We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sporting

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sporting to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Sporting
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filangieri 127, Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
Castello delle Forme, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Living in Italy it takes a lot to impress me with a stunning view but this hotel not only has that but is a superb hotel too! We went with two other couples, Italian friends of ours and had a great time.

The hotel is on five floors yet the top floor is level with the road. The view from our room, and every room as far as I could tell, takes in the island of Capri, Naples, Pompei and Mount Vesuvius. Not only that but it has its own private beach with bar which is reached by lift going down 90m through soild rock from the hotel.

The rooms were beautiful and the service was second to none. It's an ideal place to stay when visiting Pompei and Sorrento, as we did. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Some rooms have bigger terraces, ours just had a balcony, but what a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is located on a cliff and most of the rooms looked out to the sea. We had wonderful view from our room! The room was clean but not much amenities. Bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was ok but coffee was so cold. Service could be further improved. We asked for pepper and additional food but the guy never showed up again.
It was a short walking distance from the village centre but the centre was kinda of quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Wonderful view from the room! The room was excellently cleaned every day.!
Nice breakfasts at the balcony and very good sevice by the friendly staff at the tables! Good service overall and nice staff!
The sunsets from the balcony are just amazing! Nice location in Vico Equense - quiet and calm, at a short walking distancce from the villages centre. We'll really like to come back some time!



  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hadar am
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel has a great potential.
It has the best view you can imagine. we had a room with big balcony, but in the balcony there were only uninvited chairs. the balcony is not private, and you feel like you share the balcony with the other rooms balcony.
when we first look at the hotel and the room we loved it. the room is clean.
the problem started at the shower. the towels could not be called towels, they were more sheet the towels.
the water were cold. I told this to the clerk and he did not have any suggestion.
wi-fi was good. there is no safe. there is no parking, you should park in a parking walking from the hotel.
after we had the shower experience we read the previous review from tripadvisor, it was a mistake not to read them before we checkin.
the walls were very thin, and we can hear all the noise from other rooms. at 6:30 there was a huge noise. there was an organize group that checkout this time, and they made a lot of noise.
according to recommendation in tripadvisor we went to breakfast early at 7:30 in the morning.
It was not early enough. the dinning room look like after a storm, all dirty.

tip: if you are in the area go to eat desert at Gelateria Gabriele (see recommendation at tripadvisor) order "delizia al limone", it is the best. we were there in the evening and in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just returned from a tour of Italy with 30 friends, which included 5 nights at the Hotel Sporting. The last 3 nights our group were the only guests at the hotel. Dining room staff was composed of "Old Mike" (aka Mr. Blackwell due to his elegance) and "Young Mike," who also served as our friendly bartender. We left the HS with regrets as we had lovely service, rooms, views, and meals (breakfasts and evening meals) during our stay. Our travel agent told us while we were en route to Rome that HS staff wanted us to visit again!

I was able to see 3 seaside rooms and 3 'back of house' rooms, one of which was mine. All rooms were pleasantly and simply furnished with pretty, Euro-sized, ceramic tiled bathrooms. Yes, bathroom towels were skimpy but I've found this to be true at most Italian hotels so I'd brought a spare medium-sized towel from home. Euro hotels do not provide washcloths so I'd brought my own as well.

My room was large with a king-sized bed and could have accomodated a cot if needed. I checked my bed & room closely for bedbugs or other creatures (as I always do) and found none. My bathroom included a standup shower, large sink, bidet, and toilet. Shower pressure and temp were fine. Daily room housekeeping was well done, too.

Room Tip: Bring an extra towel. Ask for a seaside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Good and beautiful location which is the only saving grace.
Bad room condition, broken shower door that was not fixed throughout the 4 night stay.
Very low water pressure and not hot enough for a normal shower.
Very thin towels not fit for showers.
Refrigerator not working.
No electrical outlet available in the room.
Broken light fixture in the balcony.
Poor Breakfast with poor service with mostly none fresh products.
Very bad value for the money and definitely not in par with 4 Star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel Sporting has definetely great location and great view from the balcony. However you should make sure that you will get the room with a big balcony with a view on a Monastery and Vesuvius, otherwise you will be completely disappointed.
The rooms are O.K., but nothing very fancy. The breakfast is good. The dinners are also good and are good value for money. The restaurant has a great view as well, however try to get to breakfast early in order to get the table on a balcony, otherwise you will have to sit at the boring restaurant , and not on a veranda.
The hotel has an elevator which goes through the mountain down to the beach, which is quite interesting.
Beach is good, they have a bar with some snacks and soft drinks.
My suggestion is if you are searching for a good and convenient base at Amalfi coast that can be your choice ( as Vico is located between Sorrento and Napoli), but if you want something more fancy, try to find a different hotel, but I cannot give a guarantee that a more luxury place will have such a magnificient and romantic view like there is from Hotel Sporting. Plus the staff at the reception is very friendly and ready to help. So, think...

Room Tip: Take the room with a balcony and the view on a sea and Vesuvius!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sporting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sporting

Also Known As:
Hotel Sporting Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples
Address: Via Filangieri 127, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#14 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sporting 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sporting reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sporting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.