We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Osteria Nonna Rosa

Antica Osteria Nonna Rosa
Via Privata Bonea, 4, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
+39 0818799055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 84 Restaurants in Vico Equense
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Mixed bag ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The car park is handy, but scruffy. The entrance hall is charming, but the dining room is less so. There's a very odd nativity scene and some weird clowns.

The food was also mixed. The spaghetti, meat balls, lemon sorbet and lemon delize were fabulous. The roast chicken was unexciting. The waiter was so efficient it felt a little rushed.

Some tasty flavours. Ask for the little private area for a romantic meal for two.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    30
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Should have a Michelin Star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I dined here two times on each of two trips to Vico within the last few years. We found the level of service and the quality of the food and wine impeccable and unforgettable. From the time of our arrival we were treated very cordially and it was clear how sincerely the staff wanted to make your experience an excellent one. Each dish had to be admired before eating - they were so beautifully presented. One of our appetizers was a series of 6 large pacchieri shells, each with a variation of seafood and sauce. Each dish was exquisite. We continue to recommend this wonderful place and look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well deserved Michelin Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nomad Europe and we had the same experience..we ended up parking at the bottom of Via Bonea..when we finally found it...and then walked uphill for at least 10 minutes to finally reach the restaurant..also nearly an hour late. The GPS was very non specific. We could easily have driven there and parked beside the restaurant. But we did not give up!
Alora! All was well when did arrive..we were given the prime table in the small private wine alcove and were treated to a gastronomic feast. We both had the degustatione menu which includes all sorts of extras.amuse bouche..smoked linguini, excellent lamb..everything we ate was inventive and delicious. Staff were most gracious and helpful. Well deserved Michelin Star.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you are in the Amalfi area, you cannot miss out a great dining experience at Antica Osteria Nonna Rosa in Vicco Equense. It is located in a beautiful old mansion which belongs to the family. The chef is a master chef!!!! His innovations are with a passion and a lot of love towards the right ingredients and freshness of the produce! He can come up with the most amazing vegetarian menu! If left to him, he serves the most creative menu! The entire family is involved and above all the matriarch of the family takes complete care to see everything runs in precision order!
It was a wonderful Gastronomic experience!. the special olive oils, and cheeses used in the preparation of the dishes is exotic! A MUST do when in that area! Cheers!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Reserved at table at eight but arrived at restaurant at nine thirty. Problem for us non locals is that addresses should be exact if one is to be guided by GPS.

NOTE TO MANAGEMENT: Very important that address is given as Pietrapiano di Vico Equense and not just Vico Equense as it makes a difference and which explains why I arrived at restaurant one and a half hours late., though I'm glad that I did not give up in finding the restaurant.

Staff were gracious, attentive and efficient, food was superb and the wine (a Falanghina) could not have been better.

To add to the positive experience In between courses we were offered Chef specialities for which we were not charged.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria Nonna Rosa also viewed

Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 

Been to Antica Osteria Nonna Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Osteria Nonna Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.