We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aequa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aequa Hotel to your Saves list
Aequa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filangieri 46/48, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have a room with a view! We face the pool and Naples. Had a big surprise the first night we stay there, midnight there was fireworks around 59 feet overlooking our balcony, would have enjoyed it more if we were not jet lagged. The staff is very friendly, and the breakfast had a great selection of food from North American bacon and scramble eggs to authentic Italian cuisine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    76
    26
    14
    3
See reviews for
94
98
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I spent my Easter holiday here while visiting close friends, total of 4 nights. The views from this hotel are absolutely breathtaking! Other than the pool, I used all services on the property, too cold for swimming unfortunately. The hotel is immaculately clean and all of the staff are extremely helpful and kind. I highly recommend this hotel and Vico Equense. Although the town is rather quite compared to the surrounding area it is absolutely charming and you will fall in love with it’s local flavors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have to admit that I loved sitting on the huge terrace with a view to the sea, drinking good coffee from the hotel. The terrace is fabulous: postcard view, beautiful breeze, spacious area. The pool is quite large with pretty gardens surrounding it. The town of Vico Equense is halfway between Pompeii and Sorrento. We rented a car and was happy to find out that the hotel did not charge for parking. The driving along the coast is not for sissies, but it can be fun, too. The hotel is in the middle of the town and near restaurants and the main piazza. The train station is nearby and acts as a subway to Sorrento or Pompeii. The hotel itself has seen better days: the walls need painting, the carpets need to be replaced, and the paintings on the walls of our room looked like they were taken from a student dorm. But that view from the balcony made it for it all. The breakfast was okay. We had dinner in the dining room on our first night and I found it disappointing compared to fabulous meals I had had elsewhere on the trip for the same amount of money. The reception staff were very helpful and kind, as were the waiters in the hotel restaurant. When we first went to our room, there was a lot of mold around the bathtub, which was off-putting. I mentioned it to the front desk and it was cleaned by the next day.

Room Tip: The photo shown for the hotel on Trip Advisor cannot be of the Aequa Hotel from what I can deduce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed in Aequa Hotel with my boyfriend for a long weekend to visit the Amalfi coast, Pompei and Napels. I would recommend this hotel to everyone! It is a great place to stay because the staff is really kind and helpful, the hotel is located beautifully (from our room we had a magnificent view of the bay of Naples and the Vesuvio) and it is easy to go around, because the hotel is very close to the station (only 5 min. walk) from where you can take the train to go to Napels (40 min) or Sorrento (10 min). There is also a beautiful terrace and a swimming pool. The rooms were nice with very comfortable beds and a big bath room. Another thing I really liked was that the village (Vico Equense) is not as big as the other places nearby. It is a calm place, but there are nevertheless some nice cafés, restaurants and a very good gelateria (Gabriele), which has been nominated one of the best gelaterias of Italy. We went there every night to have an icecream! So, to sum it all up: I had a great time and I would love to go back there some time soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of five in this charming hotel. It is well located in the town centre. The hotel is within a short walk of the lovely town square - great for a coffee in the morning or a drink in the evening. There is a large pool in the hotel, it is clean and very relaxing. As others have said the train nearby is great for visiting Sorrento, Pompeii etc. One of the hotel's biggest assets is the staff. They could not do enough to enhance our stay, organised a trip to Capri, advised us on trips to the nearby beaches. The rooms are clean, ours had a wonderful view of the bay of Naples & Vesuvius.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel and Vico Equense. After a horrendous day of flight cancellations and delays while travelling from London via Rome via Naples, Aequa staff saved the day & my mood. Eventually arriving at the hotel at 10:30, The waiters had set up a table in the dining hall for myself and boyfriend with dinner, cake, bread, wine & water. The staff are so polite, friendly, helpful and thoughtful. They really go above and beyond to remember guests personally and their preferences. They take a lot pride working in the hotel. Daily cleaned rooms to a high standard. The views from our balcony and the terraces are just surreal. I love the rustic italian charm they have kept with the hotel. Great pool! The food was great and lots of it which suits me nicely! Our waitor Mimo was brilliant! Always ask his recommendation of the wine and food! Both waitors were attentive and fast even while having to serve a large coach party at the same time. Right beside buses and trains to Naples & all the tourist sites! Walking distance from the beach, shops, bars, resturaunts. Vico Equense is the kind of place i've always wanted to holiday. Small town with Real italian life and charm but the locals are still so appreciative and inviting of foreign visitors. You don't feel like a tourist. The town has a tasteful and enjoyful liveliness to it but also has that calming relaxing feel. Hopefully this place will never change! Cant wait to go back!! Thank you Giacomo, Mimo & all the staff for making it a memorable holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Sussex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent ages trying to decide on the best centre from which to "do" the Amalfi coast, Pompei, Herculaneum, Vesuvius etc.

More through luck than judgement we settled on Vico Equense a lovely small town that is NOWHERE near as commercialised as Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano et al.

Nevertheless Vico has some very good hotels and restaurants, gelaterias at considerably less cost than places like Positano/Amalfi.

Taking our life in our hands we decided to hire a car and generally it was fine once you got used to motorbikes overtaking coaches coming towards you on a hairpin bend.

With hindsight we would have got the hotel to pick us up from the airport and hired the car in Vico Equense for perhaps 3 days only as most places could be easily reached by train.

One of the huge benefits of Vico is that it has a railway station with lots of very cheap trains to Naples, Pompei, Herculaneum and Sorrento so you are able to get around a lot without having to go on buses or taxis.

All the towns we went to:- Amalfi, Sorrento, Ravello, Positano Capri were stunningly beautiful although fairly comercialised particularly Capri which was massively overcrowded (in mid june) and in our experience a bit of a "rip off" city.

As far as the Aequa is concerned, we loved it. Yes there are things you could criticise like the outside could do with a coat of paint , some of the public rooms look a little bit tired, the breakfast was nothing special particularly for late risers, as has already been stated but in all other respects fantastic. In fairness the waiters at breakfast are more than happy to get you an omelette if you wish.

Can't speak highly enough of the guys on reception, even when under great pressure from phone calls, other guests etc they were unfailingly polite, friendly and very helpful. They are a mine of information on how to get to places which stations to use etc. Their English is also extremely good.

The rooms are fine, comfortable and very clean without being in anyway fancy. The pool is really nice too although I suspect it may be a bit cool outside the Summer months.

One really pleasant surprise was the quality of Wifi which although not available in the room itself was available all round the rest of the hotel and all round the pool too.

All in all Vico Equense is a fantastic base for the Amalfi coast and the Aequa is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and had a view of the sea which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Torre Barbara
Hotel Torre Barbara
#6 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Resort Le Axidie
Resort Le Axidie
#13 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.9 mi away
Capo La Gala Hotel
Capo La Gala Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aequa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aequa Hotel

Address: Via Filangieri 46/48, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aequa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aequa Hotel in Vico Equense (Naples) is situated in the enchanting bay of Naples, the very heart of one of the most attractive areas of Italy. There are 60 rooms and 4 family rooms all with air-conditioning, telephones and TVs. Rooms have views of the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius and the islands of Procida and Ischia, so guests can take full advantage of the stunning location throughout their stay. There is a range of public and private beaches only 5 minutes walk away and the hotel's garden and pool provide a relaxing alternative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aequa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aequa Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aequa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.