We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair hotel, off beaten track” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Vico Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Vico Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Vico Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gaetano Filangieri 22, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fair hotel, off beaten track”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My friends and I stayed for three nights at this hotel. It received a four star rating from Trip Advisor but I'm not sure how long ago that rating was given. The room was very small for three ladies and unfortunately our room overlooked the local train station and a service station, creating lots of noise. The hotel had a nice patio to sit on with a beautiful view but other than that, I would prefer to stay at another location. It is quite far from the center of Sorrento which we were not aware of. The host and very pleasant though and tried his best to accomodate us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
15
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed three nights here, and had a great time. This is a well-established local hotel, comfortable and with excellent breakfasts which will set you up for a busy day! Mimmo, Antonio and the staff are friendly, helpful and interesting to talk to. A real family feel, and perfectly located for the Sorrento/Naples railway. Lovely walk down to the sea; lovely climb back up...I'd recommend it to anyone visiting the Naples or Sorrento peninsular area. Vico Equense itself is a lovely little place, full of life (i.e. local families, youngsters etc) and good restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view. It's probably a bit noisier than other rooms (the street, but it really was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astoriavico, Direttore at Astoria Vico Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
I read your beautiful words and all of us are really full of happiness that our work has given to you a pleasant memory for all of us and our small hotel.

Hoping to see you soon, we send our warmest regards.
Mimmo & Co.
:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The main reason I chose this hotel was the location - right next to a little train station on the Circumvesuvia line, and with a beautiful view across the bay. I specifically requested a sea view room, and it was very nice. We were able to walk down the hillside to a little beach via a road that had great views all along the way.

The room was nice and clean, and was plenty large for us. The staff and owner were very friendly and suggested a great restaurant for us. Breakfast in the morning was a good way to start the day. We did have trouble working the AC controls, but the temperature wasn't a problem, so we didn't even ask about it.

I must also thank the owner Mimmo for being helpful before we even arrived. After checking over and over the train would be running between Naples and Vico Equense on 'May Day', the workers decided to strike. I was able to call the hotel and talk to Mimmo. He checked at the train station in Vico Equense, and confirmed for us that the train was not running as normal. In the end we got a taxi and were relieved to arrive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a wonderful week I had at this small friendly hotel in October 2012 (the wettest, but mildest month), where I felt so at home. I was travelling on my own, a woman of mature age. I felt safe and well cared for.
The staff were so helpful and friendly, and Mimmo and night staff very helpful and cheerful
The position perfect, magnificent view of Vesuvius and Bay of Naples from my room, terrace and breakfast room.
1 min from railway station to Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento, Herculaneum - and cheap.
2 min from friendly and helpful - and cheap - local shops and restaurants. Beach walk 10 min
A small friendly little town with a vibrant little town centre with cafés surrounding the fountain in the middle. Meals and drinks good, and good value.
So much more user-friendly than busy Sorrento, with most of the advantages.
I agree with all the excellent reviews below, except that one of 2011 that complains about the noise and lack of view. What did they expect for the cost?
The Astoria is a modest hotel, a spectacular view at no extra cost. (It was October when I went). Despite rain, the weather was always otherwise mild and sunny. Get booked quick !

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view. I did, and got a spectacular view at no extra cost (in October), although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome, italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

thanks to mimmo (the owner) wich will make your stay very memorable and happy. the staff is very kind and the hotel is very clean also the rooms are very nice with individual air conditioning and comfty.

Room Tip: central near patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed here in mid May 2012 for two nights. The hotel is very well maintained (I noticed a 2007 review which does not compare with what we experienced and should be ignored). There are several positive aspects of this hotel. Its proximity to the train station (next door); the fantastic view of the bay and Vesuvius (you have to request it) and Mimo, the owner, who is so gracious and helpful, and obviously loves all his visitors and takes care of them like family! Do ask him questions -- he has a wealth of knowledge of the town, can recommend excellent restaurants and can advise about the area in general. Make sure you try the hotel's homemade Lemoncello at their bar!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Let me say up-front that I didn't stay at this hotel. However I really wanted to post my thanks to the owner of the Astoria Vico hotel for being so fantastically helpful and kind to my friend and I. We were 'stranded' at the train station, as there was a problem with getting to the hotel we had booked and my friend was not well. Due to problems with phone lines, I was not able to contact my hotel or call for a taxi and having been stuck for some time, eventually I went into the Astoria Vico Hotel to ask for help. The owner was very kind and tried unsuccessfully to help us, encountering the same problems we had with the phones. Eventually, he left the reception desk and, apologising for the state of his car, put my friend and I and our heavy bags into his own car and drove us personally to where we needed to go. That is what I call really going out of the way to help - and for no gain for him as we were staying at a 'competitor' in the area. We were so lucky to come across such a great guy, who didn't hesitate to offer a 'random act of kindness' that I will long remember. Thank you very much once again Mr Astoria Vico Hotel! If this experience is any indication of the service and helpfulness of the staff then I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Vico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Vico Hotel

Address: Via Gaetano Filangieri 22, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Vico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Astoria Vico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astoria Vico
Astoria Vico Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Vico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.