We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cubo Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cubo Apartments to your Saves list
Cubo Apartments
via filangieri 34/35, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cubo Apartments, based on the excellent reviews we found here on Trip Advisor. What a find! Cubo is now on our short list of places to which we will definitely return. Our apartment was perfect - clean, modern, beautiful balcony with view of Mt Vesuvius, and inspiring kitchen. The location couldn't have been better for us. Just a short walk up the street we found a fish market, meat market, Conad supermarket, wine market with great local wines at 2EU for bottle refills, and a salumi where we purchased farm fresh eggs, cheeses, wines, pasta, and prosciuttos. There is beach that we could walk to, though we chose to drive since the beach is downhill, but the return is uphill. We enjoyed a little snack bar there at the beach where we had aperativo and chatted with the locals. Our car was easily parked in the underground parcheggio right across the street. It is brightly lit, clean, and well worth the 10EU daily. The train station is very close, and made an easy trip of going to Naples or Sorrento. Though we didn't take the train ourselves, we talked with others who did. Apart from the 5 apartments, there is a first rate restaurant on the ground floor with inside and terrace seating. There is also a bar area where we were served our daily breakfast.
The best aspect of this accommodation is the family who owns and operates it. Parents Alfonso and Anna are sweet, engaging, and warm. They are joined by their son and daughters who assist guests with whatever may be necessary. As well, there is a staff who serve and clean. By the time we departed, they were all our new friends. Very happy and welcoming folks. Do not hesitate to stay here, you will love it.

Room Tip: All units have terraces, kitchens, views. There is not a bad apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
75
76
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LI,NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel was outstanding. We stayed for 9 nights. They have 5 modern and well appointed apartments. All have full kitchens. These rooms are huge for European standards. We stayed in the top floor Europa apartment which had a large balcony overlooking Naples Bay and Mt Vesuvious. The view was just amazing and we spent a lot of time out on our balcony. They are right on the coast, we walked down to the beach and enjoyed it with no crowds as September is really warm but no beach crowds. The hotel is family owned. Alfonso, Anna and their daughters operate the business. We interacted with the entire family during our stay and even attended a midnight birthday party for one of their daughters. This family treats you as one of their own and this is why we selected this hotel from reading previous posts. The location is perfect to use as a base for visiting Sorrento and Positano and other tourist attractions in the area. The train is a 2 minute walk. It is very close to those locations without having to deal with the crowds or prices. Alfonso was kind enough to offer us a ride to Sorrento instead of us taking the train and it turned into an unbelievable 4 hour private tour of Sorrento and Positano that he took us on. We stopped at places that the avaerage toursist would not see and up into the mountains where we had the opportunity to take awesome pictures. He asked for nothing in return and seemed to enjoy the trip as much as we did. He would not even let us pay for the gas in his car. The restaurant on the premise, Signum, was great. Anna is the chef and a good one at that. We actually never ordered from the menu in hand, just sat down and asked "whats your suggestion for today"? All the food was super fresh.We will write a seperate review for the restaurant. Our trip was the best ever and it was due to the location, the price and especially the family and their workers who made it that much more than anyplace we have ever stayed. If you are looking for a place to stay close to the tourist area but want to live like the Itailans do, stay in this town. Being they are not a tourist town, most don't speak english well and we didn't speak Itailian but we had no problem communicating. At the hotel, Alfonso is doing very good at learning english (having not spoken a word 4 years ago) and his daughter Stefania is proficient in english and answered all our questions while we were at the hotel. Also, in this day and age we did use translation apps on our smartphones and ipads and they work great. We just can not say enough about our stay and would like to thank all for their hospitality..Alfonso, Anna, Stefania, Rosa, Angela, Allesandra, Salvatore, and Lucia and the housekeepng staff.

Room Tip: Top rooms have best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The people from hotel are really nice, you feel like at home. Our room was enormous, modern and good smelling and we really love that place. The owners are excellent people. Don't leave without trying the food from Ms. Anna, she is an excellent chef, a real italian mon, just superb. Afonso also is very kindly, warmful and is ready for everything you need.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Vico. A great baseto tour the area without having to pay the silly prices on the Amalfi Coast.
Although we booked to stay in the Cubo apartments we ended up in the owners other property further up the hill. The apartment was large and well furnished and we had almost everything we needed. i think a small kitchen would have been a real bonus.
We had dinner in the restaurant once. The food was good but the service was very slow.
Breakfast was taken on the terrace every day. Not a lot of choice but more than enough of everything that was on offer. Lovely, helpful owners who took a lot of time to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Check where you will really be sleeping. They do not seem to advertise the fact they have another p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have to say I will take the necessary time to write this review, as it really affected our trip.
So, my father invited my family (mother, brother and I) to a trip through Italy, and he invested a lot of money and time into planning this trip. He is a 60 year old man that is really detailed about what he wants. He looked at everu city we visited for the best hotel in our budget. When it came to Vico Equense, we were actually looking into staying in Positano, but found what looked like a beautiful hotel in Vico Equense, the Cubo apartments. He made the respective reservation through Booking.com, where he asked for an apartment for 4 adults of 140m2 with sea view that was still in our budget. Booking gave us a reservation code and everything was ok. We afterwards received an email from Cubo, saying that the room that was still available for us had no view, so they had an offer for us: for the same amount of money, they could offer us two big rooms in better hotel: the Crown Plaza with spectacular view. My father thought this was a good trade, and decided to go ahead after various talks, as they insisted this was a great deal, and that they had now no available apartment for us. Also, they asked for us to pay at Cubo and they were going to pay the Crown Plaza themselves as there was a "difference" that they were going to pay, as the rooms were supposed to be more expensive than the price of the apartment.
We got to Sorrento, and went directly to the Cubo, and the owner took us to the Crown Plaza. When we got there we found out there was a "misunderstanding" and the rooms they had for us were 2 small not connected rooms. Each of 24m2. So you can now see that we were paying the same price of an 140m2 apartment for two small bedrooms of 24m2. The onwer apologized and could not believe they had done this to him but also said there was no other option as he had nothing to offer us at Cubo. Also, at NO point did they said these smaller rooms were cheaper than the ones we supposedly had reserved, no... the difference was only for the Cubo owner who insteda of paying a difference of 160 euros he only paid 90. So to sum up: He absorved the money difference but we were the ones who were screwed. The cherry of the story is that the owner said he felt so bad, that he invited us to have dinner at Cubo one of our 3 nights there for the inconvenience... We thought, this was not fair but a nice gesture, so not to stay on a bad side we went there on our second night. When we arrived he was there to greet us, we ordered, the check came... He was no where to be seen. So, my father went ahead and payed for the 70 euro check. I (naive) thought he will discount it from the final check of the rooms. But when we had to check out of the Crown Plaza (where he instructed us no to pay, but to pay at Cubo before we left) the people from Crown Plaza said this person had asked us to pay at Crown Plaza and that he was coming later to settle his number. So, if you make the final numbers, with the dinner we paid at Cubo, he had a 20euro difference. From our side: we had to sleep 4 adults in 2 24m2 rooms. Spent 1 of our 3 nights at a restaurant we didn't want, spent 70euros on that dinner and also went through this awful ordeal of discussions and disagreements that affected our stay.
DO NOT TRUST THEM. They sound nice, but are true scammers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Cubo Apartments are family operated an Alfonso, Anna and their daughters run the apartments in a warm and welcoming way.

We stayed three nights using Vico Equense as a base for visiting Vesuvius & the Roman sites and the Sorrentina Peninsula. Getting to the town is very easy although the location for the apartments was not accurately shown on our navigation system or Google Maps (not the fault of the apartments of course!)

The apartments are on the main road through Vico Equense directly opposite a new underground parking garage. Parking is easy and a daily rate is available from Cubo.

The apartments themselves are clean, bright and well designed. The views from the apartment windows back over the bay to Vesuvius are terrific. Our room faced the main street which was noisy if the windows were opened, but with the double glazed windows closed & shutters drawn at night this dropped to negligible levels. This was the only detracting thing in the whole stay.

The food offered in the bistro is fantastic. The sushi is prepared in traditional Japanese manner (not westernised) and compares well to anywhere outside Japan. The local menu uses produce from Anna & Alfonso's garden and it is well worth eating whatever is in season at the moment. We ate both in the courtyard at ground level and on the rooftop terrace which offers stunning views.

I had several great conversations with the staff and really enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere. For this alone I would go back again, though I would love to try one of the rooms at the rear which offer better views of the landscape.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea side have best views and I guess would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a great apartment, very nice owners, beautiful town and excellent food at the Cubo restaurant!
We were with a group of 10 (4 adults and 6 children) and we have stayed in a huge, nice and stylish 300m2 apartment of Cubo. This apartment is just 100 meters away of their main building and restaurant.

We have had a brilliant time. The area is very nice with Pompei, Herculaneum, Naples, Sorrento, Capri. Lot of things to see and to do. For the food, you don't have to move. By far the best food is at Cubo apartments. Lovely home made pasta, great meat and fish and home made Lemoncello from their own organic lemons! Yes, one evening you can go the "famous" L' universita della pizza (with their 1m2 pizza) but the rest of the evenings, .... the Cubo restaurant.

Same goes for the breakfast with a nice variety of choices (which is not very common in Italy). I can recommend the home made lemon pie.

We will go back to this area and we will for sure stay at this place.
Fam Giorgi

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cubo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubo Apartments

Address: via filangieri 34/35, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#1 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The CUBO apartments are composed of 5 self-catering independent units, each one is different from the other for articulation and lay out of interior spaces but have the same feeling for philosophy of hospitality: the warmth of Naples, the freshness of Mediterranean atmosphere, the best of international design a landscape setting of charm as that of the Gulf of Naples will add to your stay that exclusivity extra.The cube is all created for the care of the smallest detail: from the selection of high quality coatings to architectural details and furnishings custom-designed for living rooms, bedrooms and bathrooms, construction craft ports, up to the careful choice of furnishings.The apartments are all equipped with ultra-light technology with touch screen for control (direct and indirect hot and cold), blinds, radio, television with surround sound and Sky, air conditioning and all that is electronic, they are also independent in the production for hot water, thanks to solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cubo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cubo Apartments Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cubo Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.