We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mary

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mary to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filangieri 132, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Vico Equense
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from an excellent week at this hotel. We had a triple room , which was very clean and spacious.The shower was amazing too. Great views over to Capri, lovely at breakfast on the terrace and sunset in the evening. All the staff were lovely, very helpful , professional and welcoming. It is a great base to visit Pompeii, Heraclaneum, and Sorento from. It isn't far from the local train station, which goes along the coast. If you want to visit Amalfi, and Capri, go to Sorento and take trips from their. We didn't, this time as we were too tired after the trek up to the top of Vesuvius in the heat! All in all an excellent hotel. Obviously it depends on the other guests, when we were there there was a mixture of nationalities and age ranges. All very nice too.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    55
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
32
85
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KEIGHLEY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed at beginning of July for 9 days, picked it because reviews were very good and I will be honest it is a lovely hotel, staff are lovely and within easy reach of Sorrento and Vico Equense is a lovely Italian town, what lets it down was 40 teenage girls arriving one day ,okay they are on a trip but then 34 American boys turn up too equals mayhem ,boys drinking wine and beer glasses and bottles breaking, shouting, chasing down corridors.
Day 2 20 girls on trip 20 by tiny pool so go out for day, come back American boys causing mayhem again.
Day 3 girls still here so go out again and guess what American boys leave and 40 Engilsh boys turn up equals chaos bottles smashed by pool and In the pool ,oh no swimming after 6pm unless your with a school then you can swim all night and not one member of staff says anything.
Day 4 still same old ,told boys off for swimming at 11pm and breaking glass and being drunk.
Day 5 girls go home , boys go home yayyyyy, guess what 20 teenagers turn up again ,no problem with school trips but what this hotel has to realise 70-80 in one go is crazy and not fair to anybody ,it has a small pool area and staff that do not discipline anyone despite witnessing so much bad behaviour.
I have never left a bad review in my life, this was my dream holiday, i had 3 amazing days in Rome and I actually told one of the teachers at Hotel Mary that they had ruined my holiday and when I complained about the kids running up and down the corridors, screaming, dragging furniture above me, banging on walls ,shouting, going up and down in the lift -nightmare- reception didn't care ,told them and they went OK
Pick any month other than June or July and you probably be ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just returned from a group tour of Italy and Greece and had the unfortunate opportunity to stay at this hotel. We were traveling with a tour group of 12 well behaved high school students and 6 parents. We were treated horribly by the staff. For instance while the entire restaurant was set with cloth napkins, we were only given one cheap paper napkin. While the rest of the restaurant was given nice plated meals we were only granted an half burnt and cold piece of grilled chicken and all the pasta we could want. Meanwhile the rest of the restaurant had a beef and a fish selection. According to our tour guide he had no control over their menu selection. The second night fare was not much better as we were told that we would have a "surprise special dessert" which turned out to be a frozen instant chocolate mousse while everyone else in the restaurant had nicer dessert selection and were offered coffee while we were ignored. It was nearly 100 degrees while we were there and when a teacher inquired at the front desk if it were possible to get additional towels for the students who wished to swim in the hotel pool the staff replied that each towel would cost 5 Euros. Then the staff complained to the tour group leader that the pool goers were tracking excess water into the elevators. Really, do you think offering a second towel would have prevented this? While the rooms appeared clean 8 of us suffered with sore throats and coughing and the lower floors smelled of damp wet basement --- MOLD was growing in the AC units and the rooms lacked any ventilation except a very hard to open window that we could not open because we faced the street and had exhaust fumes and loud street noise as our only option to ventilation. The staff was NOT very nice, NOT very accommodating, NOT very willing to step beyond the very minimum in service, it almost seemed like they were expecting some sort of bribe money to ensure we had any hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryvico, Proprietario at Hotel Mary, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. For us is very important to know the opinion of our guests but let me clarify a few points:
-For all members our staff every guest is important at the same way and our warm and friendly hospitality is one our main skills.
- You travelled in a school trip which was part of a low cost programme. Our services were contracted with the travel agency at moment of the reservation specifying what was included and what was extra indicating cost and details for example the cost of extra towel. However if your students were using the lift completly wet depends only on their limited politeness.
- All the menus were decided from your travel agency but any guest had the possibility to choice whatever they would like from the menù à la carte.
- All the hotel rooms have air conditioning, fan, and balconies with very large Windows so there are 3 ways of ventilation.
- I have big doubts about the bad smell in the rooms because the housekeeping open everyday all the Windows while the room cleaning and they also use special products to perfume the rooms.
- the hypothesis that the staff expects as you mention "bribe money" is very offensive for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

First of all, this was was one of least expensive hotels we stayed in Italy. There could be many improvements, but this is what I consider budget accommodations, and for the price, we got a balcony, a nice view of the sea and the surrounding area, and the staff was very, very nice and helpful. In fact, they were some of the friendliest staff I've encountered at any hotel. Most were young males.

That being said, the floors in the room and balcony were not clean enough, so I had to ask to have them cleaned on our second day. The rest of the room was clean, but I think the bed spreads could use some updating. We were in room 310 (considered floor #1 in this hotel) next to the elevator, and above the restaurant. No problem with noise, except we could hear the above room's toilet flush occasionally. The bed was not comfortable, but we asked for two extra pillows our second night, which were pretty good pillows and it helped us sleep better.

Wifi was 5 Euros an hour (minimum), but it is cumulative and they track your time. Connection was slow at times.

We were booked in a "twin sea view" room, but I made a request in the reservation for a sea view with balcony in a quiet area of hotel. There were elevators, an air conditioner, and an empty fridge that you will need to stock yourself if you want to use it.

I found other hotels on the Amalfi Coast to be much more expensive, and this one was convenient in location, so I chose it based on that criteria.

Dinner in the restaurant was quite good. Breakfast was okay, but first day I had a croissant, and it could not have been made the same day. It was unappetizing. The sliced loaf bread, however, was surprisingly very good and fresh. It was definitely made in a different place from the croissants. My boyfriend didn't like the coffee.

The staff helped us with parking in Ravello and with directions on how to return our rental car. They were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stopped here for 3 nights earlier this month. Lovely little family run hotel. Our first impression wasn't a great one unfortunately. We had requested a sea view room when booking almost a year earlier, I know this is never guaranteed but after a long couple of days travelling I was looking forward to getting into my room and relaxing on my balcony overlooking the sea. Unfortunately we didn't get a sea view room, which whilst disappointing wasn't really an issue. However my room did directly overlook the swimming pool, infact I probably could have hopped my balcony directly into the pool it was so close. Again probably not usually an issue, however on the day we arrived, so had a very large group of American students who were running riot in the pool, it really was incredibly loud with so much splashing and screaming I thought Vesuvius had errupted. They were only having fun and I couldn't blame them, but it did kind of destroy the illusion of a nice relaxing arrival when you have to close all your doors and windows up to block out the hysterical screaming and shouting. Other than that they were a very polite, well spoken and well mannered group.

After that initial suprise though everything was great. The food was very good, served in a very nice, very airy dining room with a sea view just behind you from the balcony. Breakfast was plentiful with a decent selection and the staff were very professional. The location is good, just a very short 5 minute walk from the main square of Vico Equense which I can definitely recommend taking a walk to of an evening. I only wish we had more time to visit and explore this little town but the long busy days, travelling and sometimes late dinners meant we were often too tired by the time dinner was finished. Would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Mary in early June on a holiday tour with Leger.
Staff were helpful and friendly and room was very pleasant although it was noisy as it overlooked a busy road. Traffic fumes at peak times meant that it wasn't good to have windows and doors open and that was definitely a downside. Rooms at the rear are better with wonderful views over the harbour. The air-con was quiet and worked well.
Food was good, not outstanding but decent. Meal times were a bit chaotic but that was part of the experience. As one of our day trip guides was fond of saying " It's Italy, we do chaos very well!"
We liked the hotel very much and would stay there again. It was part of a very lovely holiday.
Vico Equense is a pleasant little town and ideally situated as a base for touring and only a short walk from the hotel. There are buses and trains to Pompei, Herculaneum and Naples but beware as the trains are often very crowded and extremely hot. Even the locals looked uncomfortable!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quiter, have a better view but do get warmer during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 6 nights in the hotel as part of a Leger tour. The first 3 nights we were unable to sleep due to the traffic noise- the tunnel bypassing the town was shut and it was non-stop traffic in front of the hotel The fumes and noise made me feel ill. We were then moved and for the next 3 nights it was like being on a different holiday! Peace, quiet and a lovely view over the harbour. We were at last able to sit out on the balcony and enjoy a drink after sightseeing and then sleep at night.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking harbour NOT ROAD
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Address: Via Filangieri 132, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#4 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mary 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mary Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.