We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel London

Save Saved
You added Hotel London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel London
Viale Manin Daniele, 16, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 56 hotels in Viareggio
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have recently had the pleasure of staying at the London Hotel in Viareggio. We found the staff to be extremely pleasant most helpful. The rooms were very clean tidy and with excellent views. A family owned hotel with a true passion.

Room Tip: Speak to reception before you pay for street parking and your place on the beach, they have some ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    46
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
28
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We are so so pleased having chosen this hotel. We are a family of 5 persons from Finland . Both parents in our family travel a lot (at work) - during our holidays we wanted to experience something else but standard business class hotel rooms. This hotel is really worth visiting. No wonder that they have gained Michelin and Tripadvisor awards, which we saw in the window:)The location is great! The rooms are clean! The staff is friendly, helpful, smiling. The breakfast was good (ham, eggs, juide, fruits, srcambled eggs, bacon, cheese, salami, coffee, smiling personell, cakes etc etc....). This is a very very nice family hotel - comparing to the hotels in Rome (like the one with 4 stars we stayed in) this was absolutely a lot lot better!!! Air cndinitoning works. We are so pleased and relaxed after the 7 days stay:) - thank you everybody there!!! We made trips to Florence, Pisa, Lucca etc. And some days only swimming and enjoying the sun on the beaches - the seawater is clean, all the Italian people (there were almost only Italilan people) were very friendly and nice. The most visited restaurant in Viareggio was SaPlaya - Italy is a lovely country!!! I <3 ps. if you are a family with children - try to ask for nice family room - even facing the street, the first floor - no noice pss.we walked the stairs because the lif was a bit scary (small and hot - the only minus:)

Room Tip: Families - ask for a family room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed in Hotel London for an eleven night summer holiday with our three children aged 11, 9 and 6. We had a large family room at the front of the hotel which provided more than enough space for all of us. The bathroom was a good size as well. Cannot fault the hotel at all, it was exceptionally clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and the staff are lovely. Elena and the breakfast staff were particularly helpful. The hotel is very airy and cool inside which was great on very hot days, but there are a number of sun terraces if you prefer to sunbathe. The hotel location is good. It is on the busy main road which runs parallel to the promenade and the beach, however once the road is crossed, the promenade is pedestrianised and very safe for children. The hotel is about a five minute walk to the bus station (bus to pisa airport takes about an hour - E3.50) or about a fifteen minute walk from viareggio station (florence, pisa, cinque terre). The beach is great - well organised and clean. The evenings are very lively, centred around the restaurants which are generally really good value. Viareggio has a lovely family atmosphere, even walking late at night after a meal, there were families of all generations strolling or sitting on the benches talking. The best way to get around Viareggio is by bike. The cycle path runs alongside the main road right up the coast and is pretty flat so even my 6 year old could cycle quite far.The park is quite big and perfect to cycle around during the day because it is so cool. In the evening, it is lit up and has a small market and amusements for younger children - again it is perfect for an evening stroll. Hotel London and Viareggio ticked all the boxes for us, great hotel and beach, family orientated resort, excellent restaurants and an perfect location for travel. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I stay here approximately 3/4 times per year. It is a lovely old hotel, extremely well kept and clean. The staff is very nice, specially the lady in the breakfast bar. I usually have one of the bedrooms on the front, overlooking the sea. Although not luxurious, they are confortable and serve the purpose as whenever I come to Viareggio I spend very little time in the room. Too many lovely restaurants and bars to sample and try out. I have stayed in many hotels in Viareggio, including the Grand and the Principe and for the price, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

stayed for one night - it was recommended by the ship's agents' and it was not a bad choice at all. Previous experiences in the region were dreadful and this one comes as a nice surprise. Rooms were OK - a bit dated but clean, tidy and in working order.
Staff was exceptional - always happy to assist, polite and accommodating.

Although at 110EUR per night it sounds a bit overpriced, it is certainly recommendable, especially compared to the competition in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

I stayed in this hotel last September. Viareggio is a great base to explore Tuscany from. There are lots of hotels, shops and restaurants. Parking was a little difficult at times. You could buy a parking permit from the hotel but the night before I flew popped out to get fuel and couldn't park anywhere near the hotel! I had to park in the luggage drop off spaces which I thought would be ok as I was leaving very early the next day. I got told off at 4.30 am though by a very unpleasant porter!
The hotel was well placed for the beach, shops, restauarants and harbour.
The hotel rooms were nice and big, I asked for a sea view which they gave me but this room also overlooked the main road so was very noisy so I swapped.
Noise seemed to carry very easily in this hotel, maybe all marble, I was often woken up by noisy cleaners.
The hotel was very clean and the breakfasts were quite good.
There was a small bar but noone ever went in there so that was a disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

My wife, daughter and I have just returned from a week's stay at the Hotel London. I have to say we were a bit confused by the review from the person from the Czech republic who was there at the same time as us. We found the hotel to be charming. The location is excellent - right across the road from the main promenade and the beach and just a few minutes walk from the main bus terminus. The rooms were spotlessly clean although a little dated. The staff were first class, especially the waitress at breakfast - the breakfast buffet is very good. The room was air-conditioned and quiet. We overlooked the inner courtyard.
Our bed's were turned down every night, which was a nice touch. We were greeted cheerfully everytime we entered or left the hotel. The hotel is a little gem and we would not hesitate recommending it - or thinking about returning in future.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel London

Also Known As:
London Hotel Viareggio
Address: Viale Manin Daniele, 16, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Viareggio
#15 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.