We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Department holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Moon Valley to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Travel Department holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Unlike some of the other reviewers, we were with Travel Department, flying from Edinburgh and Dublin. We were on half board and did not seem to have the same menus as the Saga group for dinner, but the food was good. Breakfast was the same for all and was of a standard that I would expect from a 3 star hotel in Germany or Austria. The only complaint that we had about the meals was the length of time it took to be served - 2½ hours one night from starter to dessert. The last night was a lot quicker and they served a huge cake with the logos of the hotel and the Travel Department on it. The hotel was very clean and pleasing to look at and we had a room on the first floor overlooking the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Although we were right next to the busy road, we did not have any bother with the traffic noise. It was a bit scary walking down the road to the little supermarket or to the station at Seiano, and crossing the road needed nerves of steel! One day, we walked back from Vico Equense down the steps to the beach and along and up the steps again to Seiano, whew!!! Sore on the legs; not to be done if wet.
We did have cause to complain one night when there was a party of Italian teenagers in every other room on our floor. They were running up and down and there was a party in the room next to ours. The management were very good, but couldn't get the girls to answer the door and the teacher in charge had some difficulty too, but eventually 8 girls were evicted from the room leaving the 2 who were supposed to be there. It was quiet after that!
A number of our group had difficulties with the door locks, the type with a button on the top and a lever on the inside of the door and a key on the outside. We struggled for a while and the maid tried to help, then she called the maintenance man who said there was nothing wrong with it, it was us who weren’t using it properly. We thought we had mastered it for a while but it was never reliable to lock from the outside. I think the mechanism was very worn.
All the staff were very helpful and most spoke very good English, we even got a lift to the station the day the minibus was away to Sorrento. The swimming pool area was big with a separate changing block and loads of sunbeds and deck chairs with big parasols.
All in all, a nice hotel but not really suitable for those not too fit; because of the situation you couldn't go for a stroll at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your review, to know your opinion is really important to us.
I am glad that you enjoyed about our hotel and services, especially to hear your positive feedback regarding our staff.

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    138
    73
    22
    6
See reviews for
53
166
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We've recently returned from staying at the Grand Hotel Moon Valley and quickly came to the conclusion that this is not a 4 star hotel. They are obviously making efforts to update the swimming pool/outdoor area however the bedrooms and other areas are in need of complete refurbishment to bring them into the 21st century. The food was a hit or miss and I can't agree with a previous reviewer who said the vegetables were fresh and perfectly cooked. Overcooked maybe but not as they described. This hotel is in a very small village 8 miles from Sorrento therefore there is nothing to do in the evening outside the hotel. Also be aware that the hotel sits on a VERY busy road and if you are unlucky enough to get a room overlooking this you may not get much sleep. On a positive note I would add that the staff were friendly and helpful however this is not enough to encourage us to return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your review, to know your opinion is really important to us.

The pool is our pride. We really are a little late with the external areas. The winter has just ended was one of the rainiest of the last century. This has slowed the maintenance operations.
We worked hard a lot to make the swimming pool in time for the start of the tourist season.

Our rooms are standard and equipped with all modern comfort (air conditioning, mini bar, safe, LCD TV, etc.). Have undergone radical restructuring in 2001 (plants) and 2006 (furniture).

Around the kitchen than His judgment. Tastes are a personal liking !

We do not hide hotel location. Many people choose us because of the small afar by the largest and chaotic cities.

I am glad that you enjoyed your positive feedback regarding our staff.

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Velhota has given a very good description of a "Saga" stay at the hotel and I would not disagree with what has been written it is an accurate well thought out description.
The brochure does not make it clear but this hotel is located in the small viliage of Seiano.
Food is always a personal taste thing, you have to remember you are in a southern italian rustic cuisine area. The vegetables were sometimes a little overcooked for my taste and a lot of the meat options involve a escalope of one type or another. Sauces are not a feature of this area apart from strong lemon. Saga insist on potatoes with each main meal but there is a good choice of vegatables as V describes. Red and white wine available at each meal and plenty of choice in the bar.The ice cream is wonderful. Once a week you go to a good Pizza restaurant and once a week there is the 4 course Saga dinner. of Mixed meats, mussles and clams one week lasagne the other, chicken one week white fish the other and cake for desert.

Agnes the Saga representative here is very hard working, enthusiastic, a problem solver and personable. There is a large saga lounge and a film or an event of some some sort is arranged each evening if you wish to participate. Included trips worthwhile and despite the small party we did get to see the war graves at Cassino and had a great trip along the Amalfi Coast. As well as train to Sorrento, Pompei and Herculaneum we also went to Naples archaeological museum with no problem. You can also go at 10.50 from Vico for a circular bus ride into the hill and villages.

Traffic noise is the same front or back and we did not find it a problem. Hopefully you will have a room with a balcony, a few only have a french balcony. Saga provide a hotel shuttle bus to take you to Sorrento and Vico.We think you can ask to be taken to the station or back from it if shuttle bus is not in use.

Staff are very friendly and there to help you. Great display of old keys and radios. Great gardens and swimming pool (unheated). Pleasant bar area. Enough paths to go for a walk but it is fairly steep in this area and the road up the hill towards Arola has great views but no pavement. Not too steep to walk back from station or to Vico but steep to beach.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here and Saga offer good value. Sunshine helped but there should be plent of it in the months to come.

This is a genuine family hotel and the staff work hard to makde your stay a good one.

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a sea view, ask for a full balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your review, to know your opinion is really important to us.
I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services and in particular to hear your positive feedback regarding our staff.
I hope you will forgive some possible ineffectiveness.
We hock a lot to satisfy our guests, the thing is always difficult and we have not always successful.


Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently spent two weeks in this hotel, traveling with a Saga group. I was just delighted with Grand Hotel Moon Valley. This was largely due to the manner in which all associated with it seem to work together as a team - always ready to step in to see that whatever needs doing at any given moment is done. I saw a waiter bringing down suitcases, a van driver helping to set up umbrella tables, the
owner-manager preparing coffees in the bar. I felt that the hotel's wheels are kept turning by
mutual respect and a sense of common purpose.
The location is superb, with Naples, Sorrento, Pompeii, and Herculaneum easily accessible. Many rooms have views across the Bay of Naples to Naples itself, with Vesuvius looming overhead. The town of Vico Equense is within walking distance and is a charming blend of old and new.
I don't know what dining arrangements are offered to guests who are not members of a group; however, I believe that the buffet breakfast is available to all, whether at an additional charge or not. Hot dishes included scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, and grilled tomatoes. There were always freshly baked croissants and rolls and pastries, white and whole-grain bread for toasting, juices and fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cold meats and cheeses, and a large assortment of jams and marmalades.
As Saga guests are on a full-board basis, both lunch and dinner were provided. The food was almost always very good, sometimes excellent, and any culinary lapses were few and far between and usually a matter of individual taste. The pasta was outstanding, especially the ravioli with mushroom sauce and the lasagna with a bolognese sauce so good that one could eat it by the cupful. Vegetables were very fresh and perfectly cooked. Artichokes were in season during my stay and the little hearts were served quite often - a wonderful surprise. Local asparagus, dark green and as thin as a pencil, were also in season and made several appearances. Main courses usually included meat, fish or poultry, and vegetarian options. To complete the meals there were cakes or pastries, gelato (made on the premises), and fruit or cheese. Maître d'hôtel Luigi supervises his staff with a combination of firmness and kindness that seems to bring out the best in those who work under him.
At the end of my stay, I needed a taxi to take me from the hotel to Naples Airport. The driver that Franco in Reception arranged for me - Pasquale LaMura - was a perfect match for my temperament. He drove carefully, observed the speed limits, and did not attempt to pass every other vehicle on the road.
I want to thank Franco and all of his colleagues in Reception for their never-ending patience and helpfulness.
Would I recommend Grand Hotel Moon Valley? Well, if I could, I'd go back tomorrow...

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your review, to know your opinion is really important to us.
I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services and in particular to hear your positive feedback regarding our staff.
It is hard to find the correct words to thank you

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth,Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were tired & there you were .So easy to get to & to park.
The staff were very helpful & our room had a great view .It was very comfortable.
Would recommend the hotel to anyone.
Also my wife forgot an article in the closet.They have mailed it to us i Canada.Very much appreciated

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your review, to know your opinion is really important to us.
I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services and in particular to hear your positive feedback regarding our staff.

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hello, we just stayed 4 nights at this hotel.
We found it to be everything we wanted.
The view from our room of Vesuvious, Naples and Vico Equense was truly stunning.
The pool looked really nice, but unfortunately it was too cold for us to swim in, but that was the time of year and not the hotel's fault.
There were a lot of elderly people on Saga holidays, but they were very pleasant and the singing organised for them every night was a laugh.
The breakfast was not amazing, but there was a good choice and we didn't need to eat too much, however coffee was very good.
The staff were very accommodating and in particular we'd like to give a big thank you to Franco Piras on the fron desk who really went out of his way to help us.

Room Tip: Go to the top floor and chose a room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your review, to know your opinion is really important to us.
I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services and in particular to hear your positive feedback regarding our staff.
Franco Piras thank's you, because you listen his suggestion.

Many thanks and I hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester, W.Sx United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been to this hotel twice, travelling as part of a group. Very friendly staff, family run hotel, excellent food and nice atmosphere. Location close to train service extremely useful to enable you to visit many historical sites in the Naples area independently, the station is a 5 minute walk away.. Hotel provides local information and advice, and runs shuttle bus services.Beautiful view from rooms at the back of the hotel across the bay of Naples to Vesuvius, and from the front , looking south, to the mountains. We are in our 70's, and would go again.

Room Tip: Third floor, back of hotel overlooking Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
It was a pleasure to see you both again and thank you for your kind remarks.

We always appreciate feedback from our guests and as I am sure you are well aware sometimes the positive feedback is not as forthcoming as the negative!

We hope you do return again to see us and look forward to welcoming you both back here in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Moon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Address: Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moon Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Moon Valley is the perfect place to celebrate an important event, to spend a relaxing holiday immersed in the Sorrento Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Moon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Hotel Moon Valley Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Moon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.