We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Capo La Gala Hotel to your Saves list
Capo La Gala Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We came across this place by chance while trying to find a 'nice' restaurant which was open at the beginning of June.
What a find. A lovely, small, intimate hotel with a fabulous restaurant.
Excellent service, attentive staff without being intrusive and the food was excellent. We would definitely recommend the restaurant. Based on our experience we are planning a trip to stay in the hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    26
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
172
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated between the nice Sorrento and the industrial Pompeii!

The sea is of good quality, nearly as good as on the Amalfi Coast, but not as good as! The stairs into water are dangerous and there are stones everywhere, so do not jump into the sea! The guy on the beach wanted to give us wet deckchairs and he only through the towels on the chairs, he did not prepare the chairs!

At arrival, the pool looked not very good and showed some dirt on the top, it is because it is no floating pool! The Jacuzzi is the same - everything looks not inviting! The spa is very nice, but the female spa staff is not that nice - she did not gave us more than one towel and we were not aloud to watch TV - we asked us why it is here if we cannot use it?

To be honest, there was also a great part of the hotel more than good: Let's start with the breakfast which was nice and of good quality! The service was also nice at the breakfast!

Furthermore the room was nice and bright, the bathroom had a bath/tub combination with Jacuzzi function, and small Etro Palais Jamais toiletries, as well as an open wardrobe!

They also have a shuttle service which runs whenever you want, just call them and they pick you up!

The best of the stay were the super-friendly front desk girls! One did gave us an excellent restaurant recommendaton and she even called every department to get me the unique Lorenzo Villoresi toiletires! Actually they have Carthusia or Etro! I am so sorry for forgetting the names but you were all great!! This one of the best and most personal front desk staff we have ever met!

For further information and comlete addresses visit my blog:
www.travelexecutive.blogspot.com

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed the second time et Capo la Gala for one week in august and we couldn't imagine a better place for relaxing. The whole hotel is just beautiful, every detail is thought, from the rooms to the candles they light up every night everywhere. And the staff is so friendly and warm, that you can easily get a 'reality shock' getting out of the Hotel and eating in other restaurants etc...
Food is really great from the breakfast buffet over Nerea Beach Restaurant to the wonderful Maxi Restaurant.
But definitively the best Point is hearing the sea all night while sleeping!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you can afford it, go here. Our room overlooked the ocean and this is one of the few hotels in the area where you can walk to the pool and jump in the ocean for a nice swim. The food is amazing. You will not be disappointed. They will drive you to town (2 minute drive, but not walkable due to the mountains) and pick you up at your leisure. The town is quite nice, but we found it hard to leave this restful, beautiful hotel with it's five star service. The spa here is also tranquil and worth going to. Our expectations in every area: service, view, luxury, and food - were surpassed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

sitting right next to the sea this is a small but perfectly formed boutique hotel, funky decor, attentive friendly staff with amazingly presented and prepared food. reception arranged a car nod driver for the day, ask for "Frank" he has great English an is a charming guy to spend the day with

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denderleeuw, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just returned from a 4 days stay at the capo la gala. From the first moments we were overwhelmed by the charm of this hotel. The fabulous location, the views, the interiors and most of all the relaxed atmosphere. As there are only 23 rooms none of the places (swimming pool, bar restaurant,...) are overcrowded. Even on the evening of our arrival when there was a beautiful wedding party for more than 150 guests, the hotel guests still could enjoy their privacy and spend a quiet relaxing evening.
A hotel can have everything but all depends on the staff and they were really outstanding. Never before we experienced such a personal touch. Especially Angelo, the "salvataggio", the bartender, fixing the perfect drink to your personal taste and the super friendly hostess a the reception deserve a special thanks.
Last but not least there were the restaurants, Maxi and Nerea. from breakfast to evening dinner there is only one word : excellent. And as for the hotel, an outstanding friendly and professional staff.
We would love to go back and if not we will always remember our 4 days at Capo La Gala.

Jan and Maud

Room Tip: the 'superior' rooms on the second floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have just returned from spending eight amazing days at the capo la gala. This hotel is out of this world, it deserves to have more than 5*'s, on all accounts from the decor of the hotel to the staff to the scenery and the food. Absolutely paradise.
I cannot find a fault in this hotel at all, the staff are an absolute credit to the hotel, they are extremely friendly, very helpful, motivated and caring people, whom want to make sure that your holiday experience is how you wish it to be. I really cannot speak highly enough of the staff there from the pool man who made sure we were comfortable each day, the waiters being so attentive, friendly and informative at breakfast, lunch and dinner, the barman producing amazing cocktails each night and giving advise on the local area, christina in the spa, giving outstanding treatments. (I am physiotherapist and I know how a sports massage should be performed, she certainly can deliver this!!) the porters whom took us from the hotel to the train station when required and everything was performed with a smile.
The decor is modern, clean and with great attention to detail, the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner is out of this world. I have never seen such a big breakfast buffet at such a high standard of quality.
This hotel is a must if you want to get away, rest and relax, be looked after, have fun and to explore the local area.
I certainly will be returning!!!!!

Room Tip: We had the superior, with its own private balcony, with outstanding views. The room was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#4 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 22 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo La Gala Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo La Gala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.