We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Ancore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Ancore Hotel to your Saves list
Le Ancore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marina d'Aequa 39, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Monterey, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beware of this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I booked a hotel in Sorrento and my confirmation for the booking listed this hotel's address as Sorrento. Instead it is a 30 minute drive north of Sorrento in a town nowhere near the city I had booked in. It cost us 50 EUR for a taxi from the Sorrento train station. We received no direct confirmation from the hotel, no correspondence at all prior to our arrival - which may have alerted us to the problem. Our booking confirmation didn't even list an e-mail address or phone number for the hotel. After spending the first night (as we had no choice upon arrival) we spoke to the manager in the morning, showing her our booking reservation which said her address was in Sorrento and explaining we were meeting friends in Sorrento and the information was incorrect on the booking website. As the cancellation rules said a late cancellation was possible for the price of one night's stay we asked her to cancel the rest of the week and just charge us the one night stay. She refused saying she would charge us as though we were a "no show" for the full week. We offered to pay for another night even though we were not staying. She said it was not her fault the address was wrong. She would not waiver, so we left and we will dispute the charge with our credit card company. Our confirmation clearly stated we were booked in a hotel in Sorrento. I checked a day later and she had already booked our room the day after we left - the hotel was completely full, so there was no monetary loss at all on her part, only on ours. A business owner is responsible for accurate information being provided to the booking agencies, so that argument is totally irrational on their part. When we were trying to find our way to the hotel the desk person kept confusing us with another party and after we were shown to our room the desk person knocked on our door 10 minutes later saying it was the wrong room. We repacked and were moved to a much, much smaller room. Very poorly run property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
48
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had a last minute change of plans to return to southern Italy. I was tired of traveling to new cities and wanted to return to the Amalfi Coast where I have been the most comfortable and happy. I discovered the Vico Equense (located on the coast between Napoli & Sorrento)....AND Hotel Le Ancore. I am so happy that they accepted my last minute reservation. Sabrina and her staff could not be MORE welcoming, accommodating and wonderful. Every attention to detail is here. Sabrina is one classy act and it shows in everything from the rooms, the service, the breakfast and even dinner. I enjoyed dinner here tonight and had the chef's special of tuna pasta...delicious. After three weeks of travel, to end my time in Italia in this beautiful spot made my trip. Thank you, Hotel Le Ancore and Sabrina!

Room Tip: I had room #1 which was perfectly great. A view of Napoli across the bay, perfetto!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stresa, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and almost at the end of their season. It was a business trip/ vacation..so we were out all day most of the time.
Room was small but clean and cozy. The cupboard was too small for us. TV channel was limited (only some advertising channel, music and Italian channel). Mini bar was beverage only. Wi-Fi worked really well. We had a balcony and the view was AMAZING.
The bathroom was tiny, especially the shower. But they had a good amenities.
Breakfast was good, sort of continental breakfast type. They make a good cappuccino and latte macchiato.
The mascot of the hotel was Willie. A very friendly dog with a good hospitality that always welcome you ;)
Overall it was an okay experience. Will we be back? We don't know..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Le Ancore one night before entering the Amalfi coast. The Le Ancore is like a raw diamond or an oasis in the chaos of Neapel region. The rooms are a little on the small side. The shower was the smallest I have ever taken a shower in, therefor not all points were granted, BUT the whole atmosphere is so cozy and charming that the size of the rooms is more than compensated. All rooms have a nice balcony overlooking the marina and with a great view of the Vesuv. The breakfast is wonderful and with a sense for nice little details such as stylish pottery and lots of charme again.
A nice little hideaway, perfect for a nice time for couples with a nice chill-out lounge overlooking the Vesuv bay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic little hotel! Lovely breakfast in the morning with a very helpful staff. Beautiful small town where you can feel part of the lifestyle of the locals. We rented a boat and a skipper and sailed up the fantastic coastline. What a wonderful experience! Great hotel Dana!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

30 Oct. 2011.
Dana is a very happy person & helpful.
The bar men make very good latte macchiato.
Room big enough and you have view to the sea & Vesuvio.
The only minus is the road to the hotel , but it take 2-3 minutes to pass it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsby
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

this hotel is not a 4*, it is a good,clean, friendly hotel, the staff are very nice & helpful,we had a superior room. no fridge,tv only italian channels, but the problem with these rooms is the standard rooms are above and you can hear whats going on + when the shower is used etc you can hear the water running the breakfast is average

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Ancore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ancore Hotel

Address: Via Marina d'Aequa 39, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Ancore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Ancore is a hotel by the sea, located in Vico Equense, a little town on Sorrento Coast. The hotel offers room and family suite with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Ancore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Ancore Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Ancore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.