We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday @ Hotel Mary (end of July to August 2014)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mary to your Saves list
Hotel Mary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filangieri 132, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday @ Hotel Mary (end of July to August 2014)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and i stayed a hotel mary. from our room (balcony view) you could see the pool and the hot tub. if you looked further on you could see the sea. the hotel room is very basic and even though we had stayed there last year we only noticed this year that there was no head board. both my husband and i agreed that the toilet seat was not secure and extremly uncomfortable. you can always hear people at night/ealry morning slamming doors, not sure whether they are the cleaners inconsiderate people also staying a hotel. Cannot fault the restaurant, the food is excellent. the breakfast buffet is extremly bland with not imagination or thought put into it. reception staff are friendly,and extremly professional. waiters - hmmmmm, i guess everyone has a different experence..........
the hotel is sufficient but not the best. the location is perfect. The hotel has a lot of potential and room to improve if say someone/bodies invested in it and gave it a whole new face lift and perhaps brought it into the 21st centurty and perhaps send the waiters on a few courses on how to behave and conduct oneself.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    64
    22
    11
    8
See reviews for
40
96
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
walsall, UK
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights as part of a tour group. Disappointed our room overlooked the street but we still used the balcony. Did not hear the traffic at night. Air conditioning and a fan in the room, both of which worked. Asked for extra pillows, which were brought immediately. Wished there had been drawers etc, rather than just shelves. Bathroom was small. Walk in shower but nowhere to put toiletries once inside. Hair dryer was awful. Cleaning of the room was very good. Door to the bedroom was very awkward to lock. Had a safe but it wasn't bolted down!!! Wonderful view from the terrace. Breakfast was very monotonous. Food at night was hit and miss. Only 2 choices for each course. Had to pick at breakfast what you wanted for the evening meal! Swimming pool was ok. Staff were friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Can't believe the negative reviews for this one. I had a 3 night stay as part of a coach tour and we had no problems at all. My room overlooked the swimming pool which didn't bother me, no point in a sea view unless you spending all your time in the room. The food was fine and the staff pleasant. The air conditioning was fine and worked well.

Room Tip: Difficult to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were here with a tour group of 50, mostly students. The pool closed at 7PM, a little early I think. The night's meal was good, compared to some we had. Breakfast in the other hand, was not. Of course we could have paid more for a better breakfast. The staff was a bit rude at times, giving us dirty looks for having a good time. We weren't rude or being ugly, just laughing and joking. Some of the party even got told to leave the dining area for being too loud. However, when I was trying to go to bed at 11:30, the dining party out on the balcony below my room was outrageously loud. I was told the party would end by midnight. It seemed like every single room was different, you can't go by the pictures. The blue tile floors are pretty but that's about it. The beach access is by NO MEANS close. You have to walk up the road and then down about 400+ steps. Glad we were only at this stop for 1 night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The first thing to say is that this review would almost certainly have been different if we had stayed as a couple, and not as one of a group of 44.
The rooms in the hotel vary quite dramatically, some having sea views with balconies, some having street views with balconies. Our room had a sea view but was crammed into a corner and quite cramped in size - fine for an overnight stay, but not good for a six day stay which we had. Supposedly they had air conditioning, but it was worse than useless. It's good that they had ceiling fans as backup otherwise sleeping would have been very sticky in Summer.
I cannot fault the cleaning, or most of the receptionists, but the staff in the restaurant quite clearly gave better service to those dining a la carte, from those like ourselves, who were on full board as part of the couch tour. Just two examples, we decided to have wine on two evenings and noticed that those eating a la carte had a little poured for tasting, ours was plonked on the table like a bottle of water, and several times, people on our table were missed out and had to call a waiter over with food.
For breakfast everyone had continental, but for evening meal, those of us on the coach group were given a choice of two, the main course being placed on a plate in the kitchen before being served to us. Now I expect that the food was part of a budget plan, and it may be that the coach company Leger, had something to do with the choice and price, but to us staying there, the food was at best average, and at worst poor, with very patchy service.
Interestingly, the only night the service picked up was on our last night there - I wonder if it had something to do with the gratuities box being placed in a prominent position at the front of the restaurant.
I would not recommend this hotel. It classes itself as 4 star, Leger give it 3 stars, but to me, it is 2 star at best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea, but not one in a corner of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

A real treasure of a hotel, from the minute we arrived to the second we departed the staff couldn't have done more for us. The views from our bedroom and where we ate breakfast we're jaw dropping and made you feel you were on holiday the minute you sat down! We were hugely impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel at all times and the staff were extremely attentive. Be aware the steps down to the beach require stamina and care! Also do take beach shoes with you as the beach is a mixture of sand and pebbles. The beach cafe is well stocked and has plenty of sun loungers free for guests. We ate at the hotel some nights (you have to with that view!) but with the town centre only a 5 minute walk away you have plenty of choice of where to eat. We WILL be going back!

Room Tip: Floor 2 or 3 for the view across the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We chose this place, since it is conveniently located in an area close to the Amalfi coast and Pompei, but is not full of tourists itself. This proved to be a good choice. Our room had balcony with a very nice sea and mountain view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a private parking lot, and the staff provide you with valet parking. This was very convenient.

The hotel has a nice restaurant and pizzeria, where we dined two nights out of the five we stayed there. We tried two more restaurants in town (Terramia and Titos, both were fine). Breakfast was also OK, but the variety was not great. The restaurant staff were very friendly, especially Mario who likes to chat with the guests and greet them in their language. Thanks, Mario, for the service

The room itself and the shower were clean and the shower pressure and temperature were excellent. Overall a very nice place.

The main problem with the hotel is noise. You can here every door being opened or closed, and anyone talking in the corridor. Our room (no. 411)was on the top floor, right next to the elevators. We could hear the elevator motor every time it was operated - which was terrible. We did not ask to change to another room, as we had completely unpacked when we noticed that. The management has to add a significant amount of sound isolation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Address: Via Filangieri 132, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#5 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mary 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mary Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.