We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Save Saved
You added Capo La Gala Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Capo La Gala Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
Denderleeuw, Belgium
1 review
“absolutely outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just returned from a 4 days stay at the capo la gala. From the first moments we were overwhelmed by the charm of this hotel. The fabulous location, the views, the interiors and most of all the relaxed atmosphere. As there are only 23 rooms none of the places (swimming pool, bar restaurant,...) are overcrowded. Even on the evening of our arrival when there was a beautiful wedding party for more than 150 guests, the hotel guests still could enjoy their privacy and spend a quiet relaxing evening.
A hotel can have everything but all depends on the staff and they were really outstanding. Never before we experienced such a personal touch. Especially Angelo, the "salvataggio", the bartender, fixing the perfect drink to your personal taste and the super friendly hostess a the reception deserve a special thanks.
Last but not least there were the restaurants, Maxi and Nerea. from breakfast to evening dinner there is only one word : excellent. And as for the hotel, an outstanding friendly and professional staff.
We would love to go back and if not we will always remember our 4 days at Capo La Gala.

Jan and Maud

Room Tip: the 'superior' rooms on the second floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    21
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
143
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have just returned from spending eight amazing days at the capo la gala. This hotel is out of this world, it deserves to have more than 5*'s, on all accounts from the decor of the hotel to the staff to the scenery and the food. Absolutely paradise.
I cannot find a fault in this hotel at all, the staff are an absolute credit to the hotel, they are extremely friendly, very helpful, motivated and caring people, whom want to make sure that your holiday experience is how you wish it to be. I really cannot speak highly enough of the staff there from the pool man who made sure we were comfortable each day, the waiters being so attentive, friendly and informative at breakfast, lunch and dinner, the barman producing amazing cocktails each night and giving advise on the local area, christina in the spa, giving outstanding treatments. (I am physiotherapist and I know how a sports massage should be performed, she certainly can deliver this!!) the porters whom took us from the hotel to the train station when required and everything was performed with a smile.
The decor is modern, clean and with great attention to detail, the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner is out of this world. I have never seen such a big breakfast buffet at such a high standard of quality.
This hotel is a must if you want to get away, rest and relax, be looked after, have fun and to explore the local area.
I certainly will be returning!!!!!

Room Tip: We had the superior, with its own private balcony, with outstanding views. The room was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Firstly the positives, the setting and decor of hotel are beautiful. The breakfast is superb and dinner in restaurant was fantastic with impeccable service. My teenage daughter had a facial in the spa which she said was gorgeous. We had a privilege room which was very nice but the balcony is very disappointing. The balconies of the cheaper rooms have much bigger, sunnier and private balconies. The balconies of the privilege rooms are only separated from each other by a transparent fabric screen which provides minimal privacy. The bath/ shower in our room did not drain well so that you were left standing in your own dirty shower water. Asked reception on two occasions to look at this, on the second they said it had been rectified , it hadn't but I gave up asking as we had bigger problems. The HORRENDOUS SMELL. There was a very strong smell of what seemed to be sewerage/blocked drains both on the corridor and in our bedroom. There was no smell outside so on the first night we tried sleeping with the balcony doors open. This proved difficult as there was a wedding in the hotel that night. The noise of both fireworks and music meant the doors needed to be closed. I complained to reception the next day and asked them to investigate smell. When I returned to room from pool area hours later the smell was even stronger so called reception again. This time I was told the smell was from sulphur springs in neighbouring hotel and was blowing down on the wind. If this was the case why did staff not tell me that the first time I complained. Why was smell inside on corridor and bedroom but not outside on balcony? I felt that my complaints about noise of wedding and smell were not taken seriously. I know that other guests felt their complaints were never adequately dealt with also. I suggest that if hotel is going to host weddings they should not take bookings from other guests the same night, there is no chance of a quiet sleep. At the prices this hotel charges they need to wake up to customer service. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't go for privilege rooms although more expensive balconies worse than cheaper superior rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had 4 of the most relaxing days ever at this top notch hotel. The room was perfect in every way, the sea crystal clear, and the restaurant was probably the best I've ever eaten in. The service of all staff I encountered was second to none. From the pool guy who comes over as soon as he see's you struggling with a parasol, to the waiters who greet you warmly and expertly. The small lounge bar area next to reception has food and drink available from 1030 to 1630 (I think) with lovely fresh sandwiches, snacks, fruit - all included in the room price. Breakfast was amazing - there was a selection of everything available - and again all top quality. Beautifully prepared eggs, wonderful selection of fresh breads, coffee spot on, cakes, cereals, fruits - the list goes on and on. The small gymnasium overlooking the sea was well equipped and well used during our 4 days. Everything about this hotel has been carefully thought through to make the guest experience perfect in every way - I can't wait to visit again, and as its our first experience of Italy the benchmark has been set very high!! Thank you to all the staff for making our 4 days in the hotel surpass all our expectations.

Room Tip: As there are only a small number of rooms - all have balconies overlooking the sea, so I don't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The view speaks for itself, but the service from the team take it another level.
The resturant deserves every accolade and make sure you don't miss the sunset to kick the evening off.

One tip, Angelo the life guard is the bomb and makes every day in paradise a delight.

See you soon Capol La Gala team......

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycott, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at Capo for a the last week in May hoping to escape the ever present rain in the UK and grab a little r&r at the same time. Capo La Gala didn't disappoint. The setting is magical, the staff are friendly and helpful,and the rooms minimal and stylish. Our room had a balcony and a sea view that literally takes your breath away.The en-suite bathroom was extremely clean and tastefully equipped.The hotel is well placed to use as a base, the hotels free shuttle service will whizz you up to the train station in Vico where the train departs very reliably every half an hour for a return of a euro or so per person.We managed to tear ourselves from the sun beds to see Pompeii, Sorrento and Possitano with the greatest of ease. Would recommend for any one looking for something stylish but not snooty, a great little hotel with plenty of authentic Italian charm, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a balcony, worth the small extra cost without a doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I chose Capo La Gala for our wedding reception after considering over 10 hotels in and around the area and what a choice it turned out to be!

The first point to note was the fantastic work and attention to detail both Daniela and Ivana provided before and of course on our big day. Nothing was too much trouble and they ensured the day flowed superbly (thank you both, we will be returning shortly for a long weekend!)

The location, views and quality of finish in the public areas and the rooms were fantastic and we saw over 5 of the rooms at all levels. Capo La Gala is a true world class boutique hotel.

When we arrived with our 80 guests we were served drinks and canapés on the roof terrace which was then followed by dinner on the middle decked area then our wedding cake and dancing on the pool deck level.

The canapés were truly delicious and plentiful, the prosecco and other drinks were ice cold and the service was impeccable.

The main meal consisted of 5 courses and given there were 80 guests to serve the, food was equally as superb as when we previously tried the menu in the restaurant for a table of six. The menu we had was of the highest quality, extensive, detailed and plentiful and which was delivered promptly. The service of drinks was as fitting as the food.

After the meal our guests were invited to the pool deck for the cutting of the cake and dancing which again was met with great service, we wished we didnt have to finish at 12:30pm. The cake made by the in house pastry chef was out of this world and perfectly constructed to our requirements.

In summary if you are considering either a holiday, short break or even as a venue for a larger party of wedding, Capo La Gala will be a choice you will never regret. It really is breathtakingly stunning and has views to remember forever.

The only regret we had was not staying a few extra days to soak up the weather, service, atmosphere and the amazing views!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Also Known As:
Capo La Gala Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples
Address: Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#5 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 22 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Expedia so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo La Gala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.