We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VIC' STREET

VIC' STREET
VIA NICOTERA, 51, Vico Equense, Italy
3347453898
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 76 restaurants in Vico Equense
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: IL LOCALE E' DOTATO DI PARCHEGGIO PRIVATO CUSTODITO E CON AUTISTA.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OK dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had read about Vic'Street, and stumbled across it meandering back to our hotel one day. Made reservations for that evening.
Food was OK. Wine was ---OK. Service was-----OK. All in all , an OK experience, but there are a lot of choices even in little Vice Equense.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    184
    34
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had read previous reviews on tripadvisor and thought we would give the restaurant a try and were glad we did. So glad I felt compelled to comment on our experience.

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and seated quickly. Upon being seated we were promptly brought complementary welcome prosecco based drinks and nibbles, this was a lovely touch. We went for the set menu upon the hosts recommendations and were very pleased we did. At 30 euro each the meal was very reasonably priced and hugely plentiful (I am glad we hadn’t had a large lunch!). The restaurant accommodated that one of the six of us is allergic to tomatoes and another doesn’t like fish. They adapted the fixed menu around our needs with no problems.

For the food, the starters comprised of plenty of cold meats, cheeses, salad and fish dishes, followed by a pasta dish with seafood for the second course. The third course was either a fish dish or in my husband’s case a steak which was huge! The fish was very tasty and fresh. Followed by a delicious desert and complementary grappa and limoncello. The house white was dry, light and very drinkable and again reasonably priced. The food was very tasty, good quality and plentiful. The price for the amount of food given was truly brilliant and far surpassed other restaurants we ate out in on our stay when considering value for money. The meal was a full Italian evening experience and thankfully not a rushed one. Yes there were gaps between courses but we all were very grateful for some time to digest one course before going onto another and the service was impeccable throughout.

As for the service we found it the most welcoming and attentive of our stay across vico, Sorrento and amalfi. The owners went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. We were given the recipe for the delicious tiramisu upon asking.

The restaurant is small and family run. Its set back off the main stretch although not far at all to walk (less than five minute walk from the main road). It was pretty inside, traditional and atmospheric.

In summary we were well looked after in every way, the food was delicious and very good value for money. It was clear to us that a lot of the family’s time, effort and passion goes into this restaurant. I think as a group we will all remember the night fondly so thank you Vic street we can’t recommend you enough and shall certainly be back without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Utterly dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Based on raves from TripAdvisor, we saved this restaurant for our last night of vacation. Huge mistake. I agree with the other recent posters who rated it Terrible and can only guess what has led to the downfall of what sounded like a once excellent place. I could drone on in detail about the experience, but I'll summarize. It took 2.5 hours to order and serve 2 courses. That was not leisurely dining, it was incompetence. The waitress would come by every so often to say "One minute...one minute." Time would pass. No food. Given that only 2 other tables were occupied when we arrived, with 6 occupied all night, this is inexcusable. We were not the only ones. The table across from us waited 40 minutes for the pasta course of their preset house menu (so the delay was not b/c they had ordered anything exotic or complicated), then another 5 minutes for silverware. One of the diners finally had to get up and ask at the bar for cutlery so she could eat. The food was deplorable. The zucchini flower antipasto was drenched in balsamic vinegar but otherwise tasteless, the pasta undercooked (no, not al dente, but undercooked enough that you could still taste the dough) and bland, the swordfish was undercooked, watery (possibly frozen), and arrived 10 min before my husband's dish. Again, we were not alone. Another table having a meat dish picked at a few potatoes, then put a napkin over the plate and pushed it away. The service ranged from frenetic (for no reason, since the place was half empty) to snippy. The atmosphere, which could have been charming, was marred by 2 babies crying at concert volume thruout the evening. When a few tables were removed for outside dining, one of the families decided to walk the baby up and down the empty space (rather than go outside) so that everyone could hear. In 30-some years of traveling, often in Italy, and after 2 weeks in Campania enjoying some exquisite food, this ties as the worst meal ever.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We visited this restaurant earlier this week whilst in the area on holiday due to the excellent reviews it has received on Trip Advisor.

The restaurant was quiet on this particular night but that didn't stop the owner and his daughter creating a brilliant atmosphere!

Food was excellent value and was of high quality. One word of warning though, make sure you are hungry before you visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Local gem we found on trip advisor... Very different from other 9 days of our dining experiences in Italy... Owner and his daughter ordered every course for us... Food was good.. Service was better... And the family style experience topped it off... Dont go if you are not hungry, unfomfortable with the language barrier, or don't have cash... Just a minor hick up for us.. Haha... One of the best dinner experiences we've had in Italy... Recommend it...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VIC' STREET also viewed

Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 

Been to VIC' STREET? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIC' STREET, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.