We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aequa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aequa Hotel to your Saves list
Aequa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filangieri 46/48, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Beautiful location! My single room was rather Spartan, but I did have a beautiful Vesuvius view and it was clean. Great staff, and good food. They signed me up for a boat trip to Capri which I will remember all my life. Sketchy internet connection, but was able to cross the street to Tito's and buy a cup of coffee and connect there. I'll go back next time with my wife.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    67
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
82
81
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have just returned from an escorted holiday. Superior rooms were all taken so no Vesuvius view expected. We had two rooms (428 & 429) on the fourth floor. They had small, well equipped balconies.There was a large terrace next to the rooms with amazing views over the bay.

All the hotel staff were wonderful - a real family team. They would do everything possible to make our stay a happy one. The food was generally typical Italian with a fixed menu, but alternative courses were always offered when we asked. We enjoyed every meal. After a busy day we really appreciated the service rather than having a buffet. Our 40 plus people were served efficiently in rooms with plenty of space. Breakfast was mainly continental - with plenty of options and a token scrambled egg and bacon (which tasted much better than they looked!).

As others have said, the town, location and transport are ideal for visiting the sights. On our free day we revisited Pompeii by train. Crowded, but easy on the train. (Site entrances are free for those over 65.) Trains take 10 minutes to Sorrento, 20 to Pompeii and 30 to near Herculaneum). We would choose this location and hotel again.

Room Tip: If you require two rooms then the top floor has a good, almost private, terrace to meet on. It has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

On June12, 2014 my husband and I were stranded at the Vico Equense train station (along with a crowd of other people) due to a stalled train between Naples and Sorrento. In trying to return to Naples we walked to the hotel where the manager very kindly called us a private taxi, offered us a cool place to wait for the taxi which took us to the next closest station to catch a train back to Naples. While waiting we ordered a bottle of wine, they brought us complimentary hors d'oeuvres and the manager and staff were extraordinarily helpful and kind to a couple of unknown English-speaking tourists who were not paying guests of the hotel, but in a strange city and in need of assistance. The desk manager and serving staff deserve five stars for their kindness and going above and beyond the call of duty!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel is a real curate's egg. Excellent location in the middle of Vico Equesne, just a short walk from the train station which takes you to either Pompeii or Sorrento the other way. Excellent staff where nothing is too much trouble. Excellent clean rooms with large balconies and superb views over the Bay of Naples.

And that's where the good points end. Food is the one major let-down. Breakfast was passable with fried "bacon" and runny scrambled eggs plus the normal cold fare. However evening meals were a disaster. Almost inedible. We were staying for 7 days, and after 2 days, we went out to the very commendable local restaurants.

Also the small poorly stocked bar was infrequently open, which again meant visits to the local hostelries.

If the hotel can improve on the food and drink side of things, then they can soon improve on their ratings.

Room Tip: A view over the Bay of Naples with a balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great location with good views of the bay. Friendly staff. Excellent pool and gardens. I was there on a business trip but I will go back with the family for sure. Also VE is a great town with lovely people.

Room Tip: The hotel has 2 sections with different rooms in each. discuss with the hotel what you require
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vico Equense, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Views are breathtaking! We had a room without a balcony but still a gorgeous view and the hallway on our third floor lead to a huge terrace with seating and views! Perfect place for our wine and cheese! Free wifi and breakfast (eggs, coffee, pastries, etc). Excellent location on Main Street, five minute walk from train!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Aequa with a party on an escorted holiday. It is in a superb setting with glorious views across the Bay to Vesuvius and there is a huge terrace where you can relax and enjoy these views. Like most places, the Hotel has its pluses and minuses. On the positive side, the hotel staff are first class in every way and always very helpful. Their assistance with luggage was always much appreciated and when we arrived, there was a great welcome buffet with copious amounts of fizzy wine - superb. The views from most of the rooms are wonderful and the hotel has a lovely large swimming pool, surrounded by orange and lemon trees. If you are swimming, leave it until late afternoon in the hot sun, as the water is absolutely freezing! The room we had was rather spartan and in an old Italian style with a cold tiled floor and a hard, ancient bed with blankets rather than the preferable quilt. The bathroom was covered from floor to ceiling in cold, white tiles and the shower was inconveniently over the bath, where the fittings annoyingly got in the way. Breakfast was rather disappointing. Every day there was very runny scrambled egg and fatty thin bacon. If you like your fried breakfast, then forget it! There was lovely strong coffee, and warm croissants, along with other sweet cakes and pastries and bread which could be toasted. The Evening meal again was disappointing with a fixed unenterprising menu each night. Definitely no AA rosette. Food choices were rather restricted and unimaginative but your choice could be changed if you disliked something. Unlike other comments on the hotel, we much prefer the buffet type of evening meal and feel that this would have been a great improvement. Each to his own I suppose.
The railway station was a 5 minute walk down the hill from the hotel, and though this was great for trips to Pompeii or to Sorrento, we found it extremely difficult to get a seat, as compartments were always packed and trains never ran to time, sometimes 20 minutes late.To summarise, we had a lovely holiday based at the Hotel Aequa and the negative aspects of our stay did not spoil matters too much, although we felt things could be improved on the food side.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aequa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aequa Hotel

Address: Via Filangieri 46/48, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aequa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aequa Hotel in Vico Equense (Naples) is situated in the enchanting bay of Naples, the very heart of one of the most attractive areas of Italy. There are 60 rooms and 4 family rooms all with air-conditioning, telephones and TVs. Rooms have views of the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius and the islands of Procida and Ischia, so guests can take full advantage of the stunning location throughout their stay. There is a range of public and private beaches only 5 minutes walk away and the hotel's garden and pool provide a relaxing alternative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aequa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aequa Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aequa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.