We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, magical setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Maxi

Ristorante Maxi
Via Luigi Serio 8 | c/o Capo La Gala Hotel, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
+39 081 8015757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 81 restaurants in Vico Equense
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delicious food, magical setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Capo La Gala, which is wonderful, and decided to have dinner in the restaurant on our first night rather than head out again after the long journey. We are very happy that we did and ultimately ate there 3 times during our 9 day stay! The view, the food, the service and the value for money makes it one of the best restaurants on the coast in our opinion. The lobster mozzarella starter, seafood risotto and pork dish are our favourites. Julie, the sommelier is wonderfully knowledgeable and non-intrusive and we've enjoyed some fantastic local wines. Sadly, due to my dairy intolerance, I wasn't able to try the very pretty selection of petit-fours but they looked fantastic and my other half thoroughly enjoyed them all!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    53
    18
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Superb Michelin quality food in amazing surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

In addition to staying at the hotel ( and therefore eating breakfast and the occasional lunch here) we ate at Maxi restaurant. The evening transformation is a joy to behold. The staff dress up and the place looks and feels like a Michelin restaurant. An amazing wine cellar, pasta to die for ( we both enjoyed lobster filled hand made ravioli) and superb main courses! The roast lamb was truly sensational as was the turbot. The desserts may look expensive but they are a true stand outs. Overall an exceptional meal, stunning surroundings and taken one step further by the amazing helpful staff who really cannot do enough for you. Definitely one to revisit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“One Star Michelin restaurant, probably best in Vico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you would like to savour great meal, enjoy perfcet service, be in a very relaxing atmosphere, this is the place to go!
The meal is great, as well, as service.
This is the place to experience in Vico Equense!
The hotel also seems to be nice, but haven't stayed there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Desserts are a triumph”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Delicious food throughout and the chefs classics are to be recommended - both fantastic fish and pasta using wonderful local ingredients. However the desserts were some of the best we've ever eaten - a small pre-dessert, followed by something totally wonderful from the menu and rounded of by small pastries. The Sacher your way is not to be missed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great gastonomic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

great food good menu with local food. Prepared to sit down with you to discuss your needs

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Maxi also viewed

Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Vico Equense, Province of Naples

Been to Ristorante Maxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Maxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.