We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A metre of delicious pizza!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza A Metro Da Gigino L'Universita' Della Pizza

Pizza A Metro Da Gigino L'Universita' Della Pizza
Via Nicotera, 15, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
+39 081 879 8309
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 85 Restaurants in Vico Equense
Price range: $17 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome to PIZZAMETROPizza a Metro from "Gigino" - as known as the university of pizza - is the historic pizzeria in Vico Equense, in the province of Naples. Its founder, Gigino Dell'Amura, has the merit of having invented, in the 30's, "pizza by the meter", from the characteristic Mediterranean flavor, which has become known today in the Italian culinary tradition as in that of the whole world.Pizza a Metro has, over the years, become the "University of Pizza" thanks to the quality of the ingredients used, the variety of pizzas offered, and of course, the unmistakable taste of true Neapolitan pizza.Pizza a Metro is also a restaurant where you can enjoy a wide variety of delicious Neapolitan dishes hand made, including fresh seafood quality certified and guaranteed to satisfy even the most discerning palates.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A metre of delicious pizza!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were able to watch our pizza being made. thin, light crust 'flash-baked' in a super-hot oven. We took it back to the villa and it was fantastic. Great price as well. Next time, we'll eat on premises, which looks really clean and inviting. Also, there's onsite parking with fees waived if you show your receipt.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    361
    202
    115
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Good pizza, huge restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visited for lunch, menu was not clear that you could order less than 1 metre and that you could mix up different toppings. Eventually we had half a metre of pizza with onions and pancetta which was very tasty but did get a little boring. Quite expensive at 31euros including 2 beers, 1 glass of wine and a salad but good fun, with loads to eat. Also adding in 3 euro cover charge for nothing is cheeky so that became the tip. We would revisit and next time mix up the toppings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our favorite restaurant in vico equense. Top qualty food and service.
Really would reccomend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food but lacking in other areas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We visited in August 2013 and the first point to make is that the pizza was delicious. I had the seafood pizza which was particularly good - absolutely packed with seafood and good value for money.

On the downside, we were there for an hour and a half and it took 20 minutes to actually eat our pizzas. The rest was waiting time - waiting to order, waiting for drinks, waiting for food, waiting for the bill... We know Italy is not famed for it's extra quick service, but it was still really slow.

The atmosphere is also a little lacking, partly due to the vast size of the place. We were there for lunch, so maybe it feels better at night when lit up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Geometry matters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Somehow it shouldn't matter what shape your pizza comes in but there is something satisfying about buying pizza by the metre. A big rectangle rather than few circles. The pizza itself is quite good but the downside is that a metre is indeed enough for five and you all have to agree on the same flavour (which defaults to the lowest common denominator of Marguerita).

Perhaps it is the local custom but I do find it very annoying to find a large and unexpected coperta on the bill especially when you don't even get any bread for the money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza A Metro Da Gigino L'Universita' Della Pizza also viewed

Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 

Been to Pizza A Metro Da Gigino L'Universita' Della Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza A Metro Da Gigino L'Universita' Della Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.