We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but we were expecting more with all the fantastic reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Hilda B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vico Equense
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Hilda B&B
Save
You added Villa Hilda B&B to your Saves list
Via Campitiello, 1 | Loc Montechiaro, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 Vico Equense B&B and Inns
Paihia, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ok but we were expecting more with all the fantastic reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were very dissappointed in Villa Hilda's location. The villa is quite isolated and while having a car is beneficial, driving in Italy is not for everyone! We had a car but the drive to the Villa is sooo narrow we decided to use public transport and keep sane. That meant we had to catch the last bus every night at 8.45pm from Vico Equense up the hill to Hilda's, so we were limited as to what we could do. We arrived on a Sunday and there is nothing in the area around the Villa to do, nowhere to eat, you have to go into town for everything, so once again you have to rely on public transport. We thought the view was stunning, but you get the view anywhere on the Amalfi Coast, the breakfast was very nice, but Hilda didn't seem to know much about public transport etc, so you are left to try and work out where and when the bus leaves etc. The place is spotless, but we would not stay here again or recommend, instead stay right in Vico Equense which is a great little town and on the flat, close to trains and buses, lots of restaurants and shops etc. Also the wifi only works outside next to Hilda's room, (it was cold) the TVs don't work, and Hilda didn't know how to fix them either plus our shower was tiny and hopeless.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the big shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villahilda, Proprietario at Villa Hilda B&B, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Google Translation
Sono addolorata che il vostro soggiorno non è stato d’accordo a vostre aspettative, e considero sempre le critiche un elemento positivo, dove poter migliorare il servizio quando questo dipende da noi.
Pur tropo non dipende da noi la vostra decisione di non guidare la macchina lasciandola nel nostro parcheggio per tutta la durata del soggiorno,luogo di facile circolazione e utilizzare i mezzi pubblici che certamente anno un orario da rispettare.
Le strada strette sono una caratteristica de tutta la zona, come ho fatto anche con voi consiglio sempre di noleggiare una macchina piccola ma soltanto per poter arrivare vicino alla villa , per il parcheggio a 300 mt. nessun problema.
Montechiaro è una piccola frazione pero ci sono due supermercati e due ristoranti ed a kilometro e mezzo si trovano dell’ altri.
Al vostro arrivo vi ho fatto scegliere la camera non immaginavo che la doccia poteva non essere del vostro gradimento, le sue misure sono standard, 70x70cm., l’altra misura 90x110cm, sapendolo potevamo cambiarla.
A differenza di molti alberghi abbiamo deciso di dare ai nostri ospiti il servizio wi-fi gratis e mi dispiace che per voi sia stato necessario usufruirle soltanto in giardino, cercheremo di migliorarlo.
Per quanto riguarda la televisione avete ragione, non funzionava , la mia colpa ; è nuova non ho saputo sintonizzare i canali in chiaro.
Vi chiediamo scusa delle nostre mancanze, abbiamo a nostro avviso cercato di darvi tutta la libertà possibile, anche il uso della cucina senza costi aggiunti , cosa non prevista in modalità B&B, ma ad volte ci sono degli incomprensioni che non permette un dialogo aperto.
Generalmente i nostri ospiti ci scelgono per la tranquillità e serenità che il luogo offre dopo una giornata di avventure .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent five nights at Villa Hilda in January. The first thing to be aware of is the narrowness of the only road – Via Alberi – just before it reaches Villa Hilda. On no account accept a rental car upgrade, even if offered free. We had a Fiat Panda and that just about squeezed between the stone walls on either side of the road at one point. A rental car is really essential if you are staying at Villa Hilda. We picked up our car at Naples Airport. There are no car rental desks in the airport arrivals hall. You need to go out of the right side of the hall, past a taxi rank and across the road to a car park. Keeping to the right, there is an area marked car rentals where a regular minibus transfers back and forth to the rental cars area which is in a large compound just around the next corner on the right – easily walkable if the minibus is delayed.
Villa Hilda is in the village of Montechiaro, just off the main coast road down to Sorrento after passing Vico Equense. There is a new sign for Montechiaro to the left that gives more warning than the one opposite the turning on Googlemaps. The road immediately turns right parallel to the main road and begins to climb up the hill. Villa Hilda is effectively at the very end of this road so it is a case of pressing on even when the road seems to be impossibly narrow. The scraped and dented nature of local cars served to underline that great care is needed!
Villa Hilda is on the ground floor of a large house in its own compound – elevated on the coastal side with a lovely view across the bay to Vesuvius. The weather in January did not unfortunately allow us to sit on the terrace and admire the view. A good breakfast was instead provided in the kitchen by Hilda each morning. Hilda also provides fairly basic evening meals if requested. Most of the time we ventured down into Sorrento to eat and found the very central Syrenuse Bar/Ristorante to be a good and reliable option.
The location is very central for Sorrento, the Amalfi coast, Pompeii and Vesuvius – all of which we easily accessed by car. One other place we can recommend is the Palace of Caserta, just north of Naples. This is on the scale of Versailles, with lovely rooms and gardens.
Perhaps we didn't see the best of Villa Hilda in January - it is much more a summer than a winter kind of place, but we enjoyed Hilda's hospitality and kindness (including flags and cake with candle for my birthday!) and the wonderful views across the Bay of Naples.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Villa Hilda is a very cute, clean and romantic place to stay while traveling along Amalfi coast. It a has a great view over the Vesuvio. Mrs. Hilda was a very nice host, preparing a home made breakfast, especially the home made cakes and cookies. I would recommend this place to everyone especially to those who want to enjoy a calm evenings and mornings out of the crowdy coast. One useful recommendation, take a small car (ex. Lancia Y) as the road to Villa Hilda is more than narrow.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villahilda, Owner at Villa Hilda B&B, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear friends,
I am very happy to have your news and that was our little corner of serenity to your liking, because our happiness is when we make our guests feel good.
Thanks for the great photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puthukkudiyiruppu, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

You must go there. Amalfi Coast is one of the best places in the world, the view, history, food, and people, makes the place worth the money. I went to Villa Hilda B&B several times for it services, the incredible view to the Naples bay, the Vesuvius, the reasonable prices and the way Hilda make you feel very welcome and comfortable. You have privacy and yet you feel like you are at home. That place is not just a place to sleep, it is the very taste of Italy. I certainly will go back soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Hilda B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hilda B&B

Address: Via Campitiello, 1 | Loc Montechiaro, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Vico Equense
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Villa Hilda B&B Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Hilda B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.