We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mega Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mega Mare to your Saves list
Hotel Mega Mare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Caulino (SS. 145) Punta Scutolo, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

6 nights with family of 5, a good location for exploring the ruins and the other coastal resorts. It's a clean bed and breakfast, traditionally styled but has a family feel about the place. All the staff were helpful, the owner fixed a broken €1 colosseum that my son dropped,which made his day. There was a simple breakfast buffet on offer mainly croissants. The view is scarily stunning, the pool was clean, as were all areas, and well maintained. For a 3 star hotel it offers very good value for money in this area. It was great for the family and we really enjoyed our stay! The owner recommended a local restaurant, who collected and returned us from the hotel, the meal was very enjoyable. The wifi was better than most hotels I have stayed in. This hotel could really stand out with a couple of touches : pool towels / sun lounger cushion big mirrors, or some art to soften the aesthetics in rooms and the pool stayed open for that extra hour.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    135
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
173
428
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa District, Israel
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and had a great & unforgetable vacation.
The hotel is located in an excelent point for traveling the Amalfi coast. The rooms are very clean and all of them have a terrace with an amazing view of the penissula. The breakfast was fine.
The staff was very helpful and above all the owner Mr. Mariano was great.
He treated us as if we're part of his family and took care for all our needs.
We highly reccomend this hotel for a vacation in south of Italy.

Deni & Sam

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I truly have only good things to say about Hotel Mega Mare. Designed in good taste, the hotel is well kept and suits the romantic nature of the Sorrentino Peninsula. The room was nice and clean with an amazing terrace view to relax while watching the beautiful sunsets. Whether the lobby, the breakfeast lounge, the communal terrace or the pool overlooking the bay - all public areas were comfortable and lovely to stay at, relaxing and great fun for the kids. The quiet hotel is perfectly located and easily accessible. Yet my kindest words I wish to save for the staff and its excellent service. The kindness and friendliness was just overwhelming. We felt like visiting family members who sincerely cared for our welfare and at the same time respected our privacy. Rarely does one meet a manager like Marianno who cares for each guest so wholeheartedly with elegance, dignity and respect. I recommend Hotel Mega Mare dearly and entirely.

Room Tip: The main attraction is the view of the bay. All rooms and communal areas are facing the bay so any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Each room offers a spectacular view of the sea, the coastline, and the isle of Capri! The owner, Mariano, is friendly and helpful. Price is excellent and includes breakfast and wifi in public areas, and free parking. By car you have easy access to Sorrento, Positano, and the Amalfi coast. Mega Mare is very tranquil and beats the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. AOur family has enjoyed many wonderful vacations here over the years.

Room Tip: All rooms have a breathtaking view with the upper floor my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It's difficult to have an opinion of Megamare.
On the one hand the hotel is dated, on the other hand the service is optimal.
Rooms are sober, 'altmodisch' but clean. Bathroom is basic. Swimming pool is opened from 11 till 19 u. (after a trip to Napoli or Amalfi Coast ... no refreshing swim!) In the room you can hear the neighbours in the bathroom :-(
The view is stunning. They advise good restaurants (sometimes with pickup-service).

For me this hotel is ok for a few nights. We prefer a little more comfort.
But ... for the price you got value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The best view, the location is excellent, The staff is very nice a specially Mr Mriano the owner, he help us every time and have grate tips. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, the pool is great with nice view, the breakfast is great. Nothing bad to say about the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days on our honeymoon. Lots of pros and cons....Pros: the view was absolutely stunning!!!!!!! Mariano the owner was also very helpful in getting taxis, responding to emails, giving dinner recommendations, and answering all my travel suggestions. The pool area and outdoor space is beautifully manicured! The price is right. Everything seemed clean. Cons: it is very difficult to find taxis, so if you don't have a car you are basically screwed. The view is great but the hotel is situated cliff side. Therefore you are not city center and far away from everything. There is no sidewalk to walk up and down to town on. We did it, and when buses came we had to lean against the mountain to avoid being hit!!! You have little to no control over your air conditioning. We had to call the front office whenever we wanted our air turned on and every night at 2am the air was turned off!!! Not ok for me!! There are no pool towels- you have to use the bathroom towels or bring your own. The bathroom towels---definitely more like a piece of thin tablecloth.
They only had 3 options of sandwiches/snacks you could buy at the pool, even though there was a huge menu. The 2 we tried were awful! It often smelled like smoke in the hallways.Suggestions: the rooms, lobby, and bathrooms are in serious need of a makeover. The beds were something my great great great grandmother probably slept on. Everything is very old. The barriers between people's balcony was very short. I'm only 5'1' and I could see what my neighbors were doing over the "privacy screen". We were the only Americans there. This place seemed perfect for local Italians having a vacation but we felt out of place. Especially not having a car-we were trapped and felt like we were inconveniencing Mariano with all our needs. One time at breakfast a waiter was passing out doughnuts and passed them to ever table except us :( My advice to other Americans is to stay in the town of Sorrento. We took a day trip there and there were plenty of hotels and everything was within walking distance. I would have paid more to have all those conveniences and a more updated hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Mega Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mega Mare

Address: Corso Caulino (SS. 145) Punta Scutolo, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mega Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mega Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mega Mare Hotel
Hotel Mega Mare Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mega Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.