We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and good value of money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sporting

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sporting to your Saves list
Hotel Sporting
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filangieri 127, Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views and good value of money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Amazing views and good value of money

We stayed a week in hotel sporting. It was very clean and well maintained. The location is unique. From the balcony of my room I could see all the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The personal at reception is very polite and was in our disposal every time. They gave us all the information we need and helped us giving good advices to find excursions, boat trips, etc. The hotel is right in the centre of Vico Equense with many restaurants, cafes, and night life. It is two minutes drive from Marina di Vico were the boat trips start. It is near the bus station and five minutes walk from Circumvesuviana railway station. The pebble beach was very good and well maintained. The only problem was that the sun reached the beach after half past ten in the morning. The see was warm and mostly clear and clean.
The breakfast was good but till half past ten. Sometimes this is a problem for families with little kids. The beach restaurant was not so good, with not many possibilities to choose and the service was slow. The beach bar and the beach servive werw very good.
I recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    47
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sporting as part of a tour last week, the view from the rooms was unbelievable, checkin was a breeze, rooms were clean, plenty of hot water...what more could you ask for!

A bar near the balconies would have been nice, in such a prime area, a nice place to sit on the patio and have a few drinks and watch the sun go down however you have to find a waiter for every drink order which can be hard when they are trying to serve a huge resteraunt full of people.

Great work guy's keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Only stayed here one night, as was overbooked at the Grand Hotel Moon Valley by our tour operator
Therefore made up our rooms (to twin) last minute
Maid very helpful, even tho, no English spoken (we were in Italy after all!!)
Lovely and clean, basic accomodation, but the beach was the best of all!
Private beach right on the beach, access via lift from hotel (Altho a bit difficult working how to get back into hotel, as door opening out only from hotel- securitiy reasons??)
Great local beach tho, full of local people.
Free wi-fi code obtained from guy on reception ,presume free for guests.
TV a bit of an antique, but who's in Italy to watch TV (OK yes did watch a bit of the music channels, and CNN!)
Also a short stroll into the town centre, great location,
would stay here again!!!
(can't comment on parking, as was on a coach trip)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Hotel Sporting is a perfectly situated to be a home base for exploring the Amalfi Coast, Capri, Naples and Pompeii. The hotel has spotless, bright rooms with spectacular water views, accommodating service and nice meals, and is a stone's throw from the train station from which you can easily get to Sorrento or Naples, where you can find transportation to Pompeii, Positano, Capri, Amalfi and the coast. You'll pay a fraction of a similar place in Sorrento, and it's every bit as convenient (and quieter).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

hi to everybody...I've been in this Hotel for a personal week end with my girlfriend...and well we were vesy satisfied..!
the room are nice and clean...and the all staff is very polite and gentle...the private beach is Amazing..just 1 minute away from my room door, and i was already there...
Clean...nice...nice like the restaurant on the beach...with very polite people...
superb terrace that offer me the beautifull view of all Naples in front and Seiano on the left side...
nice nice nice...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

The hotel can be a gold mine: nice location, private beach, spacious rooms. Unfortunately as it frequently happens in Italy, the owners do not understand what modern tourism is. The hotel is cold, nobody shows you anything. You are left on your own devices. What a loss for Italy, they have yet to understand what the hotel industry is.

I would recommend the owners to sell the hotel to an international chain and to retire, they would do well for Italy and for the Coast.

I would refurbish the rooms, all with an incredible sea view, literally. I would care about the private beach, cleaning it from plastics ten times per day. I would give character to this potentially fabulous property. Wake up, make it big.

Italy , has incredible potential but old hotel owners.

Stay here taking into consideration what I have said.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

The hotel is clean and located beautifully directly on the cost with a private beach, but the service at the reception is bad, it looks like if there is more interest in groups than in individual guests. The television isn't working and there is no interest to help. Parking is a problem but is possible at 1 block away for 24 euro's per day, you have to leave your car keys at the garage guard. The garage isn't open all night and opens in the moring at 8, so don't forget anything in your car!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Sporting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sporting

Address: Via Filangieri 127, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sporting 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sporting reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sporting Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sporting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.