We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Save Saved
You added Capo La Gala Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capo La Gala Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at Capo la Gala and am already missing it! The location is stunning, and has to be seen in real life to believe, as the photos don't do it justice. Our Classic Room was perfect, and apparently the terraces are bigger than the more expensive rooms. One of the reviews below complains about noise from the road but we couldn't hear a thing from our room, or indeed anywhere else in the hotel. The door from the bedroom opens up to reveal uniterrupted views of the Med and surrounding bay, and the hustle and bustle of Sorrento seems a million miles away. The staff went out of their way to make our stay special, including sending down a comlementary bottle of Champagne for our wedding anniversary and recommending and booking restaurants, all of which lived up to expectations. We only dined one night at Maxi's which was a great experience, and dinner on the other nights at the nearby village of Vico was equally enjoyable - one night at Terra Mia (traditional Italian) and one at the Pizza a Metro (a pizza 'warehouse' with about 100 tables, full of chattering locals eating pizza by the metre or half metre - great value and great fun). Both evenings finished with a digestif in the local square before getting the free shuttle back to the peace and quiet of the hotel.

The Wellness centre is also worth a mention - very peaceful (and empty) and because we booked with Mr & Mrs Smith we each received a free half hour massage.

I'd thoroughly recommend Capo la Gala as a base to explore the Amalfi and Sorrentine peninsular, or if you're feeling less energetic simply to relax by the sea whilst being pampered.

Room Tip: One of the Classic rooms from 204 to 210 are best - further down the corridor away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    25
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
157
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.
The view from the room is breathtaking,
The rooms are beautiful & clean. The Michelin starred restaurant is excellent & the staff is extra friendly. We just couldn't leave.. & extended our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Gapo la gala, was the best Hotel we stayed on hour trip to Italy. The Hotel is best discribed as: Top location, top service, top Hotel. Thanks a lot Capo la gala. It was a fantastic experience. We will comeback.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

2 months on and I'm still dreaming of being back at capo la gala. From the gorgeous weather, beautiful location and outstanding food this place is my favourite hotel in the world!

Perfect cocktails mixed by the very passionately professional Micheal and the discreet service from the Michelin starred restaurant team who serve you not just at Maxxi but also for breakfast, lunch and room service. Working in the boutique hotel industry I was worried about our honeymoon not being perfect because I would pick out flaws in the hotel, food, service etc. I needn't have worried neither should my now husband. if we never find a hotel like it elsewhere on our travells at least we've experienced Italian luxury and discretion in all it's glory.

Thank you to the whole team at capo, we had an amazing time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We spent 10 days at Capo La Gala in September and it was without a doubt the right choice for us. The location is tranquil, very scenic, with plenty to watch from your sun bed, from the luxury yachts cruising by to the local snorkellers diving for seafood. Our room was spotless, beautifully designed and very well appointed and we rather liked the luxury feel of the linen sheets. We also liked the flexibility of the shuttle to town. We grew to love Vico Equense and its restaurants. More often than not we were in the minority as tourists, unlike neighboring Sorrento. The hotel restaurant is first class - everything beautifully presented and delicious - with excellent service.  There is an outstanding wine list but we far preferred to use the excellent knowledge of the female sommelier who recommended some superb local wines to us. The service and friendliness of the staff throughout the hotel is great and I would like to especially mention Daniela who attended to a medical request with truly five star service. 

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have just returned from the most beautiful honeymoon at Capo La Gala. We cannot speak highly enough of the staff and the service - friendly and helpful and always available when we required to use the complimentary shuttle service to the train station to Sorrento.
The hotel is tranquil, immaculate, the rooms have spectacluar views, and the food was delicious. The perfect choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in early september and were very impressed. The setting of the hotel is incredible, with the various elements sitting organically within the steep coastal location. The nautical theme to the architectural detailing and interior decoration is carried through well and views from bedrooms are such that you feel like you are out on a boat at sea. There are a wide variety of balconies and terraces to sit on and it is all very relaxing. The rooms are large and comfortable. There is a high ratio of staff to guests and they are very helpful (particular thanks to the blokes who drove us into town in the shuttle bus). Breakfast was excellent. We did not have dinner at the hotel as we wanted to have some variety (Pizza a Metro, in Vico Equense, is incredible value and well worth heading to). We were given complimentary access to the spa, which was great (I would recommend making this access as standard for hotel customers in the future). The outdoor gym was a novel feature and all together there is enough to keep you occupied in the hotel for several days. We checked out on time, but some other guests we spoke to who asked about leaving later were told this would not be possible (i.e. don't necessarily believe the text on the Mr and Mrs Smith website about late check outs). Not cheap, but highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#5 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 22 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo La Gala Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo La Gala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.