We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where better to discover the treasures of this beautiful region!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre del Saracino

Torre del Saracino
Via Torretta, 9, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
0818028555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Vico Equense
Price range: $78 - $339
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where better to discover the treasures of this beautiful region!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Chef esposito knows better than anyone how to introduce you to sorrento's "terroir".
The rissotto is amazingly tasty, thanks to his local pomodori and limon. His way of cooking oysters:outstanding.
I' m not even going to mention the pasta.....
The perfection is also in the design of the restaurant. He has beatifully managed to turn a sarasine tower into a modern looking restaurant.
Forget all this though, because the moment you step into the place, the " chef" is there to greet you, and all along the meal , he is in and out of the kitchen making sure everyone is happy! Thats what i loved about this place, a 2star chef as concerned of your well being, just as i am when i have friends over.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    280
    46
    18
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place for special nights.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

It was a wonderful evening. Foods was excellent. Chef Gennaro is very gentle for us. Best place for sea food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My Favorite Seaffod Ristorante”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Absolutely our favorite place to eat and enjoy the good life in Italy. Parking is available so you can rest easy as you wind down the road to the waterfront. Gennaro Esposito, the proprietor, is not only one of the great chefs in Italy he is a gracious and wonderful person who delights in preparing a fabulous meal for every client. The imagination and artistry of each dish enhances the rich flavors you will enjoy. You can choose from the Tasting Menus or go Ala Carte and have the wines matched to each course. The staff are super professional, helpful, and fun. The wine and liquor cellar has been built into the ancient tower which has been restored beautifully to include a superb music system and music catalog for relaxing and enjoying after your meal. Dining at Torre Del Saracino is an experience everyone should treat themselves to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous food without attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Watching the kitchen of a top-notch restaurant at the height of a busy meal -- especially when it is "slammed" -- reveals the "soul" of the chef, the cook staff and the wait staff. Gennaro Esposito is full of soul. In the midst of a huge rush of orders with everyone scurrying like mad to keep up, he was having great fun. No yelling, screaming, frantic movements. Just calm, super-efficient, smiling coordination. The communication with staff was almost silent -- a nod, a raised eyebrow, a finger point. And the staff was clearly devoted to him. It was the happiest intense kitchen I have ever seen -- only Pic matched it. I wished I had the talent (and time) to leave my job and work there.

The result on the table was exquisite. Unfussy cooking that coaxed deep flavors, especially the fish, both raw and cooked. The kind of cooking that takes immense effort to get the simple, clear taste enhanced by sauces you almost don't notice until you realize how much is going on in your mouth. The fish sous-chef (a young Asian woman whose name I forgot to keep -- dumb!) is a grand talent.

Setting and service are delightful, as in the other reviews.

My wife and I have been twice. We will go back every time we are south of Rome.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had our last evening here and we certainly saved the best until last. This restaurant has two Michelin stars and wow it was great. We had a tour of the kitchen and the wine cellar.
We had the tasting menu and my god it was good !!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torre del Saracino also viewed

Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 

Been to Torre del Saracino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre del Saracino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.