We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place - great place to escape - 5*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Save Saved
You added Capo La Gala Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capo La Gala Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
Wiltshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place - great place to escape - 5*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Lovely, contemporary boutique hotel about 10 mins on local train from Sorrento. We went early in the season so it was pretty quiet and the pool wasn't yet open (although we knew this in advance). Staff could not do enough for us. Michelin-starred restaurant was superb. In April'10 they were almost finished building their spa area which will no doubt be of the same high standard as the rest of the hotel. Views from the rooms or indeed most places in the hotel were straight out to sea so the hotel was a quiet, peaceful place to unwind.
Only downside was location: if you don't have a car, it's on the outskirts of the town about 15 mins walk from the train station along a busy road with occasional sections of pavement - we tried it only once and definitely wouldn't do it after dark. The hotel kindly offers a free transfer to and from the station and issues a timetable of pickup times so time your arrival back to the station from Sorrento, etc, carefully to coincide. Since it was early in the season, we were very lucky to just be able to call the hotel whenever we were at the station and they sent someone to pick us up straight away. I suspect this wouldn't be possible when the hotel is full.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    25
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
157
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I must admit I was wary when I first booked but I can't recommend the hotel and staff enough. Yes it's pricey and the main let down was the pool was so cool while we where therer it is a fresh water pool. BUT all in all we had a great time, great service, wonderful breakfast, and the maitre di was great- for the first time we allowed him to choose our meal and wine, and it was trully memorable. The excursions around to capri, Pompeii and and the amalfi coast was the icing on the cake! Word of advice go to the local trattoria just opposit the station one stop on from VE as the owner gave us a lift and we tried his food and it was well worth it. Also the pizza a metro is an experience just don't expect the attention or level of service as CDG but its the local spot and it's good!! We had a great time and only wish I was back there xx

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon, rooms pretty average however location and hotel restaurant with seriously stunning views made up for it.. easy access to Sorrento/Pompeii with local train station just a short stroll up the hill, hotel provide transfer on-demand into Vico (dont miss the pizza's in the pizza school in the village...you wont eat for a week afterwards!!) Only issue with hotel was the number of local weddings (5!!) that took place the week we were there, by the end of it we were truly wedding-ed out!! Watch out for the G&T measures, pretty lethal!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

This review is slightly delayed having returned to the UK on 29/09/09 from what can only be described as one of the best holidays we've ever taken.

The charming Capo la Gala is built into the cliffs of Vico Equense and is every bit as breathtaking as you would imagine. Links to Sorrento are quick and easy by train with the lovely reception staff providing a complimentary shuttle service in one of the hotel vehicles both to and from the local train station. A one day trip was all that was required to also take in both Vesuvius and Pompeii due to the ideal location of this hotel.

The rooms are beautifully decorated in a unique style with a nautical theme running through the decor of the entire hotel. The attention to detail and cleanliness throughout is faultless.

We are glowing in our praise of Capo la Gala as a hotel but our experience was heightened even more by the incredible Maxi Restaurant. Having heard some of the stunning reviews about the food at Capo la Gala we decided to take advantage of the Kuoni half board package deal. Talk about value for money. But this was not just about cost.

Being a pair of foody geeks we would say that this restaurant is more than worthy of a coveted Michelin Star. What struck us was the incredible talent on display from all the restaurant staff....they are not only knowledgable about food but are multilingual, polite, provide superb service and are tolerant of what we observed to be some very rude customers. We would recommend engaging with the staff at every opportunity. They love having you in their restaurant and sharing with you the delights that their head chef has to offer. A conversation with our Maitre'd Costanzo Cacace (a thoroughly outstanding professional with a warm welcoming personality) revealed that prior to joining the team here he had been Maitre'd at a 3 Michelin starred restaurant elsewhere in Italy. He has clearly embedded his high standards in his current team and it is without doubt they will be the proud possessors of a well deserved star in the not too distant future.

We have never felt the urge to return to a holiday destination previously but Capo la Gala may very well prove to be an exception to this rule, even if only for a long weekend of peace, quiet and very fine food!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed in the hotel as part of our honeymoon. On arrival we were met by the porter who parked our car, the receptionist brought us to our upgraded room (i mentioned when booking that we would be on honeymoon, we paid for a standard room but they upgraded us free of charge to a private terraced room) we were delivered a complimentary bottle of champagne to the room along with our bags, this was all within 5 mins of arriving! The room was perfect with amazing views. Was cleaned twice a day. The staff were so friendly and helpfull. Like others have said there was 2 weddings on during our stay, we enjoyed listening to the music and having a nose from our terrace.
The restaurant is mainly sea food and quite expensive so we ate out in sorrento which is about a 15 min drive away. The pool area is lovely, shame there is not a decent snack bar. The lunch menu is limited and expensive. All in all a fab hotel for a quiet romantic holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Booked through Kuoni, with a reduced tarrif, turned out to be very good value for money. Flight with BA from Gatwick was good, although even a short journey can be spoiled with the person in front of you reclining their seat!. We had a private transfer as part of the kuoni deal, but this was discounted as well, so the driver meeting us at the airport, and then a merc car to wisc us away to the hotel was very relaxing and a brilliant start to the holiday. after an early flight, we arrived at Cap La Gala by lunch time, and were really impressed. Literally built into the hillside, with a lift to save to the walk up & down. The whole hotel looked the subject of a very recent refurbishment, with good quality "designer" furniture and B&O hi-fi in public areas etc. plenty of different areas to sit and admire the view. The room was brilliant. make sure you get the superior room with it's own sundeck/balcony. You can spend your whole holiday sitting here, with a 2 minute walk to the restaurant & bar. room was very well equiped with SKY TV (Extra for the premium channels) and unlimited broadband PC through the TV. Bathrooms are excellent - Villeroy & Boch fittings, all to a very high standard. Rooms were cleaned when we were at breakfast, and then "turned down" and re-claened when we were at dinner. Whilst there were suposedly a number of restaurant/snack bar areas, only the main area was open for all meals, but this was no hardship as eating on the terrace looking out to sea was fabulous.
food was of a very high standard, but with only say 5/6 choices, we found it a bit repetitive after 7 days. we had half board, but going again, we would just have B&B and eat out more. Food was a bit expensive (starters & pasta courses 20E mains 30E and deserts 15E) lunches were 12/15E. the wine list was very extensive, but cheapest bottles 28E. all very good standard though.
service was excellent, very attentive and friendly.
The "Beach" area did get busy at some times, when the "Public" swelled numbers. but you were alsways looked after if you needed a sunbed. the locals were very interesting to look at anyhow.

really a lovely location, views out to see were fabulous. We used the local train to go to Sorrento and Pompei. this was cheap & efficient, but very hot! thoroughly recommend the hotel & location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Some things you should know about:

- Some of the rooms are close to the high way. Noice and shaking in the middle of the night as a result. Ask for room far away from the road.The rooms are also have very different standard at the same rate so be specific when you book.
- The SPA that they write about on the website is not yet ready. Treatment are offered in another facility that is of low standard.
- The beach area and the pool is also rented out for the public and during the weekend it is very crowded and noicy. Kids and familys playing at the pool and people everywhere.
- 2 out of 4 noghts when we visited Capo La Gala the hotel arranged a weeding and a birthday party which ment that the partyoccupied a lot of the nice public areas where you wanted to have a drink or just sit and relax.

When we complained about this to the staff they offered nothing in return. To bad because the hotel could be very nice, Acctually wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#5 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 22 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo La Gala Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo La Gala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.