We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, magical setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Maxi

Ristorante Maxi
Via Luigi Serio 8 | c/o Capo La Gala Hotel, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
+39 081 801 5757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 89 Restaurants in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $67 - $180
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious food, magical setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Capo La Gala, which is wonderful, and decided to have dinner in the restaurant on our first night rather than head out again after the long journey. We are very happy that we did and ultimately ate there 3 times during our 9 day stay! The view, the food, the service and the value for money makes it one of the best restaurants on the coast in our opinion. The lobster mozzarella starter, seafood risotto and pork dish are our favourites. Julie, the sommelier is wonderfully knowledgeable and non-intrusive and we've enjoyed some fantastic local wines. Sadly, due to my dairy intolerance, I wasn't able to try the very pretty selection of petit-fours but they looked fantastic and my other half thoroughly enjoyed them all!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    20
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Superb Michelin quality food in amazing surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

In addition to staying at the hotel ( and therefore eating breakfast and the occasional lunch here) we ate at Maxi restaurant. The evening transformation is a joy to behold. The staff dress up and the place looks and feels like a Michelin restaurant. An amazing wine cellar, pasta to die for ( we both enjoyed lobster filled hand made ravioli) and superb main courses! The roast lamb was truly sensational as was the turbot. The desserts may look expensive but they are a true stand outs. Overall an exceptional meal, stunning surroundings and taken one step further by the amazing helpful staff who really cannot do enough for you. Definitely one to revisit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“One Star Michelin restaurant, probably best in Vico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you would like to savour great meal, enjoy perfcet service, be in a very relaxing atmosphere, this is the place to go!
The meal is great, as well, as service.
This is the place to experience in Vico Equense!
The hotel also seems to be nice, but haven't stayed there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Desserts are a triumph”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Delicious food throughout and the chefs classics are to be recommended - both fantastic fish and pasta using wonderful local ingredients. However the desserts were some of the best we've ever eaten - a small pre-dessert, followed by something totally wonderful from the menu and rounded of by small pastries. The Sacher your way is not to be missed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great gastonomic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

great food good menu with local food. Prepared to sit down with you to discuss your needs

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Maxi also viewed

Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Maxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Maxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.