We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cozy enough for a short stayed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Ancore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Ancore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Ancore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marina d'Aequa 39, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
Stresa, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Small but cozy enough for a short stayed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and almost at the end of their season. It was a business trip/ vacation..so we were out all day most of the time.
Room was small but clean and cozy. The cupboard was too small for us. TV channel was limited (only some advertising channel, music and Italian channel). Mini bar was beverage only. Wi-Fi worked really well. We had a balcony and the view was AMAZING.
The bathroom was tiny, especially the shower. But they had a good amenities.
Breakfast was good, sort of continental breakfast type. They make a good cappuccino and latte macchiato.
The mascot of the hotel was Willie. A very friendly dog with a good hospitality that always welcome you ;)
Overall it was an okay experience. Will we be back? We don't know..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    17
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
43
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Le Ancore one night before entering the Amalfi coast. The Le Ancore is like a raw diamond or an oasis in the chaos of Neapel region. The rooms are a little on the small side. The shower was the smallest I have ever taken a shower in, therefor not all points were granted, BUT the whole atmosphere is so cozy and charming that the size of the rooms is more than compensated. All rooms have a nice balcony overlooking the marina and with a great view of the Vesuv. The breakfast is wonderful and with a sense for nice little details such as stylish pottery and lots of charme again.
A nice little hideaway, perfect for a nice time for couples with a nice chill-out lounge overlooking the Vesuv bay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic little hotel! Lovely breakfast in the morning with a very helpful staff. Beautiful small town where you can feel part of the lifestyle of the locals. We rented a boat and a skipper and sailed up the fantastic coastline. What a wonderful experience! Great hotel Dana!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

30 Oct. 2011.
Dana is a very happy person & helpful.
The bar men make very good latte macchiato.
Room big enough and you have view to the sea & Vesuvio.
The only minus is the road to the hotel , but it take 2-3 minutes to pass it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsby
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

this hotel is not a 4*, it is a good,clean, friendly hotel, the staff are very nice & helpful,we had a superior room. no fridge,tv only italian channels, but the problem with these rooms is the standard rooms are above and you can hear whats going on + when the shower is used etc you can hear the water running the breakfast is average

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We chose this hotel after much research primarily due to the great reviews we read on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel was new, clean, beautifully decorated and the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. If you're looking for a tourist area don't stay there but if you want a small town feel in a beautiful location, you'll love the hotel. The rooms are small but so bright an airy that it was not a problem especially when you opened the door to the terrace. The only draw back was that since it was only April a lot of the buses and ferries were running on a limited schedule which presented a problem as we had canceled our car rental. The hotel manager did everything she could to help us plan our stay with limited transportation and it all worked out just fine. If you go there and need a driver, I highly recommend that you ask the hotel to call Franco for you. He drove us to Amalfi and Positano for the day. He charged a fraction of what private drivers that we looked up on the internet were charging and he was so nice and friendly.

There are surprisingly lots of restaurants in this small area all of which were very good. Day trip to Capri was great as was trip to Pompeii. The town of Vico Esquense is a steep walk up a hill but if you have a car it won't be a problem. There are more restaurants and a fairly large town up there for whatever you may need.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We recently returned from our amazing honeymoon at Le ancore. I had previously spent hours trailing the internet for somewhere lovely to stay and hoped that this place lived up to all its reviews. Actually it exceeded them. The location was just what we wanted, quaint little harbour town instead of tourist trap like Sorrento, but easy access to everywhere we wanted to visit. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and SO clean! The photo's are great but still dont do it justice. We stopped in room 5 which was one of their larger rooms as its on the end. The views from the balcony are amazing, the little harbour down below and Mount Vesuvius & Naples accross the bay. Some days we just stayed in the room and this was no problem to the staff. Speaking of whom, they have the perfect balance of professionality & friendliness, speaking great English too. The breakfast was more than most continental breakfasts have had to offer me in the past - they had the usual pastry's & cereal but also cakes, meats & cheeses, fruit salad and more. We drove there and really struggled to find the place as Italy doesn't 'do' road signs, take sat nav if your driving. There's really no need to hire a car tho, the local bus runs frequently to town where there are plenty of coaches and trains available, also there's a boat stops in the harbour to take you to Capri. Locally there are a handful of restaurants, most of which were great that we tried. We did quite a lot of exploring & even visited some other hotels as we were there for a friends wedding and we just kept coming home each evening & remarking on how a great a find Le Ancore had been, our friends stopped at a 5 star place with views of Capri & we still thought our place was more perfect for us! Only one reservation and that is that the bed was a little on the hard side for us, but even that we got used to after a few nights. We've stopped in a lot of hotels and we really couldn't recommend this one enough! Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Ancore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ancore Hotel

Address: Via Marina d'Aequa 39, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Ancore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Ancore is a hotel by the sea, located in Vico Equense, a little town on Sorrento Coast. The hotel offers room and family suite with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Le Ancore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Ancore Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Ancore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.