We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel in south part of italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aequa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aequa Hotel to your Saves list
Aequa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Filangieri 46/48, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the best hotel in south part of italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

it can be the best choice if you are going to travel in Napoli and costiera amalfitana.
very comfortable hotel, quite place and good food.there are also some restaurants next to it.
so helpful staff.one matter is the price,this hotel has a little bit higher prices, but its 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    67
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
82
81
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our third stay this year, July, September and we have just returned from a long weekend stay. I do not think it is luck that each time there is a warm welcome and they greet us by name. The room is always perfect and any request is dealt with immediatly. This is a quiet period so beautiful coffee and fluffy omolette is served by request, always fresh fruit and a good choice of things on offer. We were there to meet with friends and buy some lovely food for Christmas, salami, cheeses and cake. The hotel and the town had some really nice decorations. Even though our stay was late November we found the weather sunny and bright, so we were able to make full use of the balcony and terrace. We book our trip direct with the hotel, not as part of a package, so our likes are personal, not what is arranged by an agent for a large group. As usual its ellegance makes it very Italian.

Room Tip: Book with the hotel direct, discussyour needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The staff and hotel itself were great. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception, bar and waiting staff but the food offered on our Page and Moy tour left a bit to be desired. As I would assume that the quality and choice would be down to guidelines set by Page and Moy costings, I still believe that the dishes that were served could have been tastier. There was a lack of seasoning and salt and pepper were kept out of sight of the diners. I would return to this hotel but not on a tour and find my own meals in the very charming and picturesque town of Vico Equense.
The hotel itself has a bit of age but that lends to the charm of it. The rooms were always clean and the minibar stocked everyday. There are beautiful views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius from the terrace. Our room did have a balcony but faced the main street which could be a bit noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here 2 weeks ago with a large Page & Moy group. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We found them friendly and courteous at all times. The meals were interesting and local but if you didn't like what was on offer, they could always find an alternative. Sadly our room was at the front of the hotel - so no real view and there was noise from the road if we opened our balcony doors. But as we spent so little time there, that wasn't really important. And we could always go and sit on the 3rd or 4th floor terrace if we wanted a view of Vesuvius. The bathroom was a bit outdated, but adequate, and always clean.
While we were there, the staff coped with parties for a local wedding, baptism and first communion, with no detrimental effect on the level of service.
The town was lively and had all the shops you could need. The bus station and Circumvesuviana railway were a short walk away.
I did not try the swimming pool but those who did enjoyed it. The wisteria covered terrace was an absolute delight.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wanting a good central base to explore the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

You couldn't have a better base for exploring Sorrento, Amalfi, Ravello, Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, all the joys of this coastline. Comfortable, with wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, and a good position - most rooms looking over the garden and large swimming pool, and towards Vesuvius - it's also very well placed to get to the Circumvesuviana railway (2 mins away) which will get you to most of these places very conveniently. A couple of good and reasonable restaurants almost next door. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden or pool - very quiet and with lovely views especially from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for a week as part of a Page & Moy holiday recently, and would be happy to return to this friendly and welcoming hotel. The staff were always courteous and helpful, and took pride in serving local dishes, and suggesting some excellent local wines during our tour group's (four course) meals. Breakfasts were very good with a wide variety of choice, including scrambled eggs and bacon as well as lots of cold selections. Our room had a balcony with beautiful views of Vesuvius and the bay, and the grounds of the hotel were very pretty - we enjoyed sitting on the relaxing terrace during the evenings, with its spectacular views. The pool area was also very comfortable and clean, and it was good to cool down with a swim after a busy day touring the area.
Our room was comfortable, not luxurious, but it had what we needed, and was very clean. We commented that the shower needed updating, but apart from that the room was perfectly adequate as a comfortable base.
All in all a welcoming hotel with personality, we'd like to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We've just returned from a week's stay at the Aequa and have no hesitation in warmly recommending it. Having stayed there 7 years ago it was good to renew acquaintance with the same, extraordinarily helpful staff we met then: nothing was too much trouble and they helped us out by re-booking the ferry and arranging coach transport for the group at very short notice when a train "go-slow" was in danger of wrecking our plans for a day on Capri. The quality of service is probably the strongest feature of the hotel, but it's also in a very good position (many rooms have views of Vesuvius), has an attractive swimming pool, and the evening meals were excellent. The hotel also has a very individual, traditional-but-lively character.

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have a room which overlooked the sea, Vesuvius and the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aequa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aequa Hotel

Address: Via Filangieri 46/48, 80069 Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aequa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aequa Hotel in Vico Equense (Naples) is situated in the enchanting bay of Naples, the very heart of one of the most attractive areas of Italy. There are 60 rooms and 4 family rooms all with air-conditioning, telephones and TVs. Rooms have views of the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius and the islands of Procida and Ischia, so guests can take full advantage of the stunning location throughout their stay. There is a range of public and private beaches only 5 minutes walk away and the hotel's garden and pool provide a relaxing alternative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aequa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aequa Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aequa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.