We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Save Saved
You added Capo La Gala Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capo La Gala Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
Veghel, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wonderful week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spend a week in this hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful and on a fabulous location and has a wonderful well equipped Spa Aquarium. The kind therapist was very experienced, I had the best massage ever (and a had a lot before).
If you visit this hotel I can recommend her anti-stress massage, you will feel reborn !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    25
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
161
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was the last of four hotels we visited in a multi-destination tour of the coast. Unlike most other luxury hotels on the Amalfi coast it's located right down by the sea instead of nestling high on a cliff. That's a major advantage, and the gently lapping waves just below our balcony provided a stunning backdrop as well as a lovely aural accompaniment. Unfortunately, though, while it's possible to swim directly from the hotel's own terrace, there are no other facilities whatsoever, no boat or pedalo or the like and not even masks and snorkels with which to explore the interesting-looking rocks. We were quite envious of the several other snorkellers who appeared during the course of the day, having swum in from other bays. The decking by the pool is reasonably attractive, but we were unimpressed by the bare concrete of the rest of the sun terrace, and the awkward arrangement of loungers, placed sideways to keep them out of the way of the route from the pool and the beach restaurant.

The general nautical theme is reflected in the hotel's attractive navy and white decor. Our room was compact but stylish and well-furnished, and enhanced with a huge floor-to-ceiling mirror which made it seem twice as big as it was. A nice bright bathroom as well, well-appointed apart from cheap plastic cups, each hygienically sealed in its own plastic bag, but so flimsy that they break when you try to extract them. Our balcony offered a lovely view of the sea, but limited privacy. The terraces are divided from one another by a semi-opaque canvas screen stretching from head height to knee level, so you'll quickly get to recognise your neighbours by their silhouettes, feet and lower legs! The main restaurant was of a high standard, but not perhaps quite as high as the chef and staff clearly considered it to be. The food was very good but a touch pretentious and - meat lovers beware - with a menu heavily biased towards seafood. Breakfast was fine, despite a limited buffet selection, and light lunch at the beach-side restaurant was also good.

For variety, we made a sortie into the main town of Vico Equense for dinner, but it was pretty grim. The two restaurants suggested by reception - Terramia and Pizza al Metro (literally pizza by the metre) - were very uninspiring, cavernous but both deserted at 8.30pm. Instead we fled back to the hotel for a fussy but high quality dinner in considerably more attractive surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Capo La Gala has a lovely setting and is built into the rocks. We spent a week in the hotel and it's a good location for touring the Amalfi coast, visiting Pompei, Herculaneum, Vesuvius and Naples but you definitely need a car. There is no beach, only ladders going directly into the sea. The water in the swimming pool was very cold.

The rooms are nicely decorated but not sound proof and we were awakened a couple of times by Italian guests coming home in the middle of the night talking loudly. We had a superior room and can only agree with some of the other comments that the terrace is very disappointing as you are only separated from your neighbours by a semi-transparent screen and the terrace is very small with no privacy.

The restaurant is excellent but we didn't want to eat gourmet food every night and there is no alternative in the hotel. The hotel runs a shuttle to the town of Vico Equense but it is not too attractive so one has to go to Sorrento.

The staff were very freindly and efficient and Michele the barman was absolutely amazing. He makes wonderful cocktails and all his suggestions were really delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for him even when the hotel was really busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We came across this place by chance while trying to find a 'nice' restaurant which was open at the beginning of June.
What a find. A lovely, small, intimate hotel with a fabulous restaurant.
Excellent service, attentive staff without being intrusive and the food was excellent. We would definitely recommend the restaurant. Based on our experience we are planning a trip to stay in the hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated between the nice Sorrento and the industrial Pompeii!

The sea is of good quality, nearly as good as on the Amalfi Coast, but not as good as! The stairs into water are dangerous and there are stones everywhere, so do not jump into the sea! The guy on the beach wanted to give us wet deckchairs and he only through the towels on the chairs, he did not prepare the chairs!

At arrival, the pool looked not very good and showed some dirt on the top, it is because it is no floating pool! The Jacuzzi is the same - everything looks not inviting! The spa is very nice, but the female spa staff is not that nice - she did not gave us more than one towel and we were not aloud to watch TV - we asked us why it is here if we cannot use it?

To be honest, there was also a great part of the hotel more than good: Let's start with the breakfast which was nice and of good quality! The service was also nice at the breakfast!

Furthermore the room was nice and bright, the bathroom had a bath/tub combination with Jacuzzi function, and small Etro Palais Jamais toiletries, as well as an open wardrobe!

They also have a shuttle service which runs whenever you want, just call them and they pick you up!

The best of the stay were the super-friendly front desk girls! One did gave us an excellent restaurant recommendaton and she even called every department to get me the unique Lorenzo Villoresi toiletires! Actually they have Carthusia or Etro! I am so sorry for forgetting the names but you were all great!! This one of the best and most personal front desk staff we have ever met!

For further information and comlete addresses visit my blog:
www.travelexecutive.blogspot.com

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed the second time et Capo la Gala for one week in august and we couldn't imagine a better place for relaxing. The whole hotel is just beautiful, every detail is thought, from the rooms to the candles they light up every night everywhere. And the staff is so friendly and warm, that you can easily get a 'reality shock' getting out of the Hotel and eating in other restaurants etc...
Food is really great from the breakfast buffet over Nerea Beach Restaurant to the wonderful Maxi Restaurant.
But definitively the best Point is hearing the sea all night while sleeping!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you can afford it, go here. Our room overlooked the ocean and this is one of the few hotels in the area where you can walk to the pool and jump in the ocean for a nice swim. The food is amazing. You will not be disappointed. They will drive you to town (2 minute drive, but not walkable due to the mountains) and pick you up at your leisure. The town is quite nice, but we found it hard to leave this restful, beautiful hotel with it's five star service. The spa here is also tranquil and worth going to. Our expectations in every area: service, view, luxury, and food - were surpassed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#4 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 22 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo La Gala Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo La Gala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.