We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ketty Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Ketty Resort to your Saves list
Villa Ketty Resort
Via Comunale Scraio 11, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 32 Vico Equense B&B and Inns
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The loving family who owns this villa are professional, but more importantly they make you feel as though you are part of their family. My wife and I stayed here with our two kids and my 80 year old father. They treated us like royalty! The grounds are beautiful with fruit trees everywhere and the views are simply breathtaking! Antonio and his family will make sure you have whatever you need to make your stay absolutely perfect. His hospitality goes beyond anywhere we have ever stayed. We spent nearly 3 weeks in Italy. Villa Ketty was indeed the highlight of the trip. I recently sent some friends there and they too were impressed beyond words. If you plan to visit the Amalfi Coast, this place is a MUST!!! Antonio, keep up the great work! I will never forget the bottle of wine you gave us to enjoy on your beautiful patio!!! My wife & I plan to come back for a longer visit....maybe without our children next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
109
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been there only 2 nights ,but this family got inside our hearts
The place is just Amazing , such a lovely and warm family , doing everything they can to make your time there one big pleasure
The place is magical and so romantic , we just didn't want to leave there.
We did 2 hours working in their gallery painting on ceramics they gave us and we were patiently guided by ketty's daughter for 2 hours
It was fun , relaxing and good experience for us.( recommended )
You cannot reach with your car to the villa , but this only make he place more special anyhow , the family takes you back
And forth when ever we needed
Bottom line , great place to stay !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoast
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've waited for a couple of weeks to write about Villa Ketty. I wanted to find the best words and give true justice to the place and its amazing owners. But it's still not easy to come up with an accurate and convincing description of this small luxurious place on the edge of the Amalfi Coast, in short - it is truly the best!
We arrived really late at night to the small town of Vico Equense. The town has its own charms enjoyed by locals more then tourists. We parked at the Pizza by a Meter underground garage (as instructed in the email). Mario (the owner) was there to pick us up. He drives an old 60s "Beatles" minivan as it is one of the rare vehicles that can make it to the hotel located on the top of a cliff above Mediterranean sea. The streets are narrow and curvy and the drive reminded us of a "rush hour" game requiring strategic decision making about backing up and turning around. :)
Owners: The place is owned and run (hands-on) by one family and is named after its matriarch - beautiful Signora Ketty. Her husband (Mario), two daughters and son-in-law are in the villa every day: driving the guests, preparing and serving the unbelievably fresh and homey breakfast, greeting and making their guests stay as comfortable and worry-free as possible, running pottery classes for kids and sharing home-made (by Ketty) limoncello and samba.
Rooms: Family rooms are facing the sea with no direct view from windows but a huge terrace in front. There is also a main road right below but the noise subsides around mid-night and almost unnoticeable once inside. These rooms have beds on two floors, very spacious, very clean. Other rooms are located on the higher floor and are more isolated.
Beds and pillows: on the harder side (personal preference).
Bathroom: very clean, on a smaller side, narrow, with not enough space for toiletries (very minor inconvenience that can be easily solved with some additional hangers and stands).
Breakfast: amazing! Everyone here already accurately described it. It was the best in Italy (we stayed at the 5 start Rome and Venice hotels). It is fresh (fruits are from the orchard), cheeses and meats are from local farmers, juices and various fruit preserves are just made.
Location: previous reviewers have accurately described location - view of the Vesuvius, the sea, the harbor and a castle. Fruit orchards surrounding the villa. We had a fig tree right outside our room - ate the best ripest figs ever. It is a bit off-the-beaten-path but close to everything: we visited Capri (ferry from Sorrento - 20 min), drove along the coast to Positano (30 min), went to Pompeii (30 min). It is isolated from touristy places but has as much beauty and authentic charm as any other "famous" town along the coast. It is about 10-15 minutes from the main autostrada (A3 from Rome to SS145).
Hospitality: model for all other hoteliers - the owners put their heart into this place and it clearly shows.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: End unit on the lower floor might be the biggest but is closer to the cliff with the main road under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This amazing place was the highlight of our trip.

Better then any 5 star Luxury Hotel, Villa Ketty has it all: fantastic sea view, wonderful home made & fresh breakfast, very clean and comfortable rooms but above all... it has a heart. The beating heart of the place is in fact the family who owns it.

We will be back again no doubt, because home is where the heart is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I began our honeymoon in italy with a 3 night stay at this romantic seaside relais in Vico Equinese. The resort was recommended by a family friend and exceeded our expectations for romantic getaway with breathtaking views. The relais has 10 suites/villas and provided the authentic Italian extended family atmosphere with our gracious hostess, Ketty who greeted us with her homemade organic limincello. Breakfast was included every morning and an abundance of meats, cheeses, pastries, a mouth-watering quiche, freshly squeezed orange juice and of course cappuccino was a perfect start to the day. The family also owns the very popular and renowned Pizza Metro in town which provides an extensive menu of all things italian.
If you arrive to the resort by car, you will park at the restaurant and the family car will transport you to and from the resort. (Trust me, your car can't traverse the steep narrow climb to the hotel.) Indeed, this is part of the charm of the stunning views from the patio and pool overlooking the seaside cliffs on the Bay of Naples.
We made a day trip along the coastline to Poisatana, Amalfi and Ravella. Antonio, Ketty's son-in-law and the resort manager also arranged for an excursion and boat trip to Capri which is a definite must-see.
For planning purposes, just make sure you know that if you arrive by car, it will be garaged a few minutes away and it you may need to wait 10-15 minutes for the family car to take you to your vehicle. If we return again, we may rent a scooter for the day trips and to venture to places along the Amalfi coast where parking is limited. We were very pleased with our experience at Villa Ketty and hope to return for our anniversary in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask about a room with a seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm currently lazing by the pool, trying to digest the most magnificent breakfast - home made cheeses, sundried tomatoes, home grown fruits (all organic), local hams, honeys, freshly baked cakes, yoghurt pots, chocolate mousses and the sweetest freshly squeezed juice. Villa Ketty is the paradise that the previous reviewers suggested.

We are staying in room nine with our 12 month old daughter, it's light, airy and has the most beautiful sea views. They have provided a full cot and the wooden shutters mean the room is in full darkness until you are ready to rise so we have all slept incredibly well. The grounds are immaculate, and the family take great pride in their gardens - growing much of their organic breakfast produce on site.

We drove from Rome airport, (2hrs 45mins) parked in town (under pizza a metro) and the family picked us up minutes later to take us up the windy road to the Villa. We were slightly concerned that the road to town would be too steep for us to take a pushchair but its absolutely fine. We have done early morning (and late night) strolls to and from town with our daughter asleep in the pushchair, the road is well lit and takes approx 10mins. The little town of Vico is buzzing first thing in the morning so a quick walk pre breakfast helps to alleviate the guilt of eating cake for the first meal of the day. There are also a good number of restaurants within walking distance, from Michelin starred eateries to local pizzerias. Villa Ketty also seem to provide a driver, available 24/7 just to shuttle you in and out of town if the heat gets to much.

We are staying for 8 nights and have a full packed schedule visiting local towns - Pompeii, Capri, Positano to name just a few - so don't scrimp on time and spend a week or two at Villa Ketty.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A great week at the Villa Ketty. Wonderful views over the Bay of Naples. Vico Equense is a good location for exploring the coast from Naples to Sorrento - using the Circumvesuviana - and on to Capri and the Amalfi coast. Superb breakfasts set us up for the day and our hosts were very pleasant and helpful.

A bonus was ceramic painting with Sylvie (even with just a smattering of shared language between us). After a little lazing by the pool, a late afternoon departure to see Pompeii ensured it was cooler and we had it pretty much to ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Ketty Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ketty Resort

Address: Via Comunale Scraio 11, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Villa Ketty, we receive our guests into a warm and welcoming environment. The furnishings in the halls inside the villa, as well as in the outdoor spaces, demonstrate the extent to which the owners wish to merge tradition and innovation. That’s why you’ll find, in the lounges and bedrooms, classical fittings and fixtures alongside the most modern, essential, clean-cut finishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Ketty Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ketty Resort Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ketty Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.