We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Save Saved
You added Capo La Gala Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capo La Gala Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Upon arriving we were treated with nothing but kindness and excellent service, the staff were more than happy to help. We stayed in an amazing room, with a large balcony overlooking the water. We were given an upgrade to a room with a private jacuzzi on the balcony near the end of our stay, which was wonderful. The rooms were spotless, as were the rest of the grounds and spa. The breakfasts were delicious every morning, enjoying a coffee overlooking the sea. The Spa Aquarium is very relaxing, the warm indoor pool is a treat, as the outdoor pool is not heated! Dinner at Maxi is a must, and especially recommend the chef's tasting menu. The free shuttle to Vico Equense is a nice touch, we went in for pizza a few nights. Can't say enough nice things about the staff, very friendly and accommodating. The free wi-fi in room and around the resort was nice to have as well. Would love to go back!

Room Tip: Room 209, has a private jacuzzi overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    25
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
157
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just stayed 3 nights at Capo la Gala and it did not dissappoint in any way . Got the train from Naples (what an experience , no issues with beggars or pickpockets at all and at €5 each it is a bargain ). The welcome from the receptionsits was fantastic , they had given us an upgrade which always pleases , the room itself was perfect , clean and functional but the view is to die for. It was their last weekend of the season but the service levels were fantastic , the waiters at breakfats, lunch and dinner were very attentive without being over keen , they all made recommendtaions on the food and wine which shows they really know their stuff .Miguel the head bar man kept us with drinks throughout the day and was able to give us the full background on all the wine and drink we had .
We did day trip's to Sorrento ( which is about 30 minutes in a cab ) Capri and Herculaneum all are very nice and set up for tourists but it was an absolute pleasure to get back to Capo la Gala to watch the sun set have a dip in the pool ( which was cold but that is the point it is mountain fed and is meant to be bracing and refreshing ) .
This was true 5 star service without the stuffiness /arrogance that 5 star hotels can sometimes have .
It is the perfect place for a break of a few days

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great hotel on the coast which helps keep the temperature a little cooler. Very friendly staff and hotel is kept immaculately clean.

There is a shuttle taxi free of charge to the main town and the drop off is close to the train station as well. Very useful.

Restaurant is good, however check up on your order if there is wedding as that can sometimes slow service.

There is a spa there and it is very good - they should market that more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veghel, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spend a week in this hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful and on a fabulous location and has a wonderful well equipped Spa Aquarium. The kind therapist was very experienced, I had the best massage ever (and a had a lot before).
If you visit this hotel I can recommend her anti-stress massage, you will feel reborn !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was the last of four hotels we visited in a multi-destination tour of the coast. Unlike most other luxury hotels on the Amalfi coast it's located right down by the sea instead of nestling high on a cliff. That's a major advantage, and the gently lapping waves just below our balcony provided a stunning backdrop as well as a lovely aural accompaniment. Unfortunately, though, while it's possible to swim directly from the hotel's own terrace, there are no other facilities whatsoever, no boat or pedalo or the like and not even masks and snorkels with which to explore the interesting-looking rocks. We were quite envious of the several other snorkellers who appeared during the course of the day, having swum in from other bays. The decking by the pool is reasonably attractive, but we were unimpressed by the bare concrete of the rest of the sun terrace, and the awkward arrangement of loungers, placed sideways to keep them out of the way of the route from the pool and the beach restaurant.

The general nautical theme is reflected in the hotel's attractive navy and white decor. Our room was compact but stylish and well-furnished, and enhanced with a huge floor-to-ceiling mirror which made it seem twice as big as it was. A nice bright bathroom as well, well-appointed apart from cheap plastic cups, each hygienically sealed in its own plastic bag, but so flimsy that they break when you try to extract them. Our balcony offered a lovely view of the sea, but limited privacy. The terraces are divided from one another by a semi-opaque canvas screen stretching from head height to knee level, so you'll quickly get to recognise your neighbours by their silhouettes, feet and lower legs! The main restaurant was of a high standard, but not perhaps quite as high as the chef and staff clearly considered it to be. The food was very good but a touch pretentious and - meat lovers beware - with a menu heavily biased towards seafood. Breakfast was fine, despite a limited buffet selection, and light lunch at the beach-side restaurant was also good.

For variety, we made a sortie into the main town of Vico Equense for dinner, but it was pretty grim. The two restaurants suggested by reception - Terramia and Pizza al Metro (literally pizza by the metre) - were very uninspiring, cavernous but both deserted at 8.30pm. Instead we fled back to the hotel for a fussy but high quality dinner in considerably more attractive surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Capo La Gala has a lovely setting and is built into the rocks. We spent a week in the hotel and it's a good location for touring the Amalfi coast, visiting Pompei, Herculaneum, Vesuvius and Naples but you definitely need a car. There is no beach, only ladders going directly into the sea. The water in the swimming pool was very cold.

The rooms are nicely decorated but not sound proof and we were awakened a couple of times by Italian guests coming home in the middle of the night talking loudly. We had a superior room and can only agree with some of the other comments that the terrace is very disappointing as you are only separated from your neighbours by a semi-transparent screen and the terrace is very small with no privacy.

The restaurant is excellent but we didn't want to eat gourmet food every night and there is no alternative in the hotel. The hotel runs a shuttle to the town of Vico Equense but it is not too attractive so one has to go to Sorrento.

The staff were very freindly and efficient and Michele the barman was absolutely amazing. He makes wonderful cocktails and all his suggestions were really delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for him even when the hotel was really busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We came across this place by chance while trying to find a 'nice' restaurant which was open at the beginning of June.
What a find. A lovely, small, intimate hotel with a fabulous restaurant.
Excellent service, attentive staff without being intrusive and the food was excellent. We would definitely recommend the restaurant. Based on our experience we are planning a trip to stay in the hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#5 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 22 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo La Gala Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo La Gala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.