We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely site!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sporting

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sporting to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sporting
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filangieri 127, Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
Sorrento
1 review
“Lovely site!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Wonderful view from the room! The room was excellently cleaned every day.!
Nice breakfasts at the balcony and very good sevice by the friendly staff at the tables! Good service overall and nice staff!
The sunsets from the balcony are just amazing! Nice location in Vico Equense - quiet and calm, at a short walking distancce from the villages centre. We'll really like to come back some time!



  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hadar am
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel has a great potential.
It has the best view you can imagine. we had a room with big balcony, but in the balcony there were only uninvited chairs. the balcony is not private, and you feel like you share the balcony with the other rooms balcony.
when we first look at the hotel and the room we loved it. the room is clean.
the problem started at the shower. the towels could not be called towels, they were more sheet the towels.
the water were cold. I told this to the clerk and he did not have any suggestion.
wi-fi was good. there is no safe. there is no parking, you should park in a parking walking from the hotel.
after we had the shower experience we read the previous review from tripadvisor, it was a mistake not to read them before we checkin.
the walls were very thin, and we can hear all the noise from other rooms. at 6:30 there was a huge noise. there was an organize group that checkout this time, and they made a lot of noise.
according to recommendation in tripadvisor we went to breakfast early at 7:30 in the morning.
It was not early enough. the dinning room look like after a storm, all dirty.

tip: if you are in the area go to eat desert at Gelateria Gabriele (see recommendation at tripadvisor) order "delizia al limone", it is the best. we were there in the evening and in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just returned from a tour of Italy with 30 friends, which included 5 nights at the Hotel Sporting. The last 3 nights our group were the only guests at the hotel. Dining room staff was composed of "Old Mike" (aka Mr. Blackwell due to his elegance) and "Young Mike," who also served as our friendly bartender. We left the HS with regrets as we had lovely service, rooms, views, and meals (breakfasts and evening meals) during our stay. Our travel agent told us while we were en route to Rome that HS staff wanted us to visit again!

I was able to see 3 seaside rooms and 3 'back of house' rooms, one of which was mine. All rooms were pleasantly and simply furnished with pretty, Euro-sized, ceramic tiled bathrooms. Yes, bathroom towels were skimpy but I've found this to be true at most Italian hotels so I'd brought a spare medium-sized towel from home. Euro hotels do not provide washcloths so I'd brought my own as well.

My room was large with a king-sized bed and could have accomodated a cot if needed. I checked my bed & room closely for bedbugs or other creatures (as I always do) and found none. My bathroom included a standup shower, large sink, bidet, and toilet. Shower pressure and temp were fine. Daily room housekeeping was well done, too.

Room Tip: Bring an extra towel. Ask for a seaside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Good and beautiful location which is the only saving grace.
Bad room condition, broken shower door that was not fixed throughout the 4 night stay.
Very low water pressure and not hot enough for a normal shower.
Very thin towels not fit for showers.
Refrigerator not working.
No electrical outlet available in the room.
Broken light fixture in the balcony.
Poor Breakfast with poor service with mostly none fresh products.
Very bad value for the money and definitely not in par with 4 Star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel Sporting has definetely great location and great view from the balcony. However you should make sure that you will get the room with a big balcony with a view on a Monastery and Vesuvius, otherwise you will be completely disappointed.
The rooms are O.K., but nothing very fancy. The breakfast is good. The dinners are also good and are good value for money. The restaurant has a great view as well, however try to get to breakfast early in order to get the table on a balcony, otherwise you will have to sit at the boring restaurant , and not on a veranda.
The hotel has an elevator which goes through the mountain down to the beach, which is quite interesting.
Beach is good, they have a bar with some snacks and soft drinks.
My suggestion is if you are searching for a good and convenient base at Amalfi coast that can be your choice ( as Vico is located between Sorrento and Napoli), but if you want something more fancy, try to find a different hotel, but I cannot give a guarantee that a more luxury place will have such a magnificient and romantic view like there is from Hotel Sporting. Plus the staff at the reception is very friendly and ready to help. So, think...

Room Tip: Take the room with a balcony and the view on a sea and Vesuvius!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent a week here as a base for exploring Naples area and Amalfi coast. Hotel is set on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a private beach and gorgeous view of Vesuvius and the bay. Desk is on 6th floor, at street level, guest rooms below. Very pretty hotel, but more a designer's idea of what a room should look like than one that functions well. Large room with comfortable beds but poorly laid out, with no storage space (one hook, no shelves) in the bathroom. Oversized "rainshower" shower head but not enough water pressure to make it useful...wire soap dish slanted so that the soap slipped right thru. Our room had no balcony, just a railing, so no place to hang wet towels, bathing suits. Separate elevator from 2nd floor to a rock tunnel that leads down to beach. Extra charge for use of beach chairs/umbrellas, which I would not expect for hotel guests. Dining room personnel purposefully wander away when you sit down for breakfast, so every morning was a game to wait for coffee, even tho there were very few guests. Desk personnel even worse. Upon check-in the desk clerk wouldn't even look up from the computer for 5 min. Even if he were engaged in something urgent, the right thing to do is say: I'll be with you shortly. Not a word. Same guy sat watching TV one night a few feet away while we waited at the desk for our room key. He was so sour that we dubbed him Signore Sunshine. Made no effort to interact with us until checkout, when all he wanted was for us to write a good review on TripAdvisor! If the hotel wants a good review, it needs to learn how to engage with guests courteously. Other 2 desk clerks and beach personnel were a bit more engaged but just barely. Hotel is about a 15 min walk from Circumvesuviana train station but beautiful view makes up for less-than-convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Amazing views and good value of money

We stayed a week in hotel sporting. It was very clean and well maintained. The location is unique. From the balcony of my room I could see all the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The personal at reception is very polite and was in our disposal every time. They gave us all the information we need and helped us giving good advices to find excursions, boat trips, etc. The hotel is right in the centre of Vico Equense with many restaurants, cafes, and night life. It is two minutes drive from Marina di Vico were the boat trips start. It is near the bus station and five minutes walk from Circumvesuviana railway station. The pebble beach was very good and well maintained. The only problem was that the sun reached the beach after half past ten in the morning. The see was warm and mostly clear and clean.
The breakfast was good but till half past ten. Sometimes this is a problem for families with little kids. The beach restaurant was not so good, with not many possibilities to choose and the service was slow. The beach bar and the beach servive werw very good.
I recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sporting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sporting

Address: Via Filangieri 127, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sporting 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Sporting reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sporting Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sporting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.