We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Le Axidie

Save Saved
You added Resort Le Axidie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resort Le Axidie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marina di Equa, 80090 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments of this hotel for 5 nights in august. We’ve had a beautiful holiday. The room was tidy and even if the furnishing was essential there were all the facilities. The staff was very helpful and friendly and we have most appreciated the pool with sea water and the very good coffee. The hotel has is in a strategic place for visiting attraction nearby. Was very s not simple to find a location with private beach in a setting of lemon trees and flowers and have car parking too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    65
    23
    15
    12
See reviews for
52
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here. Our room was located about 3-5 min drive away from main reception. Although the location was nice, through vineyard, it was too far away from main reception and everything else for that matter. Just too quiet for my liking, some may want that though. Room smelt like windows hadn't been opened for a while. Cable TV and the view were my favorite things. The near by restaurants were great but you gad to drive there from our room (walking distance if you were staying near reception).

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of October 2013. The hotel is very difficult to find, although it didn't help that we arrived late evening after a long drive from Venice. However, we phoned the hotel who sent a mini bus out to rescue us from the nearby town. It might be difficult to stay here without transport, as it is not possible to walk to the town. There is a mini bus shuttle service, but this only runs once a day at 10.00 a.m. and returns about 4.00 p.m.

We booked a 2 bedroom garden apartment, which was quite a long walk from the hotel itself, along a poorly lit and uneven path. The apartment was very clean, but the mattresses were extremely uncomfortable and the kitchen was not very well equipped. The shower was just a trickle, almost no pressure. Because of the very high cliffs at the back of the site, the apartment was always gloomy with hardly any sunshine, so that sitting out on the patio for breakfast was not very attractive. The kettle did not work, and when we asked for a replacement we were offered a hair dryer as a consolation prize. Be aware that we had one of three apartments that were nearest to the hotel, all the other apartments were even further away and would be very difficult if you have young children or elderly relatives with you, as the paths and raised walkways are so slippery and uneven.

The main hotel itself is very nice, well furnished and modern. The breakfast room on the top floor is charming, with views of Vesuvius across the bay, and the self service breakfast is excellent with a good choice, plenty of fresh fruit and nice fresh bread. Good option at 8 euro. The elegant downstairs restaurant where dinner is served is also excellent; ask for the 25 euro tourist menu, choice of starters and main and dessert of the day, and very large portions! Beautifully cooked. The swimming pool area, with plenty of sun beds is nice, with view of Vesuvius, and the bar area has plenty of chairs and serves lunch, snacks and ice creams as well as drinks. However, the rest of the grounds seem to have really fallen into neglect, all the green areas are choked with weeds, railings are rusty and the whole site needs a good overhaul. It is also dangerous after dark, as there are uneven paths, ramps and very poor lighting. You should also be aware that there are 120+ parking spaces here, and people pay to come in for the day to use the facilities, so it is quite likely that you would find it hard to get a sun bed or a chair during the height of summer.

We visited Pompeii and Herculaneum, which are fairly close by, but we had a hire car - although we were quite surprised to survive in order to return to the UK as the driving here is an absolutely dreadful experience, chaotic and terrifying. There seems to be no system, just who can barge through first! We didn't see any traffic lights that worked.

You can get a boat trip to Capri from outside the hotel for the day, for 36 Euro each. Unfortunately it was raining heavily all day when we went, which spoiled the trip.

We didn't think the apartment was very good value for money, because of the isolated location, general dilapidated grounds and disappointing apartment, but accommodation is very expensive in Italy so perhaps it is good at the price for their standards?

Room Tip: If you want to stay in the garden apartments, ask for either 15, 16 or 18 (didn't manage to work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stood here for 3 nights in July 2013. Residence is located in grape valley, with tomatoes and apricot trees around it. It was 5-7 min from the reception. Residence had 2 entrance/exits which was rather comfortable for us. Very good cuisine in restaurant and bars on the territory! Lovely deep pool with sea water! But entry to the water on the sea beach was too rocky for us.

But there were strange noises at the early morning (like several canon shots in every 20-30 minutes). I was really frightened, what it was! Nobody had warned us, but it seemed to be usual thing for inhabitants.
And beach guy were too fussy about umbrellas and beach seats: we only come to the hotel beach to try water with our baby without any intention to use beach facilities, but they run to us and started to cry, that we should go to other place, that we don't have permission to use umbrellas and seats there. We were very surprised and answered that, first of all, we don't need umbrella and seats, second - using umbrellas and seats was included in the hotel price (receptionist had confirmed that). Very frustrating experience...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived expecting to stay just one night but stayed for 4.
We were a family traveling with a teenager and found the resort to be better than 1st appearance.
There were a lot of children in the resort but this was not a problem they mainly kept to the play area which could be noisy if you had a ground floor room.
We moved to one of the apartments after the first night of which I had my choice. Some were very small and close the the noisy public beach but the apartments in the vine area were very secluded and quiet with a great view across the bay of Naples. The apartment was adequately furnished but very rustic. No wifi in the apartments and generally the wifi was often slow.
Breakfast was not the best but the coffee was good though not hot. Shame to use Instant juice instead of the real thing when it is so readily available.
The staff were very helpful, restaurant staff a bit slow and forgetful.
We would go here again, the price was ok compared to the local tourist resorts. Had a very Italian holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms, apartment was best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently stayed two weeks here in the Red Rosa apartment and had a wonderful time. The apartment had everything we needed. The grill and washing machine were pleasant surprises. The staff is very friendly and very willing to help with anything you might need or questions you might have. The grounds of the hotel complex are amazing, there are flowers everywhere, vineyards and lemon trees and the ocean on one side and the cliffs to the other. There is limited shopping by the hotel but enough to get what you need and if you can't find what you need the free shuttle service will take you to town to the grocery store. There are small cafe's right outside the hotel with good food and of course wine. This is a great location to take day trips from as the Circumvesuviana is not far and very cheap. If you decided to rent a car instead of using the Circumvesuviana parking at the resort is free. The beach is clean and nice with beach chairs and umbrella's provided. I had a wonderful time and I would definitely return and want to thank the staff for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in the Graden Residence apartments rather than the hotel itself, and it's wonderful. To get to the apartments it's a fabulous walk through the vineyards and lemon trees.
The service from all at reception was superb, they were so accomodating and nothing was too much trouble.
The location is quiet and yes it's not remotely in the centre of Vico, however this was never an issue due to the FREE transfer service provided by the hotel (even picking us up from the supermarket on request!). So location is all about the gorgeous uninterrupted view across the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. there's a good sized pool and enough beach to lay out on, a couple of restaurants/cafes & bars in the immediate vicinity, a Tabacchi in the back of the restaurant next door and even a shop (for all the basics) in the camping site a few doors down. The closest stop for the Circumvesuviana is literally at the top of the road (Seiano).
Even my 11 year old nephew loved it!

If there was anything I could comment on even slightly negatively, it would be the mattresses in the apartments. We all slept through the week, but it wasn't the most comfortable as some (not all) of the mattresses certainly need replacing.

Over all it's a big thumbs up to all at Le Axidie, and thank you for a fabulous stay, we hope to see you again in the future.

Room Tip: We tried out apartments 9 and 14, both have a sea view terrace. If you have younger children then I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Le Axidie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Le Axidie

Address: Marina di Equa, 80090 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#8 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Le Axidie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a one of the finest views of the Sorrento Peninsula, Vico Equense Axidie Resort offers accommodations to suit every need. Rooms and Residence characteristic Mediterranean style are just a few steps from the beach, with a beautiful view of the Gulf of Naples, and in the typical coastal vegetation, including citrus groves and vineyards. At guests' disposal: a swimming pool overlooking the sea, a beautiful terrace with a bar and snack bar, fitness center, tennis courts and soccer. The Restaurant Punta Scutolo serves Mediterranean cuisine, with an eye for innovation and openness to international cuisine. Special attention is given to children, with entertainment services and special menus. The hotel Le Axidie has ample free parking and shuttle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Resort Le Axidie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Axidie
Resort Le Axidie Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Le Axidie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.