We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay for the Amalfi coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aequa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aequa Hotel to your Saves list
Aequa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filangieri 46/48, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
W Sussex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best place to stay for the Amalfi coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent ages trying to decide on the best centre from which to "do" the Amalfi coast, Pompei, Herculaneum, Vesuvius etc.

More through luck than judgement we settled on Vico Equense a lovely small town that is NOWHERE near as commercialised as Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano et al.

Nevertheless Vico has some very good hotels and restaurants, gelaterias at considerably less cost than places like Positano/Amalfi.

Taking our life in our hands we decided to hire a car and generally it was fine once you got used to motorbikes overtaking coaches coming towards you on a hairpin bend.

With hindsight we would have got the hotel to pick us up from the airport and hired the car in Vico Equense for perhaps 3 days only as most places could be easily reached by train.

One of the huge benefits of Vico is that it has a railway station with lots of very cheap trains to Naples, Pompei, Herculaneum and Sorrento so you are able to get around a lot without having to go on buses or taxis.

All the towns we went to:- Amalfi, Sorrento, Ravello, Positano Capri were stunningly beautiful although fairly comercialised particularly Capri which was massively overcrowded (in mid june) and in our experience a bit of a "rip off" city.

As far as the Aequa is concerned, we loved it. Yes there are things you could criticise like the outside could do with a coat of paint , some of the public rooms look a little bit tired, the breakfast was nothing special particularly for late risers, as has already been stated but in all other respects fantastic. In fairness the waiters at breakfast are more than happy to get you an omelette if you wish.

Can't speak highly enough of the guys on reception, even when under great pressure from phone calls, other guests etc they were unfailingly polite, friendly and very helpful. They are a mine of information on how to get to places which stations to use etc. Their English is also extremely good.

The rooms are fine, comfortable and very clean without being in anyway fancy. The pool is really nice too although I suspect it may be a bit cool outside the Summer months.

One really pleasant surprise was the quality of Wifi which although not available in the room itself was available all round the rest of the hotel and all round the pool too.

All in all Vico Equense is a fantastic base for the Amalfi coast and the Aequa is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and had a view of the sea which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    74
    25
    13
    2
See reviews for
91
95
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here end of May on Travelsphere package. The hotel has a fantastic location (including travel on train to Naples or Sorrento) and boasts a huge terrace, lovely garden and first class pool. OK so it is a bit dated but that to me is part of the charm coupled with being family run. Our bedroom was comfortable and clean and had a safe. Only thing I would have liked was tea/coffee making facilities but no real hardship yo have water. All of the staff are fantastic and nothing is too much for them to do for you. While we were there one other group was there for the first couple of nights and two others for the last couple of nights, but breakfast and dinner service went without a hitch despite the numbers. I must admit that I had anticipated pretty mediocre food and was I pleasantly surprised! The least we were offered was a three course meal (and the biggest five courses) and some very interesting and different pasta dishes as the first course - yummy! If anything wasn't to your liking then the staff were only too willing to get a different dish though I personally was more than happy with the offered Italian fare.
To add to the atmosphere with all the tour groups and a few others the staff still managed to cater for a couple of weddings or birthday celebrations in weekend afternoons with the attendant buzz . The decorations and place settings were absolutely out of this world and I am sorry I did not get a picture of some of them.
If I ever decide to visit the Bay of Naples then this will be my choice of base.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were clean, which I find very important. The decor is few decades behind, but I can overlook that. My only problem was wifi Internet that they gave me pas ode for, but my iPad was not even picking up the signal.
Hotel terrace is large with spectacular view of Napoli and Vesuvius.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and was lucky to be given a room with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples. The smell of wisteria was in the air, and the room was clean and comfortable. All of the front desk staff were patient, smiling and gracious. They always checked to make sure that my stay was running smoothly. The breakfast was adequate and the location in the town is sensational, because it is near to everything, yet quiet and scenic.

Room Tip: I had room 82, which had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week on a Travelsphere (Page and Moy) holiday staying half board at the hotel. Paid £160 (£80 each) for an upgraded room, which was well worth the money, as ours was quiet and clean, being on the top floor at the back (only two rooms on our corridor), with a private terrace and a wonderful panoramic view across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. Beds were comfortable and there was the added bonus of a small safe in every room, which was most useful. The staff were helpful and friendly. They were good at organising special vegetarian meals for us. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Food was fine and portions quite generous. The house wine was a good price (E8 for red and white and E10 for rose) and of reasonable quality. Water at E1.50 a bottle was a welcome addition at dinner, the weather being hot, dry and sunny throughout the week. Hotel has pretty, well-kept grounds and is very handy for the town centre with its shops, bars, restaurants and only a five minute walk from the railway station. The wisteria was in full bloom on the terrace and its scent heavenly. The view from the terrace across the bay to Vesuvius was very picturesque,
Other guests staying - the party of Australian 6th formers were polite, mature and well behaved - unlike the younger European schoolkids who were a bit excitable and noisy. Hotel very kindly put those groups in the other dining room so we more mature guests would not be disturbed at dinner. We much appreciated that.
Overall, we had a very enjoyable holiday, with a lovely group of like-minded people, and an excellent guide/group leader. Would highly recommend the hotel and the holiday. Thank you for looking after us so well and making it a most memorable and interesting week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was at this hotel in January for a conference of about 25 people. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The location was great (right on the coast, just five minutes from the train station with connections to Naples and Sorrento), the staff was very friendly, and the food was wonderful.

I was concerned before going that maybe my room would be cold, but it turned out to be very warm! There's a thermostat in each room.

I would love to go back in the summer, though I really enjoyed it in the winter.

Room Tip: I had a room on the south side so I had a view of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with family recently. Convenient to railway without any noise and with great view over the bay to Mt Vesuvius. Able to get to Pompeii, Sorrento and the ferries to Capri by rail easily. Based in the lovely little town Vico Equense . Room quite compact but functional. Good base for trips to Amalfi etc... Staff were helpful and breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aequa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aequa Hotel

Address: Via Filangieri 46/48, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aequa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aequa Hotel in Vico Equense (Naples) is situated in the enchanting bay of Naples, the very heart of one of the most attractive areas of Italy. There are 60 rooms and 4 family rooms all with air-conditioning, telephones and TVs. Rooms have views of the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius and the islands of Procida and Ischia, so guests can take full advantage of the stunning location throughout their stay. There is a range of public and private beaches only 5 minutes walk away and the hotel's garden and pool provide a relaxing alternative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aequa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aequa Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aequa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.