We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Moon Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We travelled with The Travel Department and spent a week here in mid July. There isn't one thing about this hotel that I could fault. The room was basic but very clean with quiet air conditioning. The food was flawless - simple,well cooked and plentiful. The pool is 5 star standard and the gardens are perfect for a morning stroll.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the train station. There is a village just across the street with a pizzeria,supermarket, church... The hotel also offers a free shuttle service to Vico Equense and the nearby beach.

It's a family run hotel and the staff were excellent. Friendly, helpful and attentive.

I would come back to this hotel as an independent traveller. Such a haven of tranquility with great transport links to the rest of the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us. We are excited to hear that you had such a great experience with us!

I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services and in particular to hear your positive feedback regarding our staff, how much you enjoyed your meals and even our gardens!

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    111
    61
    14
    5
See reviews for
35
128
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

stayed at this hotel earlier this month and while the hotel is very good with a beautiful pool area, the food in the restaurant is atrocious. Veal is Veal is Veal so stop calling it chicken or pork.the staff are friendly but the management could try to interact with their guests more. Entertainment in the hotel is practically non-existent but the pool is beautiful and the setting magical

The location of the hotel is not great with very limited facilities around. However it is near a train station with regular access to Sorrento, Naples and further afield. It is halfway between Sorrento and Naples and well placed for visits to the surrounding sights without the traffic problems associated with travelling from Sorrento every day. The nearby beach is poor and the walk down is tough but then the coastline is cliff based.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us. We respect your opinion regarding our food, but we can guarantee you that we cannot call "veal" something else like "chicken".

Regarding our location, as you observed, the hotel is situated overlooking the sea. For this reason, we attempt to assist our guests in reaching their destinations, but if you have any specific suggestions for improving, we would appreciate them.

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just back from a week away in the Grand Hotel Moon Valley with the Travel Department. Although this Hotel is not in Sorrento it is a little piece of heaven and close to the train if you want to head into town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There are beautiful views of the valley and the bay from the dining room, the bar and especially the pool which is amazing! The room had a sea view and balcony and although the room itself was basic, it was clean and fresh towels were provided every day. We spent a lot of time on the balcony soaking up the bay of Naples and Vesuvius and watching the world go by on the road below and the traffic never bothered us at night. The air conditioning was perfect, not too noisy. The food was good Italian, not too fancy but cooked perfectly and there was plenty of it. I'd go again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: If you would like a sea view it's worth the extra but the views at the back were also lovely of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services.

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was good in its day, but not now!! It felt like a compound. Nothing has been updated in years. The pool is nice and the view is amazing. It's is isolated and no where around to eat. It was so institutional feeling. The staff were friendly but nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important to us. We are proud of our pool, and we're glad that you enjoyed it as well.

We are disappointed that your experience was not completely positive. We seek to be clear about our location, and we have clients that choose us because we are not in a busy center. If you have any specific suggestions for improving our communication or other aspects of our structure, we would appreciate hearing them.

We hope to have your as our guests another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here during a Trafalgar trip and were wonderfully surprised at this Hotel and the view from outside. The rooms were pleasant and roomy and the outdoor pool was very nice, especially because we were there in the middle of summer. We had a wonderful dinner there and after sat around the pool with drinks. We mentioned that it would be nice to have some music and the manager went out of his way and arranged a musician to come straight over and play some wonderful Italian music. We had a great time singing along. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The view from the pool area was breathtaking. You could see the ocean on one side, the mountains on the other and Mt. Vesuvius in between. We took so many photos and have framed them all onto our wall. Just Beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important to us. We are happy that you had a great experience with us. That is our goal.

We are proud of our pool, and we're glad that you enjoyed it as well as the local music.

We hope to have your as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius, and a fantastic pool area. I couldn't fault my room with a superb sea view, a very comfortable bed and perfect air-conditioning. The staff were friendly and helpful; service was prompt and efficient. Travel Department are very organised but why are guests corralled onto 'Travel Department' tables at breakfast and put in an entirely different room for dinner? I don't want to be herded this way on holiday and haven't experienced this on any other tour-based holiday.
There is no doubt the holiday is good value for money, though the dining room was hot, stuffy and not a particularly pleasant venue. It was a pity, given that the doors opened onto a terrace with outside tables; this would have been a much nicer option. Also the coffee was not just bad but truly awful - inexcusable in Italy of all places. The food was fine overall, though - pretty good I thought, though not especially memorable.
I liked the fact the hotel was out of Sorrento. It was very easy to get to (10 minutes on the train) but being out of town meant it felt removed from the bustle, which suited me. Yes there is some traffic noise but the main problem is it makes it difficult to cross; I didn't find it a problem when it came to sleeping or sitting on the balcony. Also nearby there are a few shops which are very handy for buying drinks and food, and a good cafe up the road.
As other people have commented, Diego, the tour guide, was a one-off: very funny much of the time and flexible enough to accommodate everyone's needs - not necessarily easy in a varied group.
Would I recommend the holiday? Yes there is so much to see in this part of Italy, though this could probably be done fairly easily independently too. Would I recommend the hotel? The pool, yes; the room, yes; the staff, yes. The food and dining room less so.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important to us. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the attentiveness of our staff, as well as our location and rooms. We are proud of our pool, and we're glad that you enjoyed it as well.

We are content that you were satisfied with the value of your stay. Typically, we have used the main dining hall for all of our meals, but this summer we wanted to try offering breakfast in one place and dinner in another, with a better view. The air conditioning in these rooms reflects our standards in southern Italy, but we understand that there are different preferences among our guests. Regarding the table selection, this year we did try to allow more freedom while continuing to assign sections in order to facilitate the division of space among our guests.

We appreciate your comments on the coffee, which is an Italian made with a drip system. We will consider your observations as they will allow us to improve our products in the future.

We hope to have you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am just back from a great holiday With travel department at this hotel. It was a clean, functional hotel with very friendly staff who made it a lovely place to stay. it is not Sorrento, but offers transfers there and is very close to the train station. There was a nice menu for dinner, my favourite was the cold plate at the pool the night we arrived. Maids kept towels and linens fresh and there was even dinner at a hotel in Sorrento one night which was a lovely touch. The pool are is super and there was a lovely atmosphere at the bar at night. There is a great little restaurant just down the road too. The rep was very nice and the tours were great, largely due to Diego, our larger than life guide who had us in stitches! Highly recommended trip.

Room Tip: Poolside quieter and best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review Your opinion is really important to us. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our various services- restaurant, cleaning and bar. In particular, thank you for mentioning the attentiveness of our staff. We are proud of our pool, and we're glad that you enjoyed it as well.

We hope to have your as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Moon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Address: Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moon Valley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Moon Valley is the perfect place to celebrate an important event, to spend a relaxing holiday immersed in the Sorrento Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Moon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Hotel Moon Valley Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Moon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.