We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel with 5 star pool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Moon Valley to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Bray, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“3 star hotel with 5 star pool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just come back from a week in the Moon Valley Hotel. The rooms were basic but very clean and the towels were changed daily. The food was simple but adequate, no four star by any means but not the worst I have encountered. I have to say though they brought out a great selection of vegetables to supplement the meal. There is a lovely Pizzeria down the hill on the left hand side. It looks nothing from the outside but it is incredible value and a lovely bottle of wine for a fiver!! The location of the hotel is good, 10 minutes to the train station leading to Sorrento and Naples. We were with the Travel Department so as usual we got to see everything of interest anyway. Staff were friendly and courteous. The Pool is what makes this hotel, It is modern, clean and with spectacular views. Poolside bar, a little expensive but with the little pizzeria down the road we didn't mind. Lovely to sit out after our meal in the warm evening air by the pool! I would recommend this hotel, just don't expect the food to be gourmet! Having said that we had a wonderful holiday with many happy memories!

Room Tip: A sea view room would be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and were able to leave with some happy memories. We recognize that we do not offer a gourmet menu. Ours seeks to be typical cuisine of our area. Regarding the prices of our bar, we seek to regulate our prices with the overall service that we offer. However, we appreciate your thought and will keep it in consideration.

Many thanks for offering to recommend us to others and we hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    139
    73
    22
    6
See reviews for
53
167
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from a week here. The rooms were basic but very clean and the pool area was lovely. Imagine it was a very upper class hotel in days gone by. Food not special but everyone did their best to help you. Was a way from Sorrento but the train only took 10 minutes from down the road so you could reach most places. The trip was with Travel Department who we had never heard of but would go with them again as the trips included were really good.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 2 overlooking the bay and the road but did not find it that noisy at night and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us.

I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services and felt that this was a good value. As you can imagine, we are very proud of our pool so we are glad that you enjoyed it, too.

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We travelled with The Travel Department and spent a week here in mid July. There isn't one thing about this hotel that I could fault. The room was basic but very clean with quiet air conditioning. The food was flawless - simple,well cooked and plentiful. The pool is 5 star standard and the gardens are perfect for a morning stroll.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the train station. There is a village just across the street with a pizzeria,supermarket, church... The hotel also offers a free shuttle service to Vico Equense and the nearby beach.

It's a family run hotel and the staff were excellent. Friendly, helpful and attentive.

I would come back to this hotel as an independent traveller. Such a haven of tranquility with great transport links to the rest of the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us. We are excited to hear that you had such a great experience with us!

I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services and in particular to hear your positive feedback regarding our staff, how much you enjoyed your meals and even our gardens!

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

stayed at this hotel earlier this month and while the hotel is very good with a beautiful pool area, the food in the restaurant is atrocious. Veal is Veal is Veal so stop calling it chicken or pork.the staff are friendly but the management could try to interact with their guests more. Entertainment in the hotel is practically non-existent but the pool is beautiful and the setting magical

The location of the hotel is not great with very limited facilities around. However it is near a train station with regular access to Sorrento, Naples and further afield. It is halfway between Sorrento and Naples and well placed for visits to the surrounding sights without the traffic problems associated with travelling from Sorrento every day. The nearby beach is poor and the walk down is tough but then the coastline is cliff based.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us. We respect your opinion regarding our food, but we can guarantee you that we cannot call "veal" something else like "chicken".

Regarding our location, as you observed, the hotel is situated overlooking the sea. For this reason, we attempt to assist our guests in reaching their destinations, but if you have any specific suggestions for improving, we would appreciate them.

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just back from a week away in the Grand Hotel Moon Valley with the Travel Department. Although this Hotel is not in Sorrento it is a little piece of heaven and close to the train if you want to head into town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There are beautiful views of the valley and the bay from the dining room, the bar and especially the pool which is amazing! The room had a sea view and balcony and although the room itself was basic, it was clean and fresh towels were provided every day. We spent a lot of time on the balcony soaking up the bay of Naples and Vesuvius and watching the world go by on the road below and the traffic never bothered us at night. The air conditioning was perfect, not too noisy. The food was good Italian, not too fancy but cooked perfectly and there was plenty of it. I'd go again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: If you would like a sea view it's worth the extra but the views at the back were also lovely of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services.

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was good in its day, but not now!! It felt like a compound. Nothing has been updated in years. The pool is nice and the view is amazing. It's is isolated and no where around to eat. It was so institutional feeling. The staff were friendly but nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important to us. We are proud of our pool, and we're glad that you enjoyed it as well.

We are disappointed that your experience was not completely positive. We seek to be clear about our location, and we have clients that choose us because we are not in a busy center. If you have any specific suggestions for improving our communication or other aspects of our structure, we would appreciate hearing them.

We hope to have your as our guests another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here during a Trafalgar trip and were wonderfully surprised at this Hotel and the view from outside. The rooms were pleasant and roomy and the outdoor pool was very nice, especially because we were there in the middle of summer. We had a wonderful dinner there and after sat around the pool with drinks. We mentioned that it would be nice to have some music and the manager went out of his way and arranged a musician to come straight over and play some wonderful Italian music. We had a great time singing along. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The view from the pool area was breathtaking. You could see the ocean on one side, the mountains on the other and Mt. Vesuvius in between. We took so many photos and have framed them all onto our wall. Just Beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important to us. We are happy that you had a great experience with us. That is our goal.

We are proud of our pool, and we're glad that you enjoyed it as well as the local music.

We hope to have your as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Moon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Address: Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moon Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Moon Valley is the perfect place to celebrate an important event, to spend a relaxing holiday immersed in the Sorrento Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Moon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Hotel Moon Valley Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Moon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.