marianne for your warm remarks. We are very pleased when we know that we have reached our goal of giving our guests a positive experience. We hope to see you again!

Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    164
    90
    26
    8
See reviews for
71
198
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I don't know what the grumbles are about. Part way through a fortnight here with Saga.
Very nice hotel with kind and helpful staff- cant fault them. Food ok, Saga rep hard- working and helpful.
Even the weather has taken a turn for the better!
Nesta

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and were able to leave with some happy memories.

Many thanks for offering to recommend us to others and we hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is not ideally situated unless you are prepared to wait for trains that are rarely on time and subject to lightening strikes (no, not strikes of lightening rather the train company personnel calling a strike at the drop of a hat !). Apart from the military run hotel restaurant the nearest restaurants include the local Pizzeria a short walk away, another nearby hotel with odd admission policies and even more odd opening times or the treacherous downhill walk to the beach and the Marina where there are one or two seemingly nice places to eat and drink. Be warned though, however excited you might be to test your fitness by taking this walk "on the right hand side of the tobacconists", you will most definitely regret it if you decide to walk back the way you came down - only murderous !!!! The beach (if you could call it that) itself is always overcrowded, I mean OVER crowded and the only place to rest was on a concrete pathway - yet, this was the closest point to the rocky and dangerous entrance to the water. The hotel itself has seen better days but its jewel in the crown has to be the pool area which was a joy to experience. We found the bar staff very friendly - apart from one individual who would rather produce an indignant stare than to try to understand what it was you wanted. We found the staff in reception rude and tricky down to fruitless attempts to have us upgrade our rooms at incredulous rates just to get a sea view - the same views, if you go Travel Department, are available at much more reasonable rates organised directly with your holiday rep. We ordered two mixed salad sandwitches in the hotel restaurant at lunchtime - they would not accept cash payment and insisted that our bill be charged to be settled on departure (this appears to be a common trait for all purchases in the hotel) - again be warned ! - they looked for €12.50 for the two sandwitches which I refused to pay. We did enjoy the planned excursions though and the fabulous tour guides who saved the holiday - afterall, you go to Sorrento for the sites and the experience - dont miss Pompeii or Capri - these are our lasting memories which were indeed GRAND.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms over the canopy to the hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I must admit that after reading the title, I expected a harsher rating. Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our hotel staff, and the pool, and we were able to get away with some happy memories from that sites that you visited.

Regarding the prices of the food, we make menus available for our guests convenience. We are sorry if you were surprised by your experience as we open to helping our guests to choose the foods they prefer. We would prefer to have high ratings in all categories, but appreciate you opinion as it will help us to improve our service. We hope that you will give us another chance at a future time.

Arriverderci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a beautiful hotel with stunning views. The staff were lovely and were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was average in size, really comfy bed with nice quality sheets.Our shower was not great but did the job and there was plenty of clean towels and sheets during our week stay. Did notice however that plug points and remote control were really dusty, and whoever painted the room must have been in a hurry as bits had been missed and room paint had not been wiped off the door frame. Shame. Only ate in hotel once at night and also had a lunch but it was not verygood. Had some lovely meals at Mustapha's,great fish, pizza and pastas-the kind of good food you would hope to try in Italy. This restaurant was down at the marina and was a good 20 minute walk downhill from our hotel but well worth it. Also the Pizzeria
3 minutes from the hotel was very reasonable and the food is good and surprisingly cheap.
Probably the biggest problem with our hotel was the isolation, the train station 5min away but we waited over an hour a few times to travel the 15minutes into Sorrento. Vico Equense was a 30 minute walk along a busy road that did not have apavement all the way and was unlit at night.
Our hotel seemed to be geared for coach parties as breakfast was finished at 9.15 and dinner was at 7.30 and you needed to place you order for the following nights dinner.WHY?
We thought booking with The Travel Department was a good way of seeing Sorrento and without any hassle of having to book our own trips as they were included in the deal. It was only when we arrived in Italy we were told earliest trip meant breakfast at 6.45am with a departure at7.30, if we had known this we would not have gone. This was not a holiday but a lesson on doing your research first because like us, you might feel you are left in the back of beyond and everyone has gone to bed.

Room Tip: ask for sea view although road can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our hotel, in particular the views and the staff. You might imagine that we are very pleased to give our guests a close-up view of the sea and Vesuvius, though we understand that required you to make longer trips to get to the sites you visited. We hope that you will give us another chance at a future time.

Arriverderci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just back from a wonderful holiday spent on the Sorrento coast .As my partner is half Italian we decided to do it indepentely and I dont regret it.
The hotel we chose, the Grand Hotel Moonvalley, had many different reviews but we decided to go with the good ones and I'm glad we did! The position is excellent, five mins walk to the local train station leading you into Sorrento or Pompei/Naples. The hotel also runs a courtesy bus back and from the station, just need to ask at reception. Franco Arpino one of the receptionists was always very helpful and Luigi, the manager & owner,well, nothing was too much for him! The Rooms are basic but very well maintained. The linens used are very Italian, Made of beautiful pure linen and the sizes are extremely big The pool area is the most stunning part of the hotel. Two beautiful pools overlooking one of the most spectacular views Of the bay of Naples. There's an on pool restaurant/bar where on several occasions we had drinks and food, I really reccomend the Spaghetti alle vongole (clams)..delicious! I can't comment on the evening meals as we nevere had dinner there but on reccomendation of Franco we went to The Pizza a Metro down in town in Vico Equense, owned by the same family and we had the most supreme pizza ever!...you order your pizza by the meter. I woud really reccomend this hotel to anybody and as a tip when travelling to Italy, when you either can't find or see something ....just ask!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We wish that all of our reviews were this positive, and are very pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! We try to give our customers a good experience, as much as is possible for us to serve them so your remarks are encouraging and motivate us to continue to do our best for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Arriverderci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Think twice about booking with SAGA at the Moon Valley Hotel I felt as though I was being treated as a second class client. The holiday isn, t cheap, you are paying for a four star which only equates to a two star.The rep had no customer respect or interest in our concerns, she was confrontational, dismissive and aggressive in response, makes promises and then denies them. Single travellers be aware of the accommadation you are booking, the single rooms are very small and the balcony is approx 12 inches wide. Saga lounge was closed many times for weddings Andrews other celebrations.The dining room was oppressive and dark , food had to be ordered the day before which was bland and cold, I requested salads which were provided, Saga guests were not allowed to eat outside but other guests were. The pizza evening was a joke, the hotel wanted guests away to cater for the weddings.The hotel was clean and most of the staff were pleasant and the views are very good.The road noise and amount of traffic was horrific. This Saga holiday was very disappointing and did not live up to expectations.

Room Tip: All rooms are noisey but the sea views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback. I am not sure if your rating is of our hotel, or of the travel agency.

Regarding the food, I accept your opinion. It sounds like the kitchen responded to your requests for a salad. I would like to clarify that the pizza night was not intended as a way of moving our guests. Rather, we were hoping to give you a special taste of the pizza in its birthplace. We're sorry if you felt like this detracted from your stay here.

We would prefer to have high ratings in all categories, but appreciate you opinion as it will help us to improve our service. We hope that you will give us another chance at a future time.

Arriverderci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruden Bay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

5 star pool
4 star public areas
3 star food
2 star bedroom
1 star meal service

As said by most previous contributors this hotel does not deserve to be graded as 4 star. The bedrooms are badly needing refurbished and modernised, especially the shower rooms. The bed was comfortable and clean but that was the only redeeming feature of the room apart from the magnificent sea view which we paid extra for and didn't regret. The furniture was old, poor quality and mismatched. Only three very small drawers. The safe in the room was charged at €15 per week which was ridiculous. I've never paid for a room safe before. Wifi was more reasonably priced at €5 for 24 hours but the usage could be spread over the week.

Meals were well cooked but the service was appalling. We had to eat at 7.30 each night and never left the table before 9.15pm. Despite having chosen our two courses the night before and no choice for dessert, the wait each evening was totally unacceptable. No explanations were given for the delays. Breakfasts were adequate. Free tea and coffee was available but often there was no milk or clean cups.

The redeeming feature of this hotel is its pool and surrounding area. I think this is the best pool I have been in for size and cleanliness. Plenty of loungers and umbrellas with superb views over the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius.

Location was ideal for bus trips and the station was very close by, but dangerous otherwise because of its location on a very busy, bendy road with a narrow pavement and no crossing nearby.

We travelled withTravel Department for the first time and if this is their idea of a 4star hotel it will probably be our last.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our hotel, and the pool, and we were able to get away with some happy memories.

I accept your opinion, but it's hard to please everyone. In particular, mealtimes in southern Italy begin later and take longer. We're not known for "fast food". In any case, we hope that this was an isolated incident as our wait staff seeks to be attentive to the needs of our guests.

We would prefer to have high ratings in all categories, but appreciate you opinion as it will help us to improve our service. We hope that you will give us another chance at a future time.

Arriverderci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vico Equense
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.4 mi away
Resort Le Axidie
Resort Le Axidie
#17 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Barbara
Hotel Torre Barbara
#5 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
#14 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Moon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Address: Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moon Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Moon Valley is the perfect place to celebrate an important event, to spend a relaxing holiday immersed in the Sorrento Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Moon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Hotel Moon Valley Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Moon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.