We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful seaview” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Moon Valley to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful seaview”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week in May 2012, dinner bed & breakfast as a part of a package with The Travel Department.
The bed was bad, but rooms and common areas were clean and the seaview from the balcony to the bay of Naples is unforgettable.
Dinner was rather plain and nothing to look forward to, however the waiters and waitresses were efficient and professional. Outdoors there was a nice swimmingpool as well as a little garden. The trainstation was in ca.10 minutes walking distance, but there was also a shuttle service from the hotel and the trip to Sorrento took 8-10 minutes.
I would not recommend this hotel per se, but as a part of an otherwise well planned and rather reasonable package with The Travel Department I found it quite acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
  Thank you for your review.
To know the opinion of our guests is very very important.
I am sorry that you are not satisfate of your holiday in our hotel.
I hope to get you back as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    164
    90
    26
    8
See reviews for
71
198
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Came home today and feel the need to review. Went with travel department and would not recommend to anyone. The food is awful, it's tasteless and even the presentation is bad. Nothing to do in the area, there were two nights with someone playing guitar but could have done with entertainment every night.
Travel department really need to reconsider as I will not be recommending.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
  Thank you for your review.
To know the opinion of our guests is very important.
Honestly there is inconsistency between the judgment that you expresses about our hotel (Average) and your complains.
I respect your opinion. It would be more useful to know the reason for which considers the food awful.
Music is not there every night for observance of other customers
You will agree with me, in fact neither Travel Department or Hotel Moon Valley sold services other than those received. Probably has no real expectations generated.
The days that he stayed at here, in hotel she was even the presence of a person of Custom Care Travel Department. The same felt satisfying dinner served.

I hope to get you back as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

i stayed in this hotel on an evening meal bed and breackfast basis for 8 days in May 2012 as part of a package with The Travel Department.
The price of Snacks in upstairs bar expensive.
Hotel located away from beaches and town.(s)
No coffee making facilities in rooms.
Our room was noisy from street traffic and adjacent rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms to front of hotel very noisy from early morning traffic i.e. 05.30 onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
  Thank you for your review.
To know the opinion of our guests is very important.
Honestly there is inconsistency between the judgment that you expresses about our hotel (Very Good) and your complains.
I'm sorry that you think that a sandwich is expensive on our terrace overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. A sandwich with a beer costs $ 11.00 euros, service and taxes included.
The beach is 2 km far from the hotel and can be reached walking through a short cut or with bus. The shuttle service is available two days a week.
For logistical reasons there is no coffee in the room, so we don't communicate that service.
The hotel is situated in a great park near the road, generally we do not have problems.
I hope to get you back as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Spent a week in this hotel recently on a Travel Department trip. Rated a 4 star but found it very basic, The bedroom was small and cramped, basically furnished, no bath and no tea/coffee facilities. The only hot breakfast available for the entire week was scrambled egg (which was usually cold), bacon which was undercooked and strange looking sausages. Food in the evening was overcooked and pretty tasteless. The location of the hotel is isolated entailing a train journey to Sorrento itself (15 min walk to the railway station and trains erratic). The immediate area around the hotel offered no place to walk in the evenings, no entertainment and no attractive places to eat out. The outdoor pool area is very nice - the only available facility on offer. However, if the weather is not good enough to make use of this, there is nothing else available - no indoor or heated pool, spa or fitness centre. Very disappointing and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for the review. Know your opinion is very important for us.
I think that the time to write the final chapter of the story. There were discrediting the limit of decency, but we are not responsible for external causes.
Now we must be clear for everythings. You have paid approximately EUR 800.00 per person :
Flight To Dublin-Naples;
Transfer to airport/hotel;
Hotel half board for 7 days;
Musical entertainment for 5 nights;
Bus G.T. Available for 7 days;
Tourist Assistant and accompanist;
Excursion to Pompei/Vesuvius, Capri, Amalfi and Sorrento.
Who did sell you a hotel with heated indoor pool, SPA and fitness center?
I officially challenge you, to take take legal action about them. Will not do.
You had much more than what you bought!
If this budget is able to offer more and better, I would ask you to lend me a lesson in corporate organization.
I hope to get it back our guest as soon as possible, to get personally your apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skerries, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I decided to take an Easter break with the "Travel Department" an Irish Company providing guided holidays. We had always travelled independently up to this and undertook the trip with some trepiation.

We neeed not have worried, it worked out very well. We stayed in "The Grand Hotel Moon Valley" in the tiny village of Seiano, near Vico Equense. A nearby train connects with Sorrento and Naples.

The Grand Hotel was ideal for us, the bedroom was compact but adeququate for our needs. The bed was large and comfortable, with a locker on either side. The ensuite bathroom was bright, clean and although it did not have a bath the shower cubicle was largeand worked well.

The wardrobe had the rail running from back to front rather than from one side to the other and made using it a bit awkward. There was also a mini bar and a safe which costs 15 Euro a week to rent.

In the dining room you are seated at the same table with the same people each night. This could cause a problem, but not for us, we were with good company. You order your dinner for the next evening while at dinner. I could never remember what we had ordered the night before, and this led to mild confusion.

The food was excellent with a buffet of extra vegetables at dinner. Breakfast was buffet style and could be hot or continental as desired. The staff were friendly efficient and helpful, take a bow Luigi!

Was there a downside to this hotel? Yes, it was too far from every where to walk out at night, and there did not seem to be a taxi service. So you did feel rather trapped at night. Having said that the bar was good fun at night, with music and singing laid on most nights.

All in all we would stay in The Grand Hotel again, but would like to go out ocassionally at night.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Vesuvius were nicer but expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear guest,
we kindly thank you for your feedback.It's relevant to us to have a direct report about our services supplied.
Your review is the best response of the 3 previous reviews. All written by Irish customers were in Moon Valley by the same operator in different periods.
I hope to have you again in our hotel as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of a group witht he travel department from Ireland. This is not 4 star quality. The rooms were very small with very basic decor. Plastic containers as toothbrush holders/sheets as towels (although this is normal in Italy). Lobby area was cold and impersonal. The food was very basic in particular the breakfasts. The locaion is very bad for older folk as it is on a main busy road with sharp inclines and not good for walking. Most positive thing I could say is the pool area was very nice but unfortunately it rained the whole time we were there.

Overall we as friends hated the experience and most of the group shared our views.

The best thing i COULD SAY

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear guest,
we kindly thank you for your feedback. It's relevant to us to have a direct report about our services supplied. We are a standard 4 star hotel, and, on a great value to help our guests in our best offers, and to allow them to still travel on a excellent budget.
This is to us, in relation to the area you travelled into, the best special offer we could provide to a guest approaching this specific area. We understood that it all was extremely bad according to your feedback, and, we would be pleased to know in details what you'd change about services supplied to you.
I hope to have you again in our hotel as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Went with The Travel Dept. No heat even though is was lashing rain outside. We couldn't warm up.Poor quality food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Sir,
To have a guest's feedback is very important to us.
Certainly we are not responsible about the weather conditions.
We are sorry that you did not appreciate our food.
We would be pleased to know what we could improve about the food, according to your personal opinion.
I think this is related to the previous reviews.
I hope to have you again in our hotel as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vico Equense
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#8 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.4 mi away
Resort Le Axidie
Resort Le Axidie
#17 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Barbara
Hotel Torre Barbara
#5 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
#14 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Moon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Address: Corso Caulino 5 | Seiano Di Vico Equense, 5, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moon Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Moon Valley is the perfect place to celebrate an important event, to spend a relaxing holiday immersed in the Sorrento Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Moon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Hotel Moon Valley Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Moon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.