We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Unique and beautiful hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Save Saved
You added Capo La Gala Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capo La Gala Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Unique and beautiful hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We arrived at Capo la Gala after a rainy drive down from Rome for the second night of our honeymoon. We were greeted by a man with an umbrella and welcomed to our room with the friendliest of service. The room was clean, beautiful and, on my new husband's request, the staff had put beautiful lilies in the room and brought us champagne and strawberries for us to share on the balcony.

Throughout our stay the service was impeccable, and nothing was too much trouble, even when we requested slightly awkward drinks and food out of normal lunch or after bar hours. We were given excellent advice on local towns, places to eat and the shuttle service to the town was flexible and invaluable in getting around if you don't want to drive.

During our stay we visited many nearby towns. The hotel was an excellent base for a drive along the iconic Amalfi Coast, we managed to fit a trip to Positano, Ravello, Amalfi and the mountains behind into one day and it was always fantastic to return to the haven of Capo la Gala. We got the impression that a lot of other guests just stayed put in the hotel but it was fab for exploring too. We did Pompeii easily in another day.

The restaurant was absolutely fantastic, fresh and vibrant flavours expertly served and different every day. The breakfast was served in the restaurant looking out over the sea, excellent variety and the freshest, tastiest local ingredients, including hot cooked eggs offered free of extra charge and beautiful local honies. The room had a stunning view, so we spent most of our time on the balcony, that's not to say the room wasn't lovely! It was very comfortable, quiet and always cleaned very well. Nice little touches like a weather forecast left on your pillow for the following day as part of the turndown service all served to make a wonderful stay.

The spa was very peaceful and lovely, we had it pretty much to ourselves and my husband's treatment (leg and foot massage) was sort of bespoke, the best he's ever experienced. We didn't use the outside pool since it was so wonderful to jump in the sea off the jetty!

We really adored the unique and modern but cosy feel of Capo la Gala, the staff on the desk were always personal but professional and very very friendly. Happy to help all the time.

I think Capo la Gala is one of a kind, small enough to feel quiet and personal and big enough to have fantastic service and privacy. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, worth every single penny.
Ruth & Tim

Room Tip: We were more than happy with our classic room, it had spectacular views and a beatiful balcony, we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVANA T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Capo La Gala Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

Saying THANK YOU is not enough to reply to such a detailed and emotional review, as the one you wrote.

We were almost enthusiastic in reading your nice words; they will give us the strength to proceed with the most tailored service and the highest care towards all our clients.

We would be ready to welcome you back and give you 101% of our energy!

Warm regards

Ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    25
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
157
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

What a fantastic hotel! I've never written a review for a hotel before, but I'm happy to make an exception for this one. We had two rooms for seven nights at the end of Jun 2012, one of them with a terrace right down next to the sea on level two, the other higher up on level five. Both rooms were excellent and very comfortable. It was unusually hot for the end of June, so we were glad that the air conditioning worked well and quietly. Days were spent lazily sunning ourselves in the pool area, and it was wonderful to be able to go straight down into the sea to cool off, or into the pool to cool off even more. (Other reviews have pointed out the pool water is cool - it certainly was on our first day but seemed to warm up day by day.) I was expecting the food in the Michelin-star restaurant to be perhaps a little fussy, but not at all. Everything we had was perfect - if you like desserts, particularly chocolate ones like I do, my recommendation is the quaintly-named Sacher In My Own Way. What really makes the hotel stand out is quality of the staff. They were excellent, without exception. Nothing was too much trouble, and they all seemed to know who we were, even on our first day. As we were there for a week, we gradually got to know them better, and had growing appreciation for their friendliness, professionalism and attention to detail. All in all, a great hotel, and for a special holiday it was well worth the expense.

Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace (on floors 2 & 3) are close to sea level, so a very short walk to the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVANA T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Capo La Gala Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Clients,

We really appreciated the nice words you spent in our favour!

I definitely agree on your dessert suggestion :-)

Thanks for the time spent in sharing your experience with us; it was a pleasure for us to assist such nice an kind guests, as you were.

Best regards

Ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is the place to stay if you want to relax just out side of Sorrento! Maxis food and staff were amazing. Every table is the best table with a view! The pool and ocean are just outside your room and the whole vibe is relaxed Italian cool! We loved this hotel. Can't wait to go back with a fun group. The new outdoor pizza bar looks amazing. The staff could not do more for you. The view is breathtaking and the location is on the water! Go! Perfection!

Room Tip: All rooms have views. Room 301 can take 2 kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVANA T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Capo La Gala Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thanks for your nice words!

We will improve even more and take profit of your feedback to get he perfection!

We are so glad to read your comment and to learn that a piece of Capo la Gala flew back with you..

Best regards,

Ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I selected this hotel among a list of many Amalfi Coast properties. While this was a bit pricier, we decided to splurge since this was our honeymoon. We are so glad that we chose Capo La Gala! This was proven after we arrived and had the chance to explore other Amalfi Coasts. Capo La Gala is the place to stay for luxury and top amazing service. The private beach is breathtaking and having the room balconies so close to the sea is very special. After a week stay we already miss this place and the people working there. Thanks!

Room Tip: The lower level rooms are closer to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVANA T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Capo La Gala Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

We also miss you; you were so smily and it was a plasure helping you exploring the coast!

We really hope you will decide to come back for a next holiday,

Warm regards

ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Excellent place to stay! Super friendly staff that is always helpful and in a joyful mood, super environment, nice breakfast with a la minute cooked eggs, just two remarks: freshly squeezed orange juice comes with a supplement and there is no availability of good fresh tea leves, only bags.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVANA T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Capo La Gala Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Clients,

Thank you for your nice review, it was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely family!

We are glad you spent a nice holidays with us; we hope to welcome you back soon with a good Montevetrano bottle!

Best regards

Ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had 5 nights here for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary havin stayed in a rubbish hotel in Sorrento 40 years ago. It was truly fabulous. nothing was too much trouble without the staff being 'in your face'. They all knew which room you were in and when you were staying to. They gave advice on eating our and transport, arranged flowers for us and did extra touches on the evening meal of our actual anniversary. Yes its expensive, but boy we got what we paid for.
Thank you everyone at the hotel.

Room Tip: We chose the bigger balcony but it was so hot when the sun was on it ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Capo La Gala Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

It was a pleasure to help you arranging such a special event and the uniqueness of this place definitely made the rest!

Your words are pure "fuel" for us: we will continue granting the utmost care towards our beloved guests, we are definitely following the right direction.

Warm regards

Ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent a long weekend here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Hotel is new, modern and has a slight air of 1930s Poirot coupled with traditional beach-side cottage about it. Large, luxurious rooms open onto the terrace where you can relax if you want more privacy. Excellent restaurant and friendly, helpful staff. For those who like to be pampered the spa is a must. Close to the railway station (there is a free shuttle) with easy access to Pompeii, Naples, Sorrento (where you can take a fast ferry to Capri), etc. Traffic in the area at weekends a drawback if you want to go outside Vico Equense.

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor room with private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Capo La Gala Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guests,

We are delighted to read your positive impressions about the Capo la Gala!

As a matter of fact our "inbetween" position, among Pompei and Sorrento is ideal to explore the area, we definitely agree with you.

Do not hesitate to plan your next holidays with us...we will spoil you even more!

Warm regards

Ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#5 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 22 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo La Gala Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo La Gala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.