We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Save Saved
You added Capo La Gala Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capo La Gala Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in early september and were very impressed. The setting of the hotel is incredible, with the various elements sitting organically within the steep coastal location. The nautical theme to the architectural detailing and interior decoration is carried through well and views from bedrooms are such that you feel like you are out on a boat at sea. There are a wide variety of balconies and terraces to sit on and it is all very relaxing. The rooms are large and comfortable. There is a high ratio of staff to guests and they are very helpful (particular thanks to the blokes who drove us into town in the shuttle bus). Breakfast was excellent. We did not have dinner at the hotel as we wanted to have some variety (Pizza a Metro, in Vico Equense, is incredible value and well worth heading to). We were given complimentary access to the spa, which was great (I would recommend making this access as standard for hotel customers in the future). The outdoor gym was a novel feature and all together there is enough to keep you occupied in the hotel for several days. We checked out on time, but some other guests we spoke to who asked about leaving later were told this would not be possible (i.e. don't necessarily believe the text on the Mr and Mrs Smith website about late check outs). Not cheap, but highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    25
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
163
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at Capo La Gala for a week, with my wife and three children (ages 11, 9 and 6). It was absolutely fantastic. I think the designer was inspired by the hanging gardens of Bablylon; the hotel cascades down from the road to the sea, with huge terraces at every level. I would describe the hotel as trendy, understated luxury. A place where the guests in its Michelin star restaurant were equally at home wearing jacket and collar, or in shorts (I did both!). The location is the best kept secret on the Sorrento coast, and its impossible not to unwind in the cosseting seclusion of cliff, rocks, and sea. With a fantastic, unobstructed view of the sunset over the bay each evening. The sea is quite literally a few metres from your bedroom and from the hotel pool. Speaking of pool, it is unique. Genuine mineral water flows directly from a mountain spring into the pool, and from there into the sea. So no chlorine or salt, and refreshingly chilled all the time. The staff were very attentive, and had definitely set out to "exceed our expectations" with service that I dont normally associate with Europe. Nothing was too much trouble. That is not a cliche - where else does the life guard lay out towels for you on your favourite lounger as he sees you walking down to the pool (every day), and the hotel handyman produce exactly the right screwdriver to fix your loose camera lens (after the camera shop in Sorrento told me it couldn't be repaired in Italy)! Although this is not a typical family hotel, and for half the week my kids were the only children there, they were never bored and we all loved the place. There are no specific children's facilities at the hotel but Italy is very 'child-tolerant' so they never felt unwelcome, and the local area has a huge amount to occupy kids. We had adjacent rooms that inter-connected via a private balcony, so sleeping arrangements also worked very well. We toured the surrounding countryside - Capri, Positano, the winding Nastro Azzurro (Blue Ribbon) drive, Sorrento and the local village of Vico Equense - the hotel were always very helpful in arranging boats, suggesting restaurants, making reservations and providing timetables, advice and maps. And driving us the few miles into Vico at a moment's notice if we didn't feel like taking our hire car. Incidentally, Vico seems to be off the radar screen of every guide book, but it merits a mention just for Gabriele's, IMHO the best ice cream shop in Italy; there are many gelateria that have dozens of delicious flavours, but Gabriele's also has two made without sugar (how to really impress a diabetic!). My kids loved Vico's pizzeria that sold pizza by the metre (apparently the world's first, and a local institution). And a few minutes away is Torre del Saracino, a Michelin two star restaurant and probably my finest dining experience. Capo la Gala was expensive, but worth it. Do I have any suggestions for improvement? This is difficult, but I do have one: provide cotton sheets rather than linen sheets on the beds - its more kind to sunburned skin! As with the British couple we met at breakfast on our last day, who were there for their 5th time, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: From what I could tell, all rooms have balconies overlooking (more like overhanging!) the sea, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A beautifully conceived place. Minimal and modern. With 360 degrees dramatic views. Helpful and extremelly friendly staff (special mention to Valeria). Excellent food - in both the normal hotel restaurant and their very own Michelin star one: Maxi. Beautiful pool and a lovely piece of the sea. The spa is also really nice. But the room is the best bit. Every single one of the, has their private balcony looking straight out to the sea. I can't describe how soothing it is to sleep to the sounds of the waves breaking against the rocks. Highly recommend this place to anyone needing a bit of luxury and relaxation.

Room Tip: The simpler rooms are actually the nicest ones as they are closer to the sea and.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

It was our first weekend away from our children in a year, and a perfect place for peace and quiet. We instantly relaxed as it is small, boutique hotel, slightly out of the way from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento, and is all about the amazing seaview. Food was amazing, and the access to the sea was fantastic (pool was freezing but didn't really need it as the sea was so warm and accessible). The hotel is a good 20/30 mins in a taxi to Sorrento, but it didn't matter as we were there for a relaxing break so we only went there once. There is a free shuttle service to the local village and then a train into sorrento though. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much. Also had a lovely massage by the sea.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the room with a balcony as the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We went for a child-free 3 night break to celebrate our 10th anniversary and struggle to think where could have been better. The hotel is stylish and unashamedly "grown-up" - children are not discouraged but at a practical level they would just not enjoy it - the seawater pool is unheated (which is a definite advantage given the ambient air temperature!), and the sea swimming is from rocks, not a beach. So, by default it becomes an adult hotel. Only 23 rooms, so probably a max of 50 guests at any one time, but a fantastically high staff:guests ratio, and staff who make you feel very much as if you are a friendly guest rather than merely a paying punter. Rooms clean, pool area fabulous (wooden decking, blue and white loungers, and a view over the Bay of Naples which is to die for), great pool-side service. Food in Nerea poolside restaurant delicious, but we didn't eat in the Michelin-starred (and reasonably pricey) Maxi restaurant in the hotel. Hotel shuttle takes you to and from the nearby village of Vico Equense which has lots of nice restaurants (but which is itself not that pretty). We would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor don't have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVANA T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Capo La Gala Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

We made our best to let you spend a gorgeous and unforgettable anniversary with us and we understand from your words that we reached our aim!

As a matter of fact the Capo la Gala is definitely an adult hotel,as you said, but children are anyway warmly welcomed, should you think to come back with them :-)

Best regards

Ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We went on a mini-break to the Amalfi Coast and stayed in this beautiful little gem. For anyone reading just the first few lines - the best characteristics for me were its location & staff. The hotel is built into the rock and right by the sea and the sound of the waves against rocks at night is the most calming and lovely noise to fall asleep to!

It's a small enough hotel that it feels really personal but varied enough to spend all day long on the premises. Whether tasting the wonderful food at breakfast, lunch or dinner; lounging around by the sea at the private beach or taking advantage of the outdoor massage, this is a relaxing holiday in a stunning location. The staff are very pleasant and attentive without being intrusive.

My only (very small) criticism is that you cannot take your own snacks/drinks to the beach/pool area. The pool is very cold, but mainly because it doesn't get hours of the morning sun. However, this could be a good thing as sometimes all you want to do is just have a quick cold dip whilst reading or lounging on the shore. For a relaxing swim, the sea is much more suitable and lovely anyway.

We will most definitely return as we've loved our stay so much, we tell anyone who wants to listen! In fact, we just recommended it to a couple who actually booked it within hours, purely based on the relaxing sound and the stunning location that we go on and on about...

Thank you so much for making our stay so special!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Privilege & Classic Double rooms during our stay, and though the latter is chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVANA T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Capo La Gala Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

You were able to perfectly describe the Capo la Gala atmosphere: sun, waves, stunning location & friendly staff.

We are happy to read that this combination made your stay so enjoyable and we managed to let you feel warmly welcomed.

See you soon, hopefully!

Warmest regards

Ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

To the point....
This resort is lovely in every way!
I think the highest compliment I can give is that we would stay here again and again.
It was just myself and my husband, which was wonderful, but I would also bring our 3 children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVANA T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Capo La Gala Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Clients,

Thanks a lot for your lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back and have the chance to spoil your children, too!

Best regards

Ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#4 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 22 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo La Gala Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo La Gala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.